Parks Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

National Historic Sites in the Mountain National Parks

Twin Falls Tea House National Historic Site of Canada

Map of the National Historic Sites in the vicinity of the Mountain National Parks
Interactive Map of the National Historic Sites in the vicinity of the Mountain National Parks
© Parks Canada

Twin Falls Twin Falls
© Parks Canada







 

 

Twin Falls Tea House was designated a national historic site in 1992. The site was commemorated as a fine example of the Rustic Design Tradition utilized in early National Park architecture as well as its role in early recreation and tourism endeavours in Yoho National Park.

Twin Falls

Set in the awe-inspiring Little Yoho Valley of Yoho National Park, Twin Falls is a breathtaking double waterfall, which can be reached only by hiking in 8.5 km (one-way). The contemporary source of Twin Falls is the Glacier des Poilus, which breaks into two streams above the cliff creating the unusual spectacle of two glorious waterfalls side by side.

Twin Falls Tea House
Twin Falls Tea House
© Parks Canada

Construction

The tea house was built in three phases between 1908-1928. A log structure had been built near Twin Falls as early as 1908, most likely built by the CPR or by an associated trail outfitter as a stopover cabin for trail ride tour groups. In 1915, an enhanced 8.5 km trail from Takakkaw Falls was cleared, which encouraged visitation. As more people discovered the area, the CPR looked to expand the operation. In 1922-23, the National Parks Branch signed a lease with the Canadian Pacific Railway for the establishment of ‘Twin Falls Rest’ in Yoho Park, securing approximately a half-acre of land which the two-storey chalet was built upon. From 1925 - 1928, a single storey link was built, joining the two earlier log structures. Built near the falls, the teahouse provided meals and rudimentary shelter for hikers and trail riders.

Recreation in the Parks

The Twin Falls Tea House plays an important role in the overall series of recreational opportunities in Yoho National Park. Built at a similar time as the Plain of Six Glaciers Teahouse in Lake Louise, with similar design features, these backcountry chalets were built to accommodate hikers, mountaineers and trail riders in the National Parks. These rest stops are still frequented by hikers and climbers from around the world stopping to take in the beauty of the surroundings and enjoy light refreshments.

Art

The striking nature and sublime tranquility of the tea house appeals to many artists who travel to the area to gain inspiration from the pristine beauty of Twin Falls. The important American portrait and landscape artist, John Singer Sargent, came to Yoho in 1916 where he completed several major paintings.

Twin Falls Tea House sign Twin Falls Tea House Sign
© Parks Canada

Today

The tea house is owned by the Parks Canada Agency, and is operated on a seasonal basis by the holder of the licence of occupation, Fran Drummond, who has been running the tea house since the early 1960s.

Historic Sites timeline Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site Howse Pass National Historic Site Athabasca Pass National Historic Site Kootenae House National Historic Site Yellowhead Pass National Historic Site Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site Jasper House National Historic Site Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site Fort St. James National Historic Site Kicking Horse Pass National Historic Site First Oil Well National Historic Site Skoki Ski Lodge National Historic Site Cosmic Ray Station National Historic Site Abbot Pass Refuge Cabin National Historic Site Jasper Information Centre National Historic Site Twin Falls Chalet Historic Site Yellowhead Pass National Historic Site Rogers Pass National Historic Site Banff Park Museum National Historic Site Cave and Basin National Historic Site Bar U Ranch National Historic Site

Twin Falls Tea House National Historic Site of Canada plaque states:

This charming tea house is a well-preserved example of rustic design in Canada’s national parks. The Canadian Pacific Railway constructed the building in stages, beginning around 1908 with a one-storey cabin for patrons taking backcountry tours. In about 1923, the company added a two-storey structure to create a larger and more attractive chalet. Skillfully crafted, the enormous logs enhance the building’s rustic character. The chalet remains a vivid reminder of the early days of hiking, mountaineering, and trail riding in the national parks.

Fast Fact:

The tea house is housed in the majestic Upper Yoho River Valley. It sits on the far loop of a popular circuit trail which approaches the foot of the Yoho Glacier and which also affords an excellent view of the scenic Twin Falls and many of Yoho National Park’s most stunning sites.

Fast Fact:

In 1928, the Canadian Pacific Railroad produced a promotional brochure that described Twin Falls Tea House as having sleeping accommodation for five.

Sources :

"Twin Falls Tea House National Historic Site of Canada Commemorative Integrity Statement," Parks Canada, 2002

Links:

Twin Falls Chalet http://www.twinfallschalet.ca/

Parcs Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Lieux historiques nationaux dans les parcs nationaux des montagnes

Lieu historique national du Canada du Salon-de-Thé-des-Chutes-Twin

Carte interactif des lieux historiques national dans les environs des parcs nationaux des montagnes
Carte interactif des lieux historiques national dans les environs des parcs nationaux des montagnes
© Parcs Canada

Chutes Twin Chutes Twin
© Parcs Canada







 

 

Le salon de thé des Chutes-Twin a été désigné lieu historique national en 1992. Ce bâtiment est un bel exemple du style architectural rustique en vogue dans les premiers parcs nationaux. Il doit également son importance au rôle qu’il a joué dans l’évolution des loisirs et du tourisme dans le parc national Yoho.

