Parks Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

National Historic Sites in the Mountain National Parks

John Murray Gibbon, Person of National Historic Significance

John Murray Gibbon was recognized as a Person of National Historic Significance in 1954 for being a prolific Canadian author and novelist as well as the founder of the Canadian Authors' Association.

The Early Years

John Murray Gibbon was born in Ceylon on August 12, 1875. As a young boy, he traveled to Scotland (his parents' homeland) to live with a Presbyterian minister in Aberdeen. Here he studied languages and geography, and quickly developed an interest in other cultures. He went on to attend the University of Aberdeen, and then, on scholarship, Oxford. Upon graduation, Gibbon moved to London to work as a journalist for the leftist newspaper Black and White.

CPR Ties

In 1907, Gibbon left the newspaper to work for the Canadian Pacific Railway (CPR) as their European Advertising Agent. Hired at the age of 32, Gibbon began a career with the CPR that would continue off and on for the rest of his life. One of his first jobs as advertising agent was to accompany 12 European newspaper editors on a train journey across Canada. Gibbon enjoyed the trip so much that in 1913, when Thomas Shaughnessy, president of the CPR, asked Gibbon to move to Montréal to become the General Publicity Agent for the CPR, he jumped at the opportunity.

Canadian Culture

Gibbon was intrigued by the state of Canadian national and cultural development. Noticing a trend of Canadian artists leaving for the US due to a lack of recognition, Gibbon wanted to rectify this loss. In 1921, Gibbon founded the Canadian Authors Association (CAA). Since its inception, the CAA has played a key role in the support and development of the Canadian writing community. The association is a national forum to provide insight and networking opportunities as well as copyright protection for Canadian writers. CAA went on to establish the Governor General’s Literary Awards in 1936.

Published Work

An author himself, Gibbon published two novels within five years of emmigrating to Canada, Hearts and Faces: The Adventure of the Soul (1916), a romance, and Drums Afar (1918), a story of men at war. He also published the four-volume French Canadian Folk Songs (1928) with Sir Ernest MacMillan and wrote a number of history books: Scots in Canada (1911), Steel of Empire: The Romantic History of the Canadian Pacific (1935), Canadian Mosaic (1938) and two histories of nursing.

His writings also included musical pieces. He wrote the libretto for the ballad opera Prince Charlie and Flora (1928) and his piece Melody and the Lyric won a Prix David in 1931 from the Quebec government. Gibbon also translated many French-Canadian folksongs including Le Jeu de Robin et Marion and L'Ordre de Bon Temps for the Canadian Folksong and Handicraft Festivals in Quebec (1927, 1928).

CPR Festivals

In 1926, Gibbon was tasked with organizing a celebration for the reopening of the CP owned Château Frontenac in Québec City, which had been closed due to a fire the previous year. Gibbon hired renowned French-Canadian folksinger Charles Marchand to perform traditional Québécois songs. Gibbon translated the lyrics into English and distributed them throughout the audience to accommodate both English and French attendees. The event was so successful, Gibbon translated some of Marchand's most popular material and collected it in Canadian Folk Songs (Old and New) (1927).

The CPR, impressed with the response to the opening, encouraged Gibbon to organize more events. This led to a number of festivals from 1927-30 featuring Canadian folk art and music. These festivals showed support for the arts by a major corporation and grew recognition of Canada’s musicians and artisans. The festivals continued to be held in CPR hotels across Canada, in Banff, Calgary, Quebec City, Regina, Toronto, Vancouver, Victoria, and Winnipeg.

Legacy

John Murray Gibbon Died in Montreal, Quebec, on July 2, 1952.The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada’s plaque, recognizing Gibbon as a Person of National Historic Significance, is located in Banff, Alberta, at the Banff Centre for Performing Arts.

Fast Fact:

Gibbon's work had a major impact on the idea of multiculturalism in Canada. Gibbon’s book, Canadian Mosaic, published in 1938, influenced the concept of a ‘cultural mosaic’ in the Canadian government's multiculturalism policies.

Fast Fact:

John Murray Gibbon was attributed the well-known quote, “I always suspect an artist who is successful before he is dead.”

Plaque Text:

JOHN MURRAY GIBBON
(1875-1952)

Born in Ceylon and educated in Scotland and Germany Gibbon studied painting before turning to journalism. As publicity agent for the Canadian Pacific Railway from 1913 to 1945, he combined advertising with the promotion of a Canadian identity, popularizing the image of Canadian society as a mosaic. He organized folk culture festivals and was instrumental in establishing the Trail Rider of the Canadian Rockies at Banff. A prolific author of novels, lyrics, history and social commentary, Gibbon helped found the Canadian Author Association in 1921.

