Parks Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

National Historic Sites in the Mountain National Parks

Alexander Henry (The Younger), Person of National Historic Significance

Alexander Henry (The Younger) was commemorated as a National Historic Person in 1973 for his contributions as a Canadian fur trader in the North West Company.

Fur Trader

Henry began his career as a North West Company (NWC) fur trader and explorer in southern Manitoba in 1791. He spent the winter of 1799–1800 at a post near Fort Dauphin Mountain afterwhich, he returned to the interior, moving south from Lake Winnipeg up the Red River. On June 30, 1801, only ten years after joining the NWC, he would become a partner.

Moving west from post to post along the Alberta portion of the North Saskatchewan River, Henry along with Alexander Stewart established NWC trade at the mouth of the Columbia River in 1813, where John Jacob Astor had set up a depot. On May 22, 1814, Henry, along with Donald McTavish and five sailors, was travelling in an open boat from Fort George on the Columbia River, when the boat capsized. Henry and McTavish both drowned.

Journals

While his date and place of birth are unknown, Henry documented his fur trade travels extensively and is well known today for his detailed journals. One of the few fur traders to keep records of his life and the life of others in his contact, his journals are dated from 1799 onward, and are an excellent record from the early 19th century of the fur trade.

Although the original journal is lost, the existing copy is 1,642 pages long and has been published twice. The journal includes natural and cultural observations, meteorological tables, lists of employees, native vocabularies and detailed descriptions of the major plains tribes, especially the Cree. His accounts also include the names of the various Nakoda bands across the northern plains.

Blaeberry River

In 1811, Henry the Younger came across a river known to David Thompson as Portage Creek and named it the "Blaeberry Torrent" due to the abundant berry bushes lining its bank. "Blae," a Scots English word for "blue" has led to the river being incorrectly labelled the Blueberry River on many occasions.

The Blaeberry River is a tributary of the Columbia River in British Columbia. It rises on the south side of Howse Pass and joins the Columbia midway between the town of Golden, at the confluence of the Kicking Horse River, and the east foot of the Rogers Pass, at the head of Kinbasket Lake and the mouth of the Beaver River. It’s approximately 60 kilometres long.

Fast Fact:

Alexander Henry (the younger) carried on the name of his uncle who was also a fur trader and entrepreneur. Alexander Henry (the elder) also kept detailed journals documenting his fur trade travels.

Fast Fact:

According to the will of Alexander Henry (the younger), he left 6 children behind when he parished: three “reputable sons” born in the 1790’s and two daughters and a son, who were children of a native woman “who has been in the habit of living with me since the year 1802.”

Plaque Text:

Fur trader, explorer and diarist, Alexander Henry the younger began his career with the NorthWest Company in 1791. Ten years later he was made a partner in that firm. Trade and exploration took him from Lake Superior to the Pacific, from the Athabasca to the Missouri rivers. In 1813, the North West Company sent overland and maritime parties to establish trade at the mouth of the Columbia River and to oust its American rivals. Henry, co-leader of the overland group, drowned there the following year. His journals are an important source of information on the fur trade and Native life in the West.

Sources:

The Encyclopedia of Saskatchewan, Alexander Henry, The Younger

Parcs Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Lieux historiques nationaux dans les parcs nationaux des montagnes

Alexander Henry (le Jeune) - Personne d'importance historique nationale

Alexander Henry, dit le Jeune, a été désigné personne d’importance historique nationale en 1973 en reconnaissance de son rôle à titre de commerçant de fourrures canadien pour la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest.

Un commerçant de fourrures

Alexander Henry amorça sa carrière de commerçant de fourrures et d’explorateur pour la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest dans le sud du Manitoba en 1791. Il passa l’hiver de 1799-1800 dans un poste situé près du fort Dauphin Mountain, après quoi il retourna à l’intérieur des terres en remontant la rivière Rouge en direction sud à partir du lac Winnipeg. Le 30 juin 1801, soit dix ans seulement après être entré au service de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest, il fut reçu comme associé.