Chutes Twin

Coulant en plein cœur de la magnifique vallée de la Petite rivière Yoho, dans le parc national Yoho, les chutes Twin forment une double cascade d’une beauté saisissante. On ne peut y accéder qu’à pied sur un sentier de 8,5 km (aller seulement). Les chutes Twin sont alimentées à leur source par le glacier des Poilus, qui forme deux rubans d’eau distincts au-dessus d’un promontoire, créant ainsi le spectacle inusité de deux chutes majestueuses qui dévalent la pente côte à côte.

Salon-de-Thé-des-Chutes-Twin
Salon-de-Thé-des-Chutes-Twin
© Parcs Canada

Construction

Le salon de thé fut construit en trois phases entre 1908 et 1928. Dès 1908, une construction en rondins fut érigée près des chutes Twin, fort probablement par le Canadien Pacifique ou par un pourvoyeur associé. Elle servait alors de halte pour les cavaliers en excursion guidée. En 1915, un sentier amélioré de 8,5 km fut aménagé à partir des chutes Takakkaw, amenant ainsi un nombre accru de visiteurs à s’y rendre. Peu à peu, le salon de thé gagna en popularité, à telle enseigne que le Canadien Pacifique chercha à agrandir ses installations. En 1922-1923, la Direction des parcs nationaux signa avec le Canadien Pacifique un bail visant une parcelle d’environ un demi acre dans le parc Yoho pour la construction d’un chalet de deux étages devant porter le nom de Twin Falls Rest. De 1925 à 1928, un bâtiment d’un étage fut construit pour relier les deux constructions en rondins. Sis au pied des chutes, le salon de thé offrait le couvert et un gîte rudimentaire aux randonneurs et aux cavaliers.

Loisirs dans les parcs

Le salon de thé des Chutes-Twin occupe une place importante dans la liste de possibilités récréatives offertes dans le parc national Yoho. Il fut bâti à peu près à la même époque que celui de la plaine des Six Glaciers, au lac Louise, et il possède des caractéristiques de conception semblables. Ces deux chalets de l’arrière-pays furent construits pour loger des randonneurs, des alpinistes et des cavaliers en excursion dans les parcs nationaux. Ces relais sont toujours fréquentés par les randonneurs et les alpinistes du monde entier, qui s’y arrêtent pour admirer la beauté des paysages environnants tout en profitant d’un goûter léger.

Art

La tranquillité sublime du salon de thé et le panorama spectaculaire des environs attirent de nombreux artistes qui viennent s’inspirer de la beauté inaltérée des chutes Twin. John Singer Sargent, célèbre portraitiste et paysagiste américain, séjourna dans le parc national Yoho en 1916, et il y réalisa plusieurs grands tableaux.

Panneau du Salon-de-Thé-des-Chutes-Twin Panneau du Salon-de-Thé-des-Chutes-Twin
© Parks Canada

Aujourd’hui

Le salon de thé appartient à l’Agence Parcs Canada. Il est exploité de façon saisonnière par la titulaire du permis d’occupation, Fran Drummond, depuis le début des années 1960.

Histoire Rocky Mountain House Col-Howse Col-Athabasca Kootenae House Col-Yellowhead Rocky Mountain House Jasper House Rocky Mountain House Fort-St. James Col-Kicking Horse Premier Puits de Pétrole Auberge-de-Ski-Skoki Station-d’Étude-des-Rayons-Cosmiques-du-Mont-Sulphur Refuge-du-Col-Abbot Centre-d'Information-du-Parc-Jasper Salon-de-Thé-des-Chutes-Twin Col-Yellowhead Col-Rogers Musée-du-Parc-Banff Cave and Basin Ranch-Bar U

Texte de la plaque :

Le salon de thé des Chutes-Twin

Ce charmant salon de thé est un exemple bien conservé d'architecture rustique dans les parcs nationaux du Canada. Simple abri d'un étage bâti vers 1908 par le Canadien Pacifique à l'intention des randonneurs de l'arrière-pays, celui-ci fut agrandi vers 1923 par un ajout de deux étages qui le rendit plus attrayant. Habilement façonnés, les énormes billots accentuent la rusticité du bâtiment qui nous rappelle les débuts tant de l'alpinisme que des excursions à pied et à cheval dans les parcs nationaux.

Fait éclair :

Le salon de thé est situé dans la majestueuse vallée du cours supérieur de la rivière Yoho. Il se trouve à l’extrémité d’une boucle populaire qui se rend au pied du glacier Yoho et qui offre aussi d’excellentes vues panoramiques des chutes Twin et de certains autres sites impressionnants du parc national Yoho.

Fait éclair :

En 1928, le Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique produit un dépliant publicitaire qui annonçait l’hébergement pour cinq personnes au salon de thé des Chutes-Twin.

Sources :

« Énoncé d’intégrité commémorative du lieu historique national du Canada du Salon-de-Thé-des-Chutes-Twin » Parcs Canada, 2002

Liens:

Twin Falls Chalet http://www.twinfallschalet.ca/ (anglais seulment)