Parks Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

National Historic Sites in the Mountain National Parks

Arthur Oliver Wheeler, Person of National Historic Significance

Arthur Oliver Wheeler was designated a National Historic Person in 1995 due to his years working as a topographical surveyor, his support of the National Park Movement and his part in establishing the Alpine Club of Canada.

Early Life

Wheeler was born on May 1, 1860 outside of Kilkenny, Ireland, at this family estate, The Rocks. In 1876, the family immigrated to Canada where Wheeler met noted land surveyor, Lauchlan Alexander Hamilton and became his apprentice at age 16. In the summer of 1877, Wheeler was hired by surveyor Elihu Stewart to work north of the Great Lakes in Ontario’s Algoma District. Stewart hired him again the following summer and Wheeler traveled from Winnipeg, Manitoba to Battleford, Saskatchewan in Red River carts surveying Indian reserves near Battleford and Prince Albert, Saskatchewan. Wishing to follow in his mentor’s footsteps, Wheeler returned to Ontario to continue his schooling and qualified as Ontario Land Surveyor in 1881 and as Manitoba and Dominion Land Surveyor in 1882.

Surveying Canada

Wheeler was hired by the Canadian Government in 1883 to complete pioneer surveys in Western Canada. Two years later, he was appointed a technical officer of the Topographical Surveys Branch of the Department of the Interior, working under Dr. Edouard Deville, Surveyor General of Canada. Here, he was trained in the specialty of phototopographical surveying or photogammetry, which Deville was using to map the Canadian Rocky Mountains.

After a stint as a lieutenant with the Dominion Land Surveyors Intelligence Corps during the Riel Rebellion, Wheeler returned to Ottawa and met Clara Macoun, daughter of famous Canadian botanist John Macoun of the Palliser Expedition. They were married in Ottawa in 1888. In 1891, they welcomed their first son, Edward Oliver Wheeler and left Ottawa for British Columbia, where Wheeler went into private practice as a surveyor. Unsuccessful in his business ventures due to a real estate crash, he rejoined the Department of the Interior in 1894. His new position took him to Calgary, where Wheeler eventually moved with his wife and son in 1898. From 1894 to 1900, he surveyed the watersheds of southern Alberta: the Elbow, Sheep, Highwood, Oldman, Belly, Waterton, Little Bow, St. Mary and Milk Rivers.

Last Years of Work

Wheeler was appointed Commissioner of the Alberta/British Columbia boundary survey in 1910. For the following 17 years, he surveyed the portion of the boundary which follows the Continental Divide from the 49th parallel to its intersection with the 120th meridian, a distance of 970 km (600 miles). This was his final project as a surveyer, after its completion, Wheeler retired from active professional work.

Climbing

On a surveying trip to the Rogers Pass area of the Selkirk Range in British Columbia, Wheeler met a group of Swiss mountain guides with whom he made his first ascent of a major peak. The following year, in 1902, he took his son Oliver on a first ascent of a previously unnamed peak, which he named Mount Oliver. Wheeler also made a first ascent of Mount Wheeler, which he named after himself. In 1905, he shared his love of these mountains in a book called The Selkirk Range, the first book written by a Canadian, celebrating a mountain range.

Alpine Club of Canada

Charles Fay, first president of the American Alpine Club and aquaintance of Wheeler, suggested that a Canadian chapter of the club be formed. Wheeler discussed the idea with many, but met great opposition from Elizabeth Parker, a journalist at the Winnipeg Free Press, who felt Canada should not become a subsidiary to the American Alpine Club. As a result of her adamant opinions, Wheeler and Parker founded the Alpine Club of Canada (ACC) in 1906. Wheeler became the ACC’s first President and Parker became its first Secretary.

Wheeler served as President of the ACC for four years and then went on to Managing Director for 16 years until 1930. After his retirement, he was named Honorary President of the ACC, a position he held until his death in early 1945. He also served as editor of the Canadian Alpine Journal from 1907 until 1927. Wheeler was the driving force behind two of the ACC’s most successful expeditions, the 1913 Mt. Robson camp, and the 1925 ascent of Mt. Logan.

Support of the National Parks

Wheeler retired from surveying and much of his work with the Alpine Club of Canada in 1925, but extended his interest in mountaineering and the geography of the land by enthusiastically campaigning for the preservation of the Parks. He actively pushed for the banning of commercial development within the parks. He also lobbied for the inclusion of the Columbia Icefield within the expanded Jasper National Park boundaries.