Alexander Henry se dirigea vers l’Ouest, allant de poste en poste du côté albertain de la rivière Saskatchewan Nord. En compagnie d’Alexander Stewart, il établit la traite des fourrures de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest à l’embouchure du fleuve Columbia en 1813, où John Jacob Astor avait installé un dépôt. Le 22 mai 1814, Henry quitta Fort George à bord d’une embarcation non pontée sur le fleuve Columbia, en compagnie de Donald McTavish et de cinq marins. Le bateau chavira; Henry et McTavish périrent tous deux noyés.

Ses journaux

Bien que l’on ne connaisse pas la date et le lieu de naissance d’Alexander Henry, ce dernier consigna en détail ses déplacements pour la traite des fourrures dans ses journaux, de sorte que l’on en sait beaucoup sur lui aujourd’hui. Il est l’un des rares commerçants de fourrures à avoir tenu un registre de sa vie et de la vie de personnes qu’il côtoya. Ses journaux, dont les premiers remontent à 1799, constituent d’excellentes archives sur le commerce des fourrures au début du XIXe siècle.

Même si la version originale de son journal est perdue, il en existe aujourd’hui une copie de 1 642 pages qui a été publiée deux fois. On y trouve des observations naturelles et culturelles, des tables météorologiques, des listes d’employés, des vocabulaires de langues autochtones et des descriptions détaillées des principales tribus des plaines, et surtout des Cris. Ses écrits révèlent également les noms des diverses bandes des Nakodas des plaines du Nord.

Rivière Blaeberry

En 1811, Henry le Jeune s’arrêta à une rivière que David Thompson avait appelée ruisseau Portage et il la surnomma « torrent Blaeberry » en raison de l’abondance d’arbustes fruitiers qui poussaient sur ses berges. « Blae » vient de l’anglais écossais et signifie « bleu ». Cela explique que l’on ait, à de nombreuses reprises, appelé à tort ce cours d’eau « rivière Blueberry ».

La rivière Blaeberry est un affluent du fleuve Columbia, en Colombie-Britannique. Elle s’élève du côté sud du col Howse et rejoint le Columbia à mi-chemin entre la ville de Golden, au confluent de la rivière Kicking Horse, et le pied oriental du col Rogers, à la tête du lac Kinbasket et à l’embouchure de la rivière Beaver. Elle fait près de 60 km de long.

Le saviez-vous?

Alexander Henry (le Jeune) portait le même nom que son oncle, lui aussi commerçant de fourrures et entrepreneur. Alexander Henry (l’Aîné) a également tenu des journaux détaillés de ses expéditions de traite des fourrures.

Le saviez-vous?

Selon son testament, qui a été exécuté le 15 juillet 1813, Alexander Henry (le Jeune) a laissé à sa mort 6 enfants dans le deuil : trois fils de bonne réputation, nés dans les années 1790, et deux filles et un fils qu’il a eus avec une Amérindienne « qui a pris l’habitude de vivre avec moi depuis l’an 1802 ».

Texte de la plaque :

Alexander Henry le jeune, commerçant de fourrures, explorateur et auteur d’un journal intime, se joignit à la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest en 1791 et en devint associé en 1801. Ses voyages de commerce et d’exploration le menèrent du lac Supérieur au Pacifique et de l’Athabasca au Missouri. En 1813, la Compagnie organisa deux expéditions pour établir un poste à l’embouchure du Columbia et en déloger ses concurrents américains. Henry, qui était l’un des chefs de l’expédition terrestre, s’y noya l’année suivante. Son journal constitue une importante source de renseignements sur la traite des fourrures et la vie des Amérindiens dans l’Ouest.

Sources:

The Encyclopedia of Saskatchewan, Alexander Henry, The Younger (en anglais seulement)