Sources:

While there is Still Time...: J. Murray Gibbon and the Spectacle of Difference in Three CPR Folk Festivals, 1928-1931,” Journal of Canadian Studies, 2005, Henderson, Stuart,

Canadian Authors Association, www.canauthors.org

Parcs Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Lieux historiques nationaux dans les parcs nationaux des montagnes

John Murray Gibbon - Personne d'importance historique nationale

Auteur et écrivain canadien prolifique et fondateur de la Canadian Authors’ Association, John Murray Gibbon a été désigné personne d’importance historique nationale en 1954.

Les premières années

John Murray Gibbon est né au Sri Lanka le 12 août 1875. Alors qu’il était jeune garçon, il se rendit en Écosse (patrie de ses parents) pour vivre chez un ministre presbytérien à Aberdeen. Il y étudia les langues et la géographie et démontra rapidement un intérêt pour les autres cultures. Il étudia à l’Université d’Aberdeen puis, grâce à une bourse d’études, il alla à Oxford. Lorsqu’il obtint son diplôme, il s’établit à Londres et travailla comme journaliste pour le journal gauchiste Black and White.

Liens avec le Canadien Pacifique

En 1907, Gibbon quitta le journal pour entrer au service du Canadien Pacifique à titre d’agent de publicité européen. Embauché à l’âge de 32 ans, il entama une carrière au sein de la société ferroviaire qu’il poursuivit par intermittence jusqu’à la fin de ses jours. L’une de ses premières fonctions à titre de publicitaire fut d’accompagner douze rédacteurs en chef d’Europe qui partaient traverser le Canada en train. Gibbon aima tellement le voyage qu’il fit qu’en 1913, lorsque Thomas Shaughnessy, président du Canadien Pacifique, lui demanda de partir pour Montréal afin d’y travailler comme agent de publicité général pour la compagnie, il sauta sur l’occasion.

Culture canadienne

L’état du développement national et culturel au Canada intriguait Gibbon. Lorsqu’il constata que les artistes canadiens avaient tendance à partir vivre aux États-Unis par manque de reconnaissance, Gibbon s’attacha à remédier à la situation. En 1921, il fonda la Canadian Authors’ Association. Depuis sa création cette année-là, l’Association a joué un rôle clé pour appuyer les écrivains canadiens et favoriser leur épanouissement. Cette tribune nationale se veut une source d’information, un organisme qui crée des possibilités de réseautage et protège les droits d’auteur des écrivains canadiens. L’Association créa en 1936 les prix littéraires du Gouverneur général.

Ouvrages publiés

Lui-même écrivain, Gibbon publia deux romans dans les cinq ans qui suivirent son immigration au Canada, Hearts and Faces: The Adventure of the Soul (1916), une histoire sentimentale, et Drums Afar (1918), un roman de guerre. Il publia également French Canadian Folk Songs (1928), une œuvre en quatre volumes, avec sir Ernest MacMillan, et rédigea un certain nombre de livres sur l’histoire : Scots in Canada (1911), Steel of Empire: The Romantic History of the Canadian Pacific (1935) et Canadian Mosaic (1938) de même que deux ouvrages sur les soins infirmiers.

Il compte également parmi ses œuvres des pièces musicales, notamment le libretto pour l’opéra-ballade Prince Charlie and Flora (1928) et la pièce Melody and the Lyric, qui lui a valu en 1931 le prix David du gouvernement du Québec. Gibbon traduisit également de nombreuses chansons folkloriques canadiennes-françaises comme Le jeu de Robin et Marion et L'ordre de bon temps pour les festivals de la chanson, des danses et des métiers du terroir du Québec (1927, 1928).

Les festivals du Canadien Pacifique

En 1926, Gibbon fut chargé d’organiser une célébration à l’occasion de la réouverture du Château Frontenac de Québec, qui appartenait au Canadien Pacifique; le Château avait été fermé en raison d’un incendie survenu l’année précédente. Gibbon embaucha le chanteur populaire canadien-français Charles Marchand pour donner un spectacle de chansons traditionnelles québécoises. Il traduisit les paroles en anglais et les distribua dans l’auditoire pour les spectateurs anglophones et francophones. Le concert remporta tant de succès que Gibbon traduisit certaines des chansons les plus populaires de Marchand pour créer la collection Canadian Folk Songs (Old and New) (1927).

Impressionné par la réaction qui fut réservée à l’inauguration, le Canadien Pacifique encouragea Gibbon à organiser d’autres activités, ce qui donna lieu à un certain nombre de festivals de 1927 à 1930 qui mettaient en vedette la musique et les arts folkloriques canadiens. Ces festivals, qui témoignaient de l’appui d’une grande société pour le milieu des arts, permirent de faire reconnaître davantage les musiciens et les artistes du Canada. D’autres festivals eurent lieu dans les hôtels du Canadien Pacifique d’un bout à l’autre du Canada, soit à Banff, Calgary, Québec, Regina, Toronto, Vancouver, Victoria et Winnipeg.

Le legs de Gibbