Parks Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

National Historic Sites in the Mountain National Parks

Sir George Simpson, Person of National Historic Significance

Sir George Simpson was designated a person of national significance in 1927 due to his position as Governor-in-Chief of Rupert’s Land and General Superintendent of the Hudson’s Bay Company.

The Early Years

Sir George Simpson was born in Lochbrom, Scotland in either 1786 or 1787. Born out of wedlock, he was raised by his patriarchal Aunt Mary until his early teens. At this time, he moved to London to work with his uncle, Geddes Mackenzie Simpson, a partner in a London sugar brokerage firm. Geddes’ company soon merged with Andrew Wedderburn’s, which led to George’s first contact with the Hudson’s Bay Company. Brother-in-law to Lord Selkirk, primary owner of HBC stock, Wedderburn became a shareholder and member of the governing board of the HBC.

Tensions in the Hudson’s Bay Company

As Simpson was building a relationship with Wedderburn in London, the HBC and NWC struggled for survival in Western Canada. Initially, the Canadian North West Company was better equipped, with competent officers in the field and adept agents. After 1810, the HBC became more aggressive and the battle for dominance erupted. Colin Robertson, leader of the HBC campaign in Athabasca was captured by the NWC in 1818 and charged with attempted murder. Simultaneously, HBC’s governor-in-chief, William Williams was in danger of arrest.

The HBC’s London committee lost faith in Robertson and Williams and decided to select another manager for North America. Wedderburn, who had since changed his name to Andrew Colville, used his influence to have George Simpson appointed governor-in-chief locum tenens in 1820. In the following months, Simpson travelled to many posts and familiarized himself with the HBC’s operations and holdings.

Merging the Companies

Tired of the ongoing battle for control of the most lucrative trade grounds, the HBC governing board pushed for an agreement between the two companies. In March of 1821, the HBC and NWC merged under the title of the Hudson’s Bay Company. This gave the HBC a monopoly of control over the fur trade in British North America for more than 40 years. Territory was divided into two regions, the Northern and Southern Department, the former being more profitable. Williams, designated as the senior governor, was expected to choose the Northern Department, but forego the option and took the southern. This decision left Simpson, then junior governor, control of more fertile trading grounds.

Leadership Skills

Simpson had a keen head for business and managing people and soon earned the respect of his subordinates as well as the London committee. Faced with contentious workers, many of whom had been bitter rivals before the merger, Simpson showed great reconciliatory skills and strong leadership. He increased the company’s profits by eliminating excess personnel and evaluating each trading post’s virtues individually.

In 1826, due to increased economy and efficiency, Simpson was named governor of both the southern and northern departments. Simpson’s larger jurisdiction led to the relocation of his headquarters to Lachine, in Lower Canada. Lachine was a base for HBC canoes heading west or to Montreal, as well as being a financial and commercial centre with faster access to England.

Family

In 1829, Simpson returned to London and met the 18 year-old daughter of his uncle Geddes, Frances Simpson, who would be his wife. Simpson, in his early forties at the time of his marriage, had already fathered at least five illegitimate children. Despite his previous relationships, he opposed marriages between fur traders and native or mixed blood women. Non-white wives were not allowed in the Simpson household, a rule upheld by Frances.

Frances lived with Simpson in Red River, from 1830-33, yet the transition from England anlong with the death of their first born child was hard on her. In 1833, they returned to England and it was decided that Frances would remain to regain her strength. She returned to North America and her husband in 1838. Together, Frances and George Simpson had five children, four of which survived infancy.

Other Ventures

Simpson became quite active in the Montreal society after his marriage to Frances. His political ties allowed him to sway decisions benefiting the HBC and his own personal interests. Lobbyist, Stewart Derbyshire acted on his behalf, promoting the HBC and Simpson himself through the distribution of gifts such as boxes of cigars or buffalo tongues to ensure the good will of Canadian legislators.

Simpson was also active on several boards, using his social connections to leverage his business ventures. The North American Colonial Association of Ireland, the Bank of British North America, the Bank of Montreal, the Montreal Mining Company, the Montreal and Lachine Railroad, and the Montreal and Champlain Railroad were just some of the boards he sat on. He also had investments in the Atlantic and St. Lawrence Railroad, the North Shore Railway Company and the Montreal Ocean Steamship Company.

Travels

Simpson travelled the country visiting posts, traversing passes, and exploring much of Canada during his forty years with the HBC. Almost to the end of his life he continued his canoe voyages to various company posts, making at least one major journey every year, with the exception of three years spent in London. He felt a need to keep himself informed, and enjoyed travelling with speed and testing his constitution.

Knighthood

In recognition of his assistance in the Arctic explorations of Thomas Simpson and Peter Warren Dease, Simpson was knighted in 1841. This honour also acknowledged his importance in the business world and his contribution as an adviser on foreign affairs to the British government.

Fast Fact:

Frances Simpson, George’s young wife, and her companion, Catherine Turner were the first British women to travel from Lachine (Quebec) to York Factory (Manitoba) by canoe.

Fast Fact:

George Simpson had his own, narrow beam, 8 metre ‘express canoe’ for traveling. He travelled with a crew of Iroquois voyageurs and a personal Scottish piper.

Plaque Text:

SIR GEORGE SIMPSON
1792-1860

Born in the Scottish Highlands, Simpson joined the Hudson's Bay Company in 1820. In 1821 he became governor of the Northern Department, and in 1826 governor-in-chief in Rupert's Land. An energetic administrator with a passion for detail, Simpson dominated the North American fur trade for almost forty years. Under his direction the Company took a lead in exploration, and he personally travelled widely in the Company's territories. From 1833 till his death, he made his headquarters in Lachine and played a prominent role in the business life of Montreal.

Sources:

Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online, George Simpson, http://www.biographi.ca

Parcs Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Lieux historiques nationaux dans les parcs nationaux des montagnes

Sir George Simpson - Personne d'importance historique nationale

Sir George Simpson a été désigné personne d’importance historique nationale en 1927 en raison du poste qu’il a occupé comme gouverneur en chef de la Terre de Rupert et surintendant général de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson.

Les premières années

Sir George Simpson est né à Lochbrom, en Écosse, en 1786 ou en 1787. Issu d’une union extraconjugale, il fut élevé par sa tante Mary du côté paternel jusqu’au début de son adolescence. Il partit ensuite pour Londres afin d’y travailler auprès de son oncle, Geddes Mackenzie Simpson, un associé d’une maison de courtage de sucre. La maison de Geddes fusionna peu de temps après avec celle d’Andrew Wedderburn, ce qui mena au premier contact de George Simpson avec la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson. Beau-frère de lord Selkirk, propriétaire principal d’actions de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson, Wedderburn devint un actionnaire et un membre du conseil d’administration de la Compagnie.

Des tensions au sein de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson

Tandis que Simpson tissait des liens avec Wedderburn à Londres, la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson et la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest avaient bien du mal à survivre dans l’Ouest canadien. Au départ, la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest du Canada était mieux équipée, et elle comptait des officiers compétents et des agents doués. Après 1810 toutefois, la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson se fit plus audacieuse, et les deux compagnies luttèrent pour affirmer leur suprématie. Colin Robertson, chef de la campagne de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson dans l’Athabasca, fut capturé par la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest en 1818 et accusé de tentative de meurtre. Simultanément, le gouverneur en chef de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson, William Williams, fut menacé d’arrestation.

Le comité de Londres de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson perdit toute confiance en Robertson et en Williams et décida de nommer un autre dirigeant pour l’Amérique du Nord. Wedderburn, qui avait depuis changé son nom pour Andrew Colville, usa de son influence pour faire nommer George Simpson au poste de gouverneur en chef suppléant, en 1820. Au cours des mois qui suivirent, Simpson se rendit à de nombreux postes pour se familiariser avec les opérations et les possessions de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson.

La fusion des deux compagnies

Fatigué de la bataille incessante qui se menait pour obtenir la mainmise sur les territoires d’échange les plus lucratifs, le conseil d’administration de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson fit campagne en faveur d’une entente entre les deux compagnies. C’est ainsi qu’en mars 1821, la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson et la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest s’amalgamèrent sous la bannière de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson. Celle-ci obtint donc le monopole du commerce des fourrures en Amérique du Nord britannique pendant plus de 40 ans. Le territoire était divisé en deux régions, le département du Nord et le département du Sud, et le premier rapportait les plus grands profits. On s’attendait à ce que Williams, désigné gouverneur principal, porte son choix sur le département du Nord, mais il opta pour celui du Sud. Cette décision laissa à Simpson, alors gouverneur subalterne, le contrôle des territoires d’échange les plus fructueux.

L’art du leadership

Simpson était fort en affaires et il excellait dans la gestion des relations humaines, ce qui lui valut rapidement le respect de ses subordonnés de même que du comité de Londres. Avec les travailleurs belliqueux dont nombre desquels avaient été de fervents rivaux avant la fusion, Simpson fit preuve de compétences exceptionnelles en réconciliation et montra un solide leadership. Il accrut les bénéfices de la Compagnie en éliminant des postes et en évaluant au cas par cas le bien-fondé de chacun des postes de traite.