Fast Fact:

Arthur Oliver Wheeler’s first born, Sir Edward Oliver Wheeler, participated in the first topographical survey of Mount Everest in 1921, and as Brigadier in the British Army was appointed Surveyor General of India in 1941.

Fast Fact:

Wheeler died for the second time on May 20, 1945. His first death occurred during the Riel Rebellion, at the Battle of Batoche. Wheeler was grazed in the shoulder by a sniper's bullet and while recovering, he learned that his family in Ontario had been informed that he had been killed in action.

Fast Fact:

In 1920 at the Allied Congress of Alpinism, the Prince of Monoco recognized Wheeler for co-founding the ACC as well as his involvement with other countries alpine clubs. Wheeler was made an Officer of the Order of St. Charles and was given the Cross of the Order.

Plaque Text:
A pre-eminent topographical surveyor, Wheeler represented British Columbia on the commission which located and marked the boundary with Alberta between 1913 and 1925. His party surveyed and mapped the 1000 km-long mountain section, using photographs taken from high elevations. An established expert in this technique, Wheeler also studied the movement of glaciers along the boundary. In 1906 he co-founded the Alpine Club of Canada, and as a leading preservationist helped create the Canadian National Parks Association. The boundary survey stands as his greatest achievement.

Sources:

Alpine Club of Canada website, Past Presidents

Parcs Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Lieux historiques nationaux dans les parcs nationaux des montagnes

Arthur Oliver Wheeler - Personne d'importance historique nationale

Arthur Oliver Wheeler a été désigné personne d’importance historique nationale en 1995 en reconnaissance des années qu’il a passées à travailler comme arpenteur-géomètre, de son appui au mouvement des parcs nationaux et du rôle qu’il joué dans la création du Club alpin du Canada.

Les premières années

Arthur Oliver Wheeler est né le 1er mai 1860 à l’extérieur de Kilkenny, en Irlande, au domaine familial The Rocks. En 1876, sa famille émigra au Canada où Arthur Wheeler fit la connaissance de l’arpenteur-géomètre réputé Lauchlan Alexander Hamilton, dont il devint l’apprenti à l’âge de 16 ans. Au cours de l’été 1877, il entra au service de l’arpenteur Elihu Stewart pour travailler au nord des Grands Lacs, dans le district Algoma, en Ontario. Il revient travailler pour Elihu Stewart l’été suivant et partit de Winnipeg, au Manitoba, jusqu’à Battleford, en Saskatchewan, à bord de charrettes de la rivière Rouge pour arpenter les réserves indiennes près de Battleford et de Prince Albert, en Saskatchewan. Désireux de suivre les traces de son mentor, Arthur Wheeler revint en Ontario pour y poursuivre ses études et obtint, en 1881, le titre d’arpenteur-géomètre de l’Ontario et, en 1882, celui d’arpenteur-géomètre du Manitoba et des terres fédérales.

L’arpentage du Canada

Arthur Wheeler fut embauché en 1883 par le gouvernement canadien pour terminer les premiers levés dans l’Ouest canadien. Deux années plus tard, il fut nommé agent technique de la Direction des levés topographiques du ministère de l’Intérieur et travailla sous la direction d’Edouard Deville, arpenteur général du Canada. Il entreprit de se spécialiser en arpentage phototopographique, ou photogammétrie, une technique dont se servait Edouard Deville pour cartographier les Rocheuses canadiennes.

Lors de la rébellion de Riel, il fut nommé lieutenant au sein du Dominion Land Surveyors Intelligence Corps. Il revint ensuite à Ottawa où il fit la connaissance de Clara Macoun, fille du célèbre botaniste canadien John Macoun de l’expédition Palliser. Ils se marièrent à Ottawa en 1888. Après la naissance de leur premier fils, Edward Oliver Wheeler, en 1891, ils quittèrent Ottawa pour s’établir en Colombie-Britannique, où Arthur Wheeler ouvrit un cabinet d’arpentage. Son entreprise échoua en raison d’une crise du marché immobilier, et il revint au service du ministère de l’Intérieur en 1894. Son nouveau poste l’amena à Calgary, où il fit venir sa femme et son fils en 1898. De 1894 à 1900, il arpenta les bassins hydrographiques du sud de l’Alberta, à savoir les rivières Elbow, Sheep, Highwood, Oldman, Belly, Waterton, Little Bow, St. Mary et Milk.

