Parks Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

National Historic Sites in the Mountain National Parks

Charlotte Small, Person of National Historic Significance

Charlotte Small was the Scot-Cree wife of explorer, David Thompson. She is recognized for her contribution to Canadian culture and history and symbolizes the vital role women played in the fur trade.

Family Life

Charlotte’s father, Patrick Small, was a partner in the North West Company (N.W.C.). In the fall of 1784, Small was sent to Île-à-la-Crosse to run a post for the N.W.C. Here he met and married a Cree woman, Charlotte’s mother, who would bring him not only a family, but the support of her entire Cree community. His new post was now secure in its trade with the Cree. On September 1, 1785, Charlotte was born. Charlotte also had a sister, Nancy, who would go on to marry N.W.C. partner John McDonald of Garth.

Left Behind

Seven years after arriving in Île-à-la-Crosse, Patrick Small retired from the N.W.C. and headed back to Eastern Canada. Fearing the prejudice that awaited his aboriginal wife and young children, he left alone. Charlotte, Nancy, and their mother remained at the post, living on a pension provided by Patrick.

Travels with David Thompson

On September 6, 1798, David Thompson, a young trader with the N.W.C., arrived at Île-à-la-Crosse. Here, he met Charlotte Small, and on June 10th of the following year, Thompson, twenty-nine, and thirteen-year-old Small were married according to Cree marriage customs. She and Thompson went on to have thirteen children who often accompanied her and Thompson on his fur trade expeditions. Travelling more than 25,000 kilometres with her husband(1), she travelled more than 3 1/2 times farther than well-known American explorers Lewis and Clark.

Partners

Small provided Thompson with more than a travelling companion, wife and mother. The skills of her mother’s people, the Cree language and all the social behaviour and practical skills needed to live in the wilderness helped him on his travels. From her father, she gained a well-known surname and was knowledgeable in the trials of the fur trade. Small could share her experience and wisdom with her new husband, and he, in turn would show a great commitment to her, one that most fur trade husbands did not extend their non-white wives.

Travelling East

In 1812, Thompson and Small headed east with their five children. They arrived on October 30, in Terrebonne, Quebec, outside of Montreal and Thompson immediately introduced them to Christian customs. Small and the children were baptized in the church and Thompson and Small were again married, this time at St. Gabriel’s Church, in keeping with Canadian laws. Although they had married several years earlier according to Cree customs, Thompson wanted their union recognized by the church and community as well.

Children

The couple remained married for 58 years, until Thompson's death in 1857. On May 4, just a few short months after her husband’s passing, Small passed away as well. Throughout their marriage, they had thirteen children, three of whom predeceased their parents. Small and her children accompanied Thompson on many of the great voyages that he is known for. They made epic journeys through Howse Pass and were there when he established Kootenae House, west of the Rockies. Their travels and experiences are as much a part of our past as are Thompson’s.

Fast Fact:

Charlotte Small was the first child to be born at the trading post at Île-à-la-Crosse and her marriage to Thompson was the first union of one of the community’s children.

Fast Fact:

From 1801 to 1829, Charlotte Small and David Thompson had thirteen children: boys, Samuel, John, Joshuah, Henry, William, Thomas, and George and girls, Fanny, Emma, Charlotte, Elizabeth, Mary, and Eliza Barbara.

Sources:

Charlotte Small and Île-à-la-Crosse,” and “Charlotte Small – Woman of Mystery – Woman of Historical Significance,” From David Thompson Things web site,

David Thompson’s Legacy,” Ontario Archive

1.From research by Leanne Playter, depicted on a map created by cartographer Andy Korsos titled "Moccasin Miles - The Travels of Charlotte Small Thompson 1799-1812" (ISBN 978-0-9783707-1-8)

Parcs Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Lieux historiques nationaux dans les parcs nationaux des montagnes

Charlotte Small - Personne d'importance historique nationale

Charlotte Small est l’épouse d’origine crie et écossaise de l’explorateur David Thompson. Elle est reconnue en raison de sa contribution à la culture et à l'histoire canadiennes, et elle symbolise le rôle indispensable joué par les femmes dans le commerce des fourrures.