En 1826, grâce à des économies et à des gains d’efficience, Simpson fut nommé gouverneur du département du Sud et du département du Nord. Le champ de compétences élargi de Simpson mena au déplacement du siège social de la Compagnie à Lachine, dans le Bas-Canada. Lachine servait de base pour les canots de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson en partance vers l’ouest ou vers Montréal, de même que de centre financier et commercial permettant l’accès plus rapide vers l’Angleterre.

Sa famille

En 1829, Simpson retourna à Londres et fit la connaissance de Frances Simpson, la fille de 18 ans de son oncle Geddes, qui devint plus tard sa femme. Au début de la quarantaine à son mariage, Simpson avait déjà eu au moins cinq enfants illégitimes. En dépit de ses relations précédentes, il s’opposait aux mariages entre les commerçants de fourrures et les Amérindiennes et Métisses. Les femmes de couleur étaient interdites sous le toit de Simpson, une règle que faisait appliquer Mme Simpson.

Frances Simpson vécut avec son mari à la colonie de la rivière Rouge de 1830 à 1833; l’adaptation à la vie en Amérique du Nord et la mort de son premier enfant furent éprouvantes pour elle. En 1833, le couple retourna en Angleterre et décida que Mme Simpson y resterait pour recouvrer ses forces. Elle vint retrouver son mari en Amérique du Nord en 1838. Ils eurent cinq enfants, dont quatre survécurent.

D’autres entreprises

Simpson devint très actif au sein de la société montréalaise après son mariage. Ses liens politiques lui permirent d’influer sur des décisions favorables à la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson et à ses propres intérêts. Le lobbyiste Stewart Derbyshire agit en son nom et fit la promotion de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson et de Simpson en distribuant des cadeaux tels que des boîtes de cigares ou des langues de bison pour s’assurer les bonnes grâces des législateurs canadiens.

Simpson siégeait également à divers conseils et il usait de ses relations sociales pour faire fructuer ses entreprises commerciales. La North American Colonial Association of Ireland, la Bank of British North America, la Banque de Montréal, la Montreal Mining Company, la Montreal and Lachine Railroad et la Montreal and Champlain Railroad ne sont que quelques-unes des sociétés auxquelles siégeait George Simpson. Il avait également des parts dans l’Atlantic and St. Lawrence Railroad, la North Shore Railway Company et la Montreal Ocean Steamship Company.

Ses voyages

Simpson parcourut le pays pour visiter les postes de traite, il traversa des cols et il explora une grande partie du Canada durant les quarante ans qu’il passa au service de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson. Presque jusqu’à la fin de sa vie, il continua de faire des expéditions en canot pour se rendre aux divers postes de la Compagnie; à l’exception des trois ans qu’il passa à Londres, il fit au moins une grande expédition par année. Il ressentait le besoin de se tenir au courant et il aimait voyager rapidement et mettre sa constitution à l’épreuve.

Chevalier

En reconnaissance de sa contribution aux explorations dans l’Arctique de Thomas Simpson et de Peter Warren Dease, Simpson fut fait chevalier en 1841. Cet honneur soulignait également le rôle important qu’il a joué dans le monde des affaires de même que sa contribution à titre de conseiller aux affaires étrangères auprès du gouvernement britannique.

Le saviez-vous?

Frances Simpson, la jeune femme de George Simpson, et sa compagne, Catherine Turner, furent les premières femmes britanniques à se rendre de Lachine (Québec) à York Factory (Manitoba) en canot.

Le saviez-vous?

George Simpson possédait son propre canot étroit « express » de 8 m de long pour ses voyages. Il se faisait accompagner d’une équipe de voyageurs iroquois et d’un cornemuseur écossais attitré.

Texte de la plaque :

SIR GEORGE SIMPSON

1792-1860 Né en Écosse, Simpson entra à la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson en 1820. Il devint gouverneur du département du Nord en 1821 et gouverneur en chef de la Terre de Rupert en 1826. Administrateur énergique et minutieux, il dirigea le commerce des fourrures en Amérique du Nord pendant environ une quarantaine d’années. Sous sa direction, la Compagnie prit les devants en matière d’exploration et il voyagea lui-même beaucoup dans le territoire de la Compagnie. À partir de 1833, il établit son quartier général à Lachine et joua un rôle prépondérant dans la vie commerciale de Montréal.

Texte préparé par le Comité spécial sur la révision des plaques unilingues, de 1973 à 1977

Sources:

Dictionnaire biographique du Canada en ligne, George Simpson, http://www.biographi.ca