Parks Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

National Historic Sites in the Mountain National Parks

Skoki Ski Lodge National Historic Site of Canada

Map of the National Historic Sites in the vicinity of the Mountain National Parks
Interactive Map of the National Historic Sites in the vicinity of the Mountain National Parks
© Parks Canada

Skoki Ski Lodge Skoki Ski Lodge
© Parks Canada


Skoki Ski Lodge was designated a National Historic Site in 1992, commemorated for its contribution to early tourism and outdoor recreation in the parks as well as exemplifying the rustic design tradition.

Construction

Skoki Ski Lodge was built in 1930-31 in the Skoki Valley by a group of Banff residents who formed the Ski Club of the Canadian Rockies. The site was recommended by Swiss guides employed by the CPR because of its suitability for skiing and the availability of building logs and water.

Skoki Ski Lodge
Skoki Ski Lodge
© Parks Canada

Canada’s First Ski Lodge

The doors opened to the first guests in the spring of 1931. At this time, Skoki Ski Lodge was a single-storey cabin constructed with unscribed spruce logs with saddle-notched corners. The lodge was the first facility built specifically to accommodate ski tourists on a commercial basis in Canada, and possibly in North America.

Expansion

The lodge’s popularity led to additions built in the five years following construction. The additions included a one-story kitchen wing in 1932, and later an upper floor, living room and three side gables. These later additions more than doubled the lodge’s initial dimensions. The complex was completed in 1936 with the construction of two log cabins and a bathhouse.

Skoki Ski Lodge Skoki Ski Lodge
© Parks Canada

Jim Boyce

Jim Boyce, a tour guide, outfitter and log builder in the area, completed much of the construction and design. He went on to build a log lodge in Lake Louise, in 1938. This became the foundations of the modern Post Hotel, one of the premier hotels in Lake Louise.

Skiing in the Parks

Banff National Park has been a mecca for skiing enthusiasts for years and the tradition continues today with thriving ski areas, outfitters and trail maintenance operations. The use of Skoki Ski Lodge has established a history of backcountry ski touring and mountaineering, which helped build the industry. Used as a rest stop or a destination, the hut was the first in the line of social meeting places for skiers in the Rocky Mountains.

Skoki Ski Lodge Skoki Ski Lodge
© Parks Canada

The Lodge Today

Unaltered in function and physical appearance since this time, the interior still contains photographs and memorabilia directly associated with the pioneering stages of skiing as a recreational activity in the Bow Valley. The lack of major alterations and modern conveniences suggests that the buildings were well designed for their function.

The lodge is open year round and accommodates guests with backcountry hospitality, comfort and relaxation.

Historic Sites timeline Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site Howse Pass National Historic Site Athabasca Pass National Historic Site Kootenae House National Historic Site Yellowhead Pass National Historic Site Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site Jasper House National Historic Site Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site Fort St. James National Historic Site Kicking Horse Pass National Historic Site First Oil Well National Historic Site Skoki Ski Lodge National Historic Site Cosmic Ray Station National Historic Site Abbot Pass Refuge Cabin National Historic Site Jasper Information Centre National Historic Site Twin Falls Chalet Historic Site Yellowhead Pass National Historic Site Rogers Pass National Historic Site Banff Park Museum National Historic Site Cave and Basin National Historic Site Bar U Ranch National Historic Site

Skoki Ski Lodge House National Historic Site of Canada plaque states:
A rare and little-changed link with the early days of ski tourism, Skoki Ski Lodge is a fine example of the log building traditions long associated with the Banff region. When it opened for business in 1931, skiing was just emerging as a major form of winter recreation across Canada. Skoki was built as a destination for backcountry holidays by a group of ski enthusiasts, using timbers cut in the vicinity. It was the first such facility to operate on a commercial basis in Canada. It assumed its current appearance with additions carried out in 1935-1936.

Fast Fact:

A year after the lodge first opened, a guest visiting Skoki Ski Lodge, Dr. R.E. “Kit” Paley, one of Britain's top mathematicians, died in an avalanche, while scaling the 9,600-foot high Fossil Mountain for a downhill run. He was nearing the summit when a snowslide swept him down the mountain.

Fast Fact:

Skoki Ski Lodge operates without electricity or running water after a brief experiment with electricity was abandoned for unreliability. While running water is not available, wash water is always on hand, brought in directly from the creek via a gravity-fed pipe.

Sources:

“Skoki Ski Lodge National Historic Site of Canada Commemorative Integrity Statement,” Parks Canada, 2000

Parcs Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Lieux historiques nationaux dans les parcs nationaux des montagnes

Lieu historique national de l'Auberge-de-Ski-Skoki

Carte interactif des lieux historiques national dans les environs des parcs nationaux des montagnes
Carte interactif des lieux historiques national dans les environs des parcs nationaux des montagnes
© Parcs Canada

L'Auberge-de-Ski-Skoki L'Auberge-de-Ski-Skoki
© Parcs Canada


L’auberge de ski Skoki a été classée lieu historique national en 1992. Elle doit ce statut spécial au rôle qu’elle a joué dans le développement du tourisme et des loisirs de plein air dans les parcs nationaux ainsi qu’à son style architectural, axé sur la tradition rustique.