Vie familiale

Le père de Charlotte Small, Patrick Small, est associé de la Compagnie du Nord Ouest. À l’automne 1784, il est envoyé à l’Île à la Crosse pour y diriger un poste de traite. Il y rencontre et y épouse une Crie, la mère de Charlotte, qui non seulement lui donne une famille, mais lui assure aussi le soutien de toute la communauté crie. La bonne marche des affaires de son nouveau poste est dorénavant assurée grâce au commerce avec les Cris. Charlotte Small naît le 1er septembre 1785; elle a aussi une sœur, Nancy, qui épouse John McDonald de Garth, un associé de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest.

Laissés sur place

Sept ans après son arrivée à l'Île à la Crosse, Patrick Small prend sa retraite de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest et retourne dans l’Est du Canada. De crainte que son épouse et ses jeunes enfants autochtones ne soient victimes de préjugés, il part seul. Charlotte, Nancy et leur mère restent au poste et vivent d'une pension que leur assure Patrick Small.

Voyages avec David Thompson

Le 6 septembre 1798, David Thompson, alors jeune commerçant de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest, arrive à l'Île à la Crosse. Il y fait la connaissance de Charlotte Small et, le 10 juin de l’année suivante, David Thompson, 29 ans, et Charlotte, alors âgée de 13 ans, s’unissent selon les coutumes nuptiales des Cris. Charlotte et David ont eu treize enfants qui les ont souvent accompagnés dans leurs expéditions liées au commerce des fourrures. Charlotte a parcouru plus de 25 000 kilomètres en compagnie de son époux(1), soit plus de trois fois et demi la distance franchie par les explorateurs américains reconnus Lewis et Clark.

Partenaires

Charlotte Small est plus qu’une compagne de voyage, une mère et une épouse pour David Thompson. Elle peut l’aider, car elle maîtrise les habiletés du peuple de sa mère : elle parle cri, elle connaît les conventions sociales de son peuple, et sait comment vivre en milieu sauvage. Son père lui a légué un nom connu et elle est bien au fait des difficultés du commerce des fourrures. Charlotte Small peut faire profiter son nouvel époux de son expérience et de ses connaissances, et lui, en retour, se montrera très épris et lui témoigne un attachement rare chez la plupart des commerçants de fourrures qui ont épousé des Autochtones.

Vie dans l'Est

En 1812, Charlotte Small et David Thompson partent pour l’Est avec leurs cinq enfants. Ils arrivent à Terrebonne, au Québec, à proximité de Montréal, le 30 octobre, et Thompson initie immédiatement sa famille aux coutumes chrétiennes. Charlotte et les enfants sont baptisés à l’église et David et Charlotte se marient de nouveau, cette fois à l’église Saint Gabriel, conformément aux lois canadiennes. Même s’ils se sont épousés plusieurs années auparavant selon les coutumes cries, Thompson veut faire reconnaître l’union de son couple par l’église et la communauté.

Les enfants

Le couple a été marié 58 ans, jusqu’au décès de David Thompson en 1857. Charlotte Small meurt quelques mois à peine après le décès de son époux, le 4 mai. Tout au long de son mariage, le couple a eu treize enfants, dont trois sont décédés avant leurs parents. Charlotte Small et ses enfants ont accompagné David Thompson dans un grand nombre des voyages qui ont fait sa renommée. Ils ont vécu des périples épiques au col Howse, et ils étaient là à la création de Kootenae House, à l’ouest des Rocheuses. Leurs voyages et leurs expériences font tout autant partie de notre passé que ceux de David Thompson.

Le saviez-vous?

Charlotte Small est la seule enfant née au poste de traite d’Île à la Crosse et son mariage à David Thompson a été le premier d’une des enfants de la communauté.

Le saviez-vous?

Entre 1801 et 1829, Charlotte Small et David Thompson ont eu treize enfants : les garçons, Samuel, John, Joshuah, Henry, William, Thomas, et George et les filles, Fanny, Emma, Charlotte, Elizabeth, Mary, et Eliza Barbara.

Sources

Charlotte Small and Île-à-la-Crosse, et Charlotte Small – Woman of Mystery – Woman of Historical Significance, David Thompson Things tirés du site Web The Métis Man, (en anglais seulement)

Le patrimoine de Thompson, Archives publiques de l’Ontario

1.Provenant de la recherche de Leanne Playter, représentée sur une carte créée par le cartographe Andy Korsos intitulée : "Moccasin Miles - The Travels of Charlotte Small Thompson 1799-1812" (ISBN 978-0-9783707-1-8)