Les dernières années de sa carrière

En 1910, Arthur Wheeler fut nommé commissaire de la délimitation de la frontière entre l’Alberta et la Colombie-Britannique. Il passa les 17 années qui suivirent à arpenter la portion de la frontière qui longe la ligne de partage des eaux, depuis le 49e parallèle jusqu’à l’endroit où celui-ci rejoint le 120e méridien, ce qui correspond à une distance de 970 km. Ce fut là le dernier projet qu’il réalisa à titre d’arpenteur, après quoi il cessa ses activités professionnelles.

Escalade

Pendant qu’il effectuait l’arpentage de la région du col Rogers, dans la chaîne de Selkirk en Colombie-Britannique, Arthur Wheeler rencontra des guides de montagne suisses avec lesquels il fit sa première ascension d’un grand sommet. L’année suivante, en 1902, il emmena son fils Oliver faire une première escalade sur une montagne jusque-là sans nom, et il la baptisa mont Oliver. Il fut également le premier à escalader le mont Wheeler, qu’il nomma en son honneur. En 1905, il parla de son amour pour ces montagnes dans un ouvrage intitulé The Selkirk Range, le premier livre de la plume d’un Canadien à célébrer une chaîne de montagnes.

Le Club alpin du Canada

Charles Fay, premier président de l’American Alpine Club et connaissance de Wheeler, proposa de créer une section de son club au Canada. Wheeler discuta de l’idée avec plusieurs. Elizabeth Parker, une journaliste au Winnipeg Free Press, s’y opposa fortement, car elle était d’avis que le Canada ne devait pas devenir une filiale de l’American Alpine Club. En raison de son refus catégorique, Wheeler et Parker fondèrent le Club alpin du Canada (CAC) en 1906. Wheeler en devint le premier président et Parker, la première secrétaire.

Wheeler resta président du Club alpin du Canada pendant quatre ans puis fut administrateur délégué pendant 16 ans, soit jusqu’en 1930. Après sa retraite, il fut nommé président honoraire du Club, un poste qu’il occupa jusqu’à sa mort au début de 1945. Il travailla également comme rédacteur au Canadian Alpine Journal de 1907 jusqu’en 1927. Wheeler fut l’élément moteur de deux des expéditions les plus réussies du Club alpin du Canada : l’établissement d’un camp au mont Robson, en 1913, et l’ascension du mont Logan, en 1925.

En appui aux parcs nationaux

Wheeler cessa ses travaux d’arpentage et la majeure partie de ses activités au sein du Club alpin du Canada en 1925, mais il poussa plus loin son intérêt pour l’alpinisme et la géographie du relief en militant avec grand enthousiasme en faveur de la préservation des parcs. Il se battit pour interdire les projets d’aménagement commercial dans les parcs. Il fit également pression pour faire inclure le champ de glace Columbia dans les limites élargies du parc national Jasper.

Le saviez-vous?

Le premier fils d’Arthur Oliver Wheeler, Sir Edward Oliver Wheeler, a participé au premier levé topographique du mont Everest en 1921 et, en tant que brigadier de l’Armée britannique, il a été nommé arpenteur général de l’Inde en 1941.

Le saviez-vous?

Wheeler est mort pour la deuxième fois le 20 mai 1945. Son premier décès est survenu durant la rébellion de Louis Riel, lors de la bataille de Batoche. Une balle d’un tireur d’élite a effleuré le bras de Wheeler et pendant sa convalescence, il a appris que sa famille en Ontario croyait qu’il avait été tué au combat.

Le saviez-vous?

En 1920 lors de l’Allied Congress of Alpinism, le prince de Monaco a reconnu le travail de Wheeler à titre de cofondateur du Club alpin du Canada et sa participation à d’autres clubs alpins de l’étranger. Wheeler a été nommé officier de l’Ordre de Saint-Charles et a reçu la croix de l’Ordre.

Texte de la plaque :

Éminent topographe, Wheeler représenta la Colombie-Britannique au sein de la commission chargée de tracer et de marquer, de 1913 à 1925, la frontière avec l’Alberta. Son équipe arpenta et cartographia les 1 000 km de montagnes à l’aide de photographies prises à partir de points élevés. Spécialiste de cette technique, Wheeler étudia également le mouvement des glaciers le long de la frontière. Cofondateur du Club Alpin du Canada en 1906, cet environnementaliste convaincu participa à la création de la Canadian National Parks Association. La délimitation de la frontière demeure sa réalisation la plus marquante.

Sources:

Club alpin du Canada, site Web, Past Presidents (en anglais seulement)