Construction

L’auberge de ski Skoki fut construite en 1930-1931 dans la vallée Skoki par un groupe de résidents de Banff qui formaient le Ski Club of the Canadian Rockies. L’emplacement avait été recommandé par des guides suisses au service du Canadien Pacifique, parce que le secteur se prêtait bien au ski et qu’il y avait à proximité suffisamment d’eau et de bois utilisable pour la construction.

L'Auberge-de-Ski-Skoki
L'Auberge-de-Ski-Skoki
© Parcs Canada

La première auberge de ski du Canada

L’établissement accueillit ses premiers clients au printemps de 1931. À l’époque, l’auberge consistait en un chalet d’un seul étage, aux rondins d’épinette non étriqués et aux encoignures chevauchées. Il s’agissait de la première installation commerciale construite expressément pour les touristes skieurs au Canada et peut-être même en Amérique du Nord.

Expansion

En raison de sa grande popularité, l’auberge fut agrandie à plusieurs reprises au cours des cinq années qui suivirent sa construction. La première annexe, construite en 1932, abritait une cuisine. Vinrent ensuite s’ajouter un étage, un salon et trois pignons latéraux. Grâce à ces derniers ajouts, l’auberge avait plus que doublé sa dimension initiale. Les travaux s’achevèrent en 1936 par la construction de deux chalets en rondins et d’un pavillon de bain.

L'Auberge-de-Ski-Skoki L'Auberge-de-Ski-Skoki
© Parcs Canada

Jim Boyce

Jim Boyce, guide, pourvoyeur et constructeur de maisons en rondins de la région, réalisa une bonne partie des travaux de conception et de construction. En 1938, il entreprit la construction d’une auberge en rondins à Lake Louise – l’ancêtre de l’actuel hôtel Post, l’un des meilleurs établissements d’hébergement de Lake Louise.

Le ski dans les parcs nationaux

Le parc national Banff est la destination par excellence des amateurs de ski depuis bien des années. De nos jours, des stations de ski prospères, des pourvoyeurs et des exploitations d’entretien des pistes veillent au maintien de cette réputation. L’auberge de ski Skoki contribua à asseoir la tradition du ski de randonnée et de l’alpinisme dans la région, favorisant ainsi le développement de l’industrie. Comme relais ou comme destination, l’auberge de ski Skoki fut le premier d’une série de lieux de rassemblement pour les skieurs dans les Rocheuses.

L'Auberge-de-Ski-Skoki L'Auberge-de-Ski-Skoki
© Parcs Canada

L’auberge aujourd’hui

La fonction et l’apparence physique de l’auberge demeurent inchangées. À l’intérieur, les visiteurs peuvent encore admirer des photos et des souvenirs directement associés à l’époque où le ski comme activité récréative n’en était encore qu’à ses débuts dans la vallée de la Bow. L’absence de commodités et de modifications importantes permet de conclure que les bâtiments étaient bien conçus pour leur fonction.

L’auberge est ouverte à l’année et héberge des clients dans un cadre accueillant, confortable et relaxant.

Histoire Rocky Mountain House Col-Howse Col-Athabasca Kootenae House Col-Yellowhead Rocky Mountain House Jasper House Rocky Mountain House Fort-St. James Col-Kicking Horse Premier Puits de Pétrole Auberge-de-Ski-Skoki Station-d’Étude-des-Rayons-Cosmiques-du-Mont-Sulphur Refuge-du-Col-Abbot Centre-d'Information-du-Parc-Jasper Salon-de-Thé-des-Chutes-Twin Col-Yellowhead Col-Rogers Musée-du-Parc-Banff Cave and Basin Ranch-Bar U

Texte de la plaque :

LE CHALET SKOKI

Rare vestige des débuts de l’industrie touristique du ski, le chalet Skoki offre un bel exemple des bâtiments en rondins longtemps associés à la région de Banff. Lors de son ouverture en 1931, le ski commençait à être un des grands sports d’hiver au Canada. Destiné à accueillir les vacanciers désireux de skier dans l’arrière-pays, il a été construit avec du bois trouvé dans les environs par un groupe d’enthousiastes du ski. Premier bâtiment du genre exploité sur une base commerciale au Canada, le chalet Skoki doit son aspect actuel à des ajouts effectués en 1935-1936.

Le saviez-vous?

Un an après l’ouverture de l’auberge, un client, R.E. « Kit » Paley, l’un des mathématiciens les plus brillants de Grande-Bretagne, mourut dans une avalanche sur le mont Fossil, pic de 9 600 m d’altitude qu’il escaladait en vue d’une descente à skis. Il était presque parvenu au sommet lorsqu’une énorme masse de neige l’emporta au pied de la montagne.

Le saviez-vous?

L’auberge de ski Skoki fonctionne sans électricité ni eau courante. Les exploitants renoncèrent à l’électrification après une brève tentative qui ne leur garantit qu’un approvisionnement incertain. Malgré l’absence d’eau courante, les clients peuvent toujours compter sur de l’eau de lavage, transportée directement du ruisseau par une conduite à alimentation gravitaire.

Sources:

Énoncé d’intégrité commémorative du lieu historique national du Canada de l’Auberge-de-Ski-Skoki, Parcs Canada, 2000