Parks Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

National Historic Sites in the Mountain National Parks

Father Adrien Gabriel Morice, Person of National Historic Significance

Our Lady of Good Hope Catholic Church, found in Fort St. James BC Our Lady of Good Hope Catholic Church, found in Fort St. James BC

Adrien Gabriel Morice was recognized as a Person of National Historic Significance in 1948. He was acknowledged for his work as a missionary and for creating a writing system for the Dakelh language.

Missionary

Born in Mayenne Départment, France on the 27th of August, 1859, Morice had early visions of becoming a missionary and explorer in Northwestern Canada. Morice joined the Oblate Order in 1879 and left France shortly after, at the age of 21. He arrived in British Columbia in 1880 and began his career as a missionary in Williams Lake at St. Joseph's school. Here he studied Chilcotin and, with the aid of a student, began to study the Dakelh language.

In 1882, Morice became an Ordained Priest and in 1885, relocated to the Stuart Lake Mission in Fort St. James.

Interaction with the Natives

More than 10,000 natives in the region Simon Fraser named New Caledonia spoke a dialect of Athapaskan, the predominant Dakelh language.

Fluent in the language, Morice created a written form for the popular language by adapting Cree syllabics. Morice was the first person to identify Athapaskan phonological distinctions and write it accurately. In his time at Stuart Lake, Morice devised a system of syllabics, a dictionary and grammar for the Dakelh language. Further to this, he completed his missionary duties by translating the catechism, hymns and prayers into Athapaskan. He also published a bimonthly Dakelh newspaper from 1891-1894 called the Dustl'us Nawhulnuk.

Relocation

In 1904, Father Morice was removed from Fort St. James by the bishop, due to complaints from the Hudson's Bay Company and his inability to get along with other missionaries. Relocated to Winnipeg, Father Morice spent the remainder of his life as a scholar. He continued to write texts on the Dakelh language, culture and general Athapaskan topics. He also wrote of the history of the Roman Catholic church in Western Canada, as well as the French and Metis of the West.

Louis-Billy Prince

Louis-Billy Prince, a descendant of Kw'eh, a great Dakelh Chief, corresponded with Father Morice for many years after he left Fort St. James. Both men wrote in the Athapaskan syllabic, Prince responding to Morice's questions on Dakelh culture. The two men corresponded until Prince was no longer able. After this time, his daughter, Lizette Hall, wrote as Prince spoke, transcribing his letters. Ms. Hall, unfortunately, was not familiar with the Athapaskan syllabic and so continued the letters in English.

The Evolution of Athapaskan

Father Morice's written form of Athapaskan was popular until around 1920, when the Dakelh language was banned from local schools. Written Dakelh soon evolved into a non-standard form of the Latin alphabet, erasing the distinctions which Morice's syllabic captured accurately. The transition was quick, exemplified in the loss of the Athapaskan syllabic between Louis-Billy Prince's generation and his daughter's.

In the 1960s, the Carrier Linguistic Committee in Fort St. James created a standardized form of the Latin alphabet to capture the language. This is now the more common form, although Morice's Dakelh syllabics is still often seen as more culturally authentic.

Following in Morice's Foot Steps

Today, visitors can still experience the places that Father Morice inhabited in the community of Fort St. James, BC. On Lakeview Drive, not far from Fort St. James National Historic Site, stands Our Lady of Good Hope Catholic Church. This charming church, completed in 1873, is today one of the oldest in the province's northern interior.  It is open to visitors during select Sunday services in the summer months. Tours of the church interior must be arranged prior to visiting, and are managed by a non-profit society. Adjacent to the church is the printing press building, remembered as the workshop where Father Morice created the first Dakelh syllabics dictionaries. For more information, contact Fort St. James NHS.

Fast Fact:

Morice River, Morice Lake, and Moricetown in northern BC were all named after Father Adrien Gabriel Morice.

Fast Fact:

Shortly after Father Morice introduced the Athapaskan syllabics, a lengthy message was written on the wall of the jail in Richfield outside of Barkerville, 80km East of Quesnel. This is the first known document written in the Dakelh language.

Sources:

The Canadian Encyclopedia, Father Adrien Gabriel Morice

Parcs Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Lieux historiques nationaux dans les parcs nationaux des montagnes

Père Adrien-Gabriel Morice - Personne d'importance historique nationale

L'église catholique Our Lady of Good Hope à Fort St. James en Colombie-Britannique L'église catholique Our Lady of Good Hope à Fort St. James en Colombie-Britannique

Adrien Gabriel Morice a été désigné personne d'importance historique nationale en 1948 pour son travail de missionnaire de même que pour la création d'un système d'écriture de la langue dakelh.

