Parks Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

National Historic Sites in the Mountain National Parks

James Bernard Harkin, Person of National Historic Significance


James Bernard Harkin
James Bernard Harkin
© Yousef Karsh, Courtesy of the Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society

James Bernard Harkin was recognized as a person of national historic significance in 1955 for his role as the first commissioner of the National Parks of Canada and for establishing the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Early Life

Born in 1875, JB Harkin worked as a newspaper journalist as well as political secretary to Clifford Sifton, Minister of the Interior, before accepting the task of forming a national parks service in 1911. At that time, the idea of protecting significant ecosystems was relatively new and protected areas included the mountain parks now known as Banff, Jasper, Yoho, Glacier and Waterton Lakes.

Changing the Face of Conservation

As the first Commissioner of the National Parks of Canada, Harkin is known to many as "the Father of National Parks." He developed the idea of conservation in Canada, established standards for preservation, created a centralized agency to administer the parks and helped draft the National Parks Act of 1930. Commissioner from 1911 to 1936, Harkin built a system of protected areas that touched almost every province in Canada, creating 13 new protected areas. His model of what a national park should be was world-class, attracting emissaries from abroad to study his methods.

Tourism in the Parks

Harkin promoted conservation as well as enjoyment of the parks, encouraging visitors to experience their surroundings. Believing it was good for health and vitality, Harkin promoted the parks as a place where people could enjoy some of Canada’s best scenery while contributing valuable dollars to the economy. Building programs soon added roads and the facilities necessary to attract tourists, which in turn secured appropriations from the government. In 1923, he opened the first road built across the Rockies, the Banff Windermere Highway. By 1940, the completion of the Banff-Jasper Highway provided increased access for tourists. The largest project undertaken by the National Parks Branch prior to 1940, the new highways attracted international automobile traffic.

Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada

Harkin, known for his contribution to the conservation of parks, also founded the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada (HSMBC). Established in 1919, the HSMBC is an advisory board with representatives from all provinces and territories, which reviews submissions and advises the Minister of the Environment on the significance of each proposal. To be considered, a site, person or event will have had a nationally significant effect on, or illustrate a nationally important aspect of the history of Canada. Any Canadian can submit a candidate to the HSMBC for consideration.

Fast Fact:

Named in JB Harkin’s honour, the Harkin Conservation Award pays tribute to individuals who have demonstrated a lifelong contribution to the conservation of Canada’s parks and wilderness through words and deeds. Recipients of the Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society (CPAWS) award, founded in 1972, are presented with the J.B. Harkin Medal.

Fast Fact:

Named after JB Harkin, Mount Harkin stands at 2980m (9777ft.) above sea level and is located in Kootenay National Park in the Mitchell Range.

Fast Fact:

JB Harkin’s nickname was ‘Bunny’ Harkin

Plaque Text:

JAMES BERNARD HARKIN
(1875 1955)
Born in Vankleek Hill, Ontario, Harkin was named Commissioner of the recently created Dominion Parks Branch in 1911, and over a period of 25 years organized a nation-wide system of parks. A firm believer in the recreational and economic value of parkland, he directed his efforts to ensure access to the system for the greatest possible number of Canadians. Harkin was an ardent conservationist who was responsible for important advances in the field of wildlife preservation. On his advice the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada was created in 1919, and he was one of its original members.

Sources:

“J.B. HARKIN--First Commissioner of the National Parks of Canada, 1911-36,” Parks Canada Unpublished Fact Sheet

Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society, “Harkin Award"

Parcs Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Lieux historiques nationaux dans les parcs nationaux des montagnes

James Bernard Harkin - Personne d'importance historique nationale


James Bernard Harkin
James Bernard Harkin
© Yousef Karsh, Gracieuseté de la Société pour la nature et les parcs du Canada

James Bernard Harkin a été désigné personne d’importance historique nationale en 1955 pour le rôle qu’il a joué comme premier commissaire des parcs nationaux du Canada et pour la création de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Les premières années

Né en 1875, J.B. Harkin exerça le métier de journaliste et de secrétaire politique auprès de Clifford Sifton, ministre de l’Intérieur, avant d’accepter de mettre sur pied un service de parcs nationaux en 1911. À l’époque, il était relativement nouveau de vouloir protéger des écosystèmes importants, et les aires à protéger englobaient les parcs des montagnes que sont aujourd’hui les parcs nationaux Banff, Jasper et Yoho et les parcs nationaux des Glaciers et des Lacs-Waterton.

La conservation vue sous un angle nouveau

En sa qualité de premier commissaire des parcs nationaux du Canada, Harkin est souvent appelé le « père des parcs nationaux ». Il développa la notion de conservation au Canada, il fixa des normes de préservation, il mit sur pied une agence centralisée chargée d’administrer les parcs et il contribua à la rédaction de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux de 1930. Commissaire de 1911 à 1936, Harkin bâtit un réseau d’aires protégées qui s’étendait dans presque toutes les provinces du Canada, créant du coup 13 nouvelles aires protégées. Son modèle d’un parc national idéal était incomparable, et des émissaires vinrent de l’étranger pour étudier ses méthodes de travail.

Le tourisme dans les parcs

Harkin faisait la promotion de la conservation et de l’appréciation des parcs, et il encourageait les visiteurs à profiter de la nature qui les entourait. Il était d’avis que les parcs favorisaient la santé et la vitalité, et il les présenta comme des endroits où l’on pouvait admirer les plus beaux paysages du Canada et qui pouvaient avoir d’importantes retombées économiques. On ne tarda pas à aménager des routes de même que les installations nécessaires pour attirer les touristes, ce qui à son tour permit d’obtenir des crédits du gouvernement. En 1923, Harkin inaugura la première route qui traversait les Rocheuses, la route Banff-Windermere. En 1940, la route entre Banff et Jasper fut achevée, ce qui facilita l’accès aux parcs par les touristes. Ces nouvelles routes, qui constituaient alors le plus grand projet entrepris par la Direction des parcs nationaux avant 1940, attirèrent des automobilistes venus du monde entier.

Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada

Reconnu pour le rôle qu’il a joué dans la conservation des parcs, Harkin fonda également la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada (CLMHC), en 1919. La Commission est un conseil consultatif composé de représentants de toutes les provinces et de tous les territoires qui étudie les propositions qui lui sont présentées et qui conseille le ministre de l’Environnement sur leur valeur. Pour qu’il soit pris en compte, il faut que le lieu, la personne ou l’événement désigné ait eu une incidence importante sur l’histoire du Canada ou qu’il illustre un aspect important de cette histoire. Tous les Canadiens et toutes les Canadiennes sont invités à recommander la désignation d’un lieu, d’une personne ou d’un événement à la CLMHC.

Le saviez-vous?

Nommé d’après J.B. Harkin, le prix de conservation Harkin rend hommage aux personnes qui ont consacré leur vie à la conservation des parcs et des contrées sauvages du Canada, que ce soit par la parole ou par les gestes. Les récipiendaires du prix de la Société pour la nature et les parcs du Canada (SNAP), créé en 1972, reçoivent la médaille J.B. Harkin.

Le saviez-vous?

Nommé en l’honneur de J.B. Harkin, le mont Harkin s’élève à une altitude de 2 980 m au-dessus du niveau de la mer. Il fait partie du chaînon Mitchell, dans le parc national Kootenay.

Le saviez-vous?

J.B. Harkin était surnommé « Bunny » Harkin.

Texte de la plaque :

JAMES BERNARD HARKIN
(1875 1955)

Né à Vankleek Hill (Ontario), Harkin fut nommé commissaire des parcs du Dominion en 1911 et, pendant 25 ans, il organisa le réseau des parcs nationaux. Il attachait beaucoup d’importance à la valeur récréative et économique des parcs et il cherchait à en augmenter l’accessibilité pour les Canadiens. Partisan de la conservation, il suggéra de nombreuses améliorations dans le domaine de la protection de la faune. En 1919, à sa suggestion, on créa la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, dont il fut l’un des premiers membres.

Sources:

J.B. HARKIN--First Commissioner of the National Parks of Canada, 1911-36, Parcs Canada Fiche d’information non publiée

Société pour la nature et les parcs du Canada, Le prix Harkin (en anglais seulement)