Parks Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

National Historic Sites in the Mountain National Parks

First Oil Well in Western Canada National Historic Site of Canada

Map of the National Historic Sites in the vicinity of the Mountain National Parks
Interactive Map of the National Historic Sites in the vicinity of the Mountain National Parks
© Parks Canada
First Oil Well in Western Canada National Historic Site
First Oil Well in Western Canada National Historic Site
© Parks Canada

The Discovery of Oil in Canada

In 1858, James Miller Williams’ Line No. 1 became the first successful oil well in North America. Located in Oil Springs, Ontario, the well sparked an oil drilling frenzy that spread across the country. In the west, attempts to bore for oil occurred in the Lac Dauphin district of Manitoba and near the town of Athabasca, although neither produced.

Oil in the Mountains

In 1889, oil seeps known to Aboriginal people in Southern Alberta attracted the attention of pioneer communities. Enthusiastic newspaper reports fuelled a flurry of petroleum claims in the Waterton region. Within five years, the few attempts to sink wells had ended in failure and almost all of the oil claims had lapsed.

Nearly a decade after the initial excitement, William Aldridge found the oil he’d gathered from local seeps useful. Skimming it from sluice boxes and selling it locally as lubricant and medicine, he was the first to utilize the seeps commercially.

Striking Oil – Western Canada’s First Oil Well

In 1897, John Lineham established a mineral claim beside Oil Creek, and formed the Rocky Mountain Development Company. The company hauled heavy equipment on a narrow horse trail over the prairie and through the mountains. Workers erected a "Canadian Pole" rig, made entirely of wood, and powered by a 35 horse-power steam boiler. Drilling progressed slowly due to equipment problems, inexperience and accidents. In 1902, the Lineham Discovery Well No. 1 struck oil at 311 m (1,020 ft), and was said to produce 300 barrels a day.

Although not the first attempt to drill for oil in Western Canada, the Lineham Discovery Well was the first to produce saleable quantities of oil. While encouraging, its success was short-lived. Shortly after, the well casing failed and the drilling tools became lodged in the well. In 1904, with most of the tools and debris cleaned out of the well, the crew installed a pump to feed a small refinery. About 8,000 barrels of oil were extracted before the drill tools jammed in the shaft again.

First Oil Well in Western Canada National Historic Site
First Oil Well in Western Canada National Historic Site
© Parks Canada

Excitement and Expansion

The showing of the “Discovery Well” generated excitement and attracted entrepreneurs and new companies to the region, eager to share in the wealth of oil anticipated. Approximately 25 new wells were drilled in the area and plans were laid for a prosperous town named Oil City to service all the newcomers. By 1908, drilling was at a standstill, and most wells were abandoned.

The Future of Oil in Waterton

Despite a few scattered drilling attempts which stretched until 1939, none proved to be commercially viable. Other significant findings, notably the Dingman No. 1 at Turner Valley in 1914, drew attention and equipment north. The Waterton region proved fruitless as a source of commercial oil and gas until the discovery of the Pincher Creek oil field in 1948.

National Significance

In 1965, the Discovery Well was declared a site of national historic significance and designated the “First Oil Well in Western Canada.” A monument incorporating the embedded drilling tools was designed specifically for the site and erected in 1968. The monument is located in Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta, between Cameron Creek and the Akamina Highway.

Historic Sites timeline Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site Howse Pass National Historic Site Athabasca Pass National Historic Site Kootenae House National Historic Site Yellowhead Pass National Historic Site Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site Jasper House National Historic Site Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site Fort St. James National Historic Site Kicking Horse Pass National Historic Site First Oil Well National Historic Site Skoki Ski Lodge National Historic Site Cosmic Ray Station National Historic Site Abbot Pass Refuge Cabin National Historic Site Jasper Information Centre National Historic Site Twin Falls Chalet Historic Site Yellowhead Pass National Historic Site Rogers Pass National Historic Site Banff Park Museum National Historic Site Cave and Basin National Historic Site Bar U Ranch National Historic Site

First Oil Well in Western Canada National Historic Site of Canada plaque states:

The Rocky Mountain Development Co., formed in the late 1890s by John Lineham, Allan Patrick and G.K. Leeson commenced drilling operations on this site in 1901 and struck oil at a depth of 1024 feet in 1902. The well failed to maintain its initial flow of 300 barrels per day and by 1904 production had dwindled to almost nothing. Further explorations in the Waterton area proved fruitless but the success, brief as it was, of this well encouraged a widespread search which led to the discovery of the Turner Valley Field in 1914.

Fast Fact:

In the late 19th century, products distilled from crude oil were valuable primarily for their use as a lubricant, medicine for people and insect repellent for livestock. John Lineham, founder of the Rocky Mountain Development Company was initially interested in oil to treat mange on livestock.

Fast Fact:

Geologists believe the first oil strikes in Waterton were due to small seepages that migrated to the surface along cracks and fault planes of the Lewis Overthrust. This is a vast sheet of Pre-Cambrian rock too old to produce oil, which stretches above much younger oil-bearing Cretaceous rock.

Sources:

Dormaar, Dr. Johan and Watt, Robert A., “Oil City: Black Gold in Waterton Park,” Lethbridge Historical Society, Lethbridge, Alberta, 2007

Parcs Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Lieux historiques nationaux dans les parcs nationaux des montagnes

Lieu historique national du Canada du Premier Puits de Pétrole de l'Ouest Canadien

Carte interactif des lieux historiques national dans les environs des parcs nationaux des montagnes
Carte interactif des lieux historiques national dans les environs des parcs nationaux des montagnes
© Parcs Canada
le Premier Puits de Pétrole de l'Ouest Canadien
Lieu historique national du Canada du Premier Puits de Pétrole de l'Ouest Canadien
© Parcs Canada

Découverte de pétrole au Canada

En 1858, le puits no 1 de James Miller Williams devient le premier puits de pétrole producteur en Amérique du Nord. Situé à Oil Springs, en Ontario, ce puits déclenche une frénésie de forage pétrolier dans tout le pays. Dans l’Ouest, on sonde le district du lac Dauphin, au Manitoba, et un secteur situé près de la ville d’Athabasca, en Alberta, mais sans y trouver de pétrole.

Du pétrole dans les montagnes

En 1889, des suintements de pétrole connus des Autochtones du sud de l’Alberta attirent l’attention de collectivités de pionniers. Des articles enthousiastes publiés dans les journaux créent une vague de revendications pétrolières dans les environs de Waterton. Cinq ans plus tard, cependant, les quelques tentatives de forage effectuées sont restées vaines et presque toutes les concessions pétrolières ont expiré.

Près de dix ans après cette première vague, William Aldridge trouve une utilité au pétrole prélevé des suintements locaux. Il récupère le pétrole écrémé dans un sluice et le vend dans la région comme lubrifiant et comme médicament, devenant ainsi la première personne à utiliser ces sources de pétrole à des fins commerciales.

Enfin l’or noir – Le premier puits de pétrole de l’Ouest canadien

En 1897, John Lineham obtient une concession minière près du ruisseau Oil et fonde la Rocky Mountain Development Company. L’entreprise transporte de l’équipement lourd à travers les prairies et les montagnes sur des pistes étroites aménagées pour les chevaux. Les travailleurs bâtissent un appareil de forage utilisant le procédé canadien. Fait entièrement de bois, il fonctionne grâce à une chaudière à vapeur de 35 chevaux-puissance. Le forage avance lentement en raison de problèmes d’équipement, de l’inexpérience des travailleurs et d’accidents. En 1902, on trouve du pétrole au puits de la découverte Lineham no 1. Ce puits de 311 m (1 020 pi) de profondeur produit 300 barils par jour.

Bien qu’il ne s’agisse pas du premier puits foré dans l’Ouest du Canada, le puits de la découverte Lineham est le premier qui produit une quantité de pétrole commercialisable. Cette réussite, quoiqu’encourageante, est de courte durée : peu de temps après, le cuvelage du puits s’effondre et l’appareil de forage y reste coincé. En 1904, une fois la plupart des outils et des débris nettoyés, les travailleurs installent une pompe afin d’alimenter une petite raffinerie. Le puits produit environ 8 000 barils de pétrole avant que l’appareil de forage y reste pris une fois de plus.