Père missionnaire

Né dans le département de la Mayenne, en France, le 27 août 1859, Adrien Gabriel Morice eut très tôt l'idée de se faire missionnaire et explorateur dans le Nord-Ouest canadien. Il entra dans l'ordre des Oblats en 1879 et quitta la France peu de temps après, à l'âge de 21 ans. Il arriva en Colombie-Britannique en 1880 et amorça sa vocation de missionnaire à Williams Lake, à l'école St. Joseph. Il y étudia le chilcotin et, avec l'aide d'un élève, entreprit d'apprendre la langue dakelh.

En 1882, il fut ordonné prêtre et, en 1885, il partit travailler à la mission du lac Stuart, à Fort St. James.

Interaction avec les Amérindiens

Dans la région que Simon Fraser avait nommé Nouvelle-Calédonie, plus de 10 000 Amérindiens parlaient un dialecte athapascan, la principale langue dakelh.

Morice, qui maîtrisait cette langue populaire, se mit à la création d'une forme écrite en faisant une adaptation du syllabaire cri. Il fut le premier à distinguer les sons de la langue athapascane et à les transcrire avec précision. Au cours de la période qu'il passa à la mission du lac Stuart, il composa un syllabaire, un dictionnaire et une grammaire de la langue dakelh. De plus, il accomplit ses fonctions de missionnaire et traduisit des catéchèses, des hymnes et des prières en athapascan. Il publia également le journal bimensuel dakelh de 1891 à 1894, le Dustl'us Nawhulnuk.

Transfert

En 1904, le père Morice fut retiré de Fort St. James par l'évêque en raison de plaintes de la part de la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson et des difficultés personnelles qu'il avait avec d'autres missionnaires. Il fut transféré à Winnipeg, où il étudia jusqu'à sa mort. Il continua d'écrire sur la langue et la culture dakelhs et sur des thèmes généraux se rapportant à l'athapascan. Il rédigea également l'histoire de l'église catholique romaine dans l'Ouest canadien de même que celle des Français et des Métis de l'Ouest.

Louis-Billy Prince

Descendant de Kw'eh, un grand chef Dakelh, Louis-Billy Prince entretint une correspondance avec le père Morice pendant de nombreuses années après le départ de ce dernier de Fort St. James. Les deux hommes s'écrivaient en athapascan, et Louis-Billy Prince répondait aux questions du père Morice sur la culture dakelh. Ils s'écrivirent jusqu'à ce que Prince n'en fut plus capable. Ce fut Lizette Hall, sa fille, qui transcrivit ensuite les lettres que son père lui dictait. Malheureusement, Mlle Hall, qui ne connaissait pas le syllabaire athapascan, poursuivit la correspondance en anglais.

Évolution de l'athapascan

La forme écrite de l'athapascan établie par le père Morice fut d'usage jusqu'en 1920 environ, année où la langue dakelh fut bannie des écoles de la région. La version écrite de la langue évolua rapidement pour devenir une forme non normalisée de l'alphabet latin, effaçant du coup les distinctions que le syllabaire du père Morice avait capturées dans les moindres détails. La transition se fit rapidement, comme en témoigne la perte du syllabaire athapascan entre la génération de Louis-Billy Prince et celle de sa fille.

Dans les années 1960, le comité linguistique des Porteurs de Fort St. James composa une forme normalisée de l'alphabet latin pour capturer la langue. C'est la forme la plus couramment utilisée aujourd'hui, bien que l'on reconnaisse encore souvent la plus grande authenticité culturelle du syllabaire du père Morice.

Sur les traces de Morice

Aujourd'hui, les visiteurs peuvent encore découvrir les lieux occupés par le père Morice dans la collectivité de Fort St. James, en Colombie-Britannique. Sur Lakeview Drive, non loin du lieu historique national du Fort-St. James, se dresse l'église catholique Our Lady of Good Hope. Ce charmant bâtiment, qui a été achevé en 1873, est aujourd'hui l'une des plus vieilles églises du Centre-Nord de la province. L'église est ouverte aux visiteurs pour quelques services pendant les mois d'été. Pour faire une visite guidée de l'intérieur, il faut prendre des dispositions au préalable auprès d'une société sans but lucratif. Près de l'église se trouve l'imprimerie, un petit atelier où le père Morice créa les premiers dictionnaires syllabiques dans la langue dakelh. Pour en savoir davantage, veuillez communiquer avec le lieu historique national du Fort-St. James.

Le saviez-vous?

La rivière Morice, le lac Morice et la ville Moricetown, dans le nord de la Colombie-Britannique, sont tous nommés en l'honneur du père Adrien Gabriel Morice.

Le saviez-vous?

Peu de temps après que le père Morice a composé le syllabaire athapascan, un long message a été rédigé sur le mur de la prison de Richfield, située à l'extérieur de Barkerville, à 80 km à l'est de Quesnel. C'est le premier document connu rédigé dans la langue dakelh.

Sources:

The Canadian Encyclopedia, Père Adrien Gabriel Morice