Lieu historique national du Canada du Premier Puits de Pétrole de l'Ouest Canadien
Lieu historique national du Canada du Premier Puits de Pétrole de l'Ouest Canadien
© Parcs Canada

Enthousiasme et expansion

La découverte de pétrole au puits Lineham suscite l’intérêt de la population et attire dans la région des entrepreneurs et de nouvelles sociétés désirant obtenir leur part des richesses promises. Environ 25 nouveaux puits sont forés dans le secteur et des plans sont préparés en vue de l’aménagement d’Oil City, ville prospère devant fournir des services à tous les nouveaux venus. En 1908, cependant, le forage s’arrête et la plupart des puits sont abandonnés.

L’avenir du pétrole à Waterton

Malgré quelques tentatives de forage effectuées jusqu’en 1939, aucun puits ne produit une quantité de pétrole suffisante pour s’avérer rentable. D’autres découvertes importantes se produisent, notamment le puits Dingman no 1 à Turner Valley en 1914, et l’attention se tourne vers le nord, où l’on transporte aussi l’équipement. Toutes les tentatives visant à trouver une source commercialisable de pétrole et de gaz dans la région de Waterton restent vaines, jusqu’à la découverte du champ pétrolifère du ruisseau Pincher, en 1948.

Importance nationale

En 1965, on reconnaît l’importance historique nationale du puits de la découverte, désigné « premier puits de pétrole de l’Ouest du Canada ». Un monument conçu expressément pour ce lieu historique et auquel sont intégrés des instruments de forage est aménagé en 1968 près du parc national des Lacs-Waterton (Alberta), entre le ruisseau Cameron et la route Akamina.

Histoire Rocky Mountain House Col-Howse Col-Athabasca Kootenae House Col-Yellowhead Rocky Mountain House Jasper House Rocky Mountain House Fort-St. James Col-Kicking Horse Premier Puits de Pétrole Auberge-de-Ski-Skoki Station-d’Étude-des-Rayons-Cosmiques-du-Mont-Sulphur Refuge-du-Col-Abbot Centre-d'Information-du-Parc-Jasper Salon-de-Thé-des-Chutes-Twin Col-Yellowhead Col-Rogers Musée-du-Parc-Banff Cave and Basin Ranch-Bar U

Texte de la plaque :

LE PREMIER PUITS DE PÉTROLE DE L’OUEST CANADIEN

La Rocky Mountain Development Company, fondée à la fin du XIXe siècle par John Lineham, Allan Patrick et G.K. Leeson, commença en 1901 ses opérations de forage en cet endroit et atteignit l’année suivante une nappe de pétrole à la profondeur de 1 024 pieds. Le débit initial de 300 barils par jour ne se maintint pas et la production était quasi nulle en 1904. D’autres travaux d’exploration restèrent sans résultat. Mais ce premier succès, si minime fut-il, déclencha d’innombrables recherches qui aboutirent à la découverte du champ pétrolière de Turner Valley en 1914.

Fait éclair :

À la fin du XIXe siècle, les produits obtenus de la distillation du pétrole brut sont principalement utilisés comme lubrifiants, comme médicaments pour les humains et comme insectifuges pour le bétail. John Lineham, fondateur de la Rocky Mountain Development Company, s’intéresse d’abord au pétrole dans le but de traiter la gale animale dont souffre le bétail.

Fait éclair :

Les géologues croient que les premières nappes de pétrole découvertes dans la région de Waterton étaient en fait de petits suintements ayant migré vers la surface du sol le long des craques et des plans de faille du chevauchement de Lewis. Ce vaste manteau de roche précambrienne, trop âgé pour qu’on y trouve du pétrole, recouvre une roche crétacée pétrolifère beaucoup plus récente.

Sources:

Dormaar, Dr. Johan et Watt, Robert A., Oil City: Black Gold in Waterton Park, Lethbridge Historical Society, Lethbridge, Alberta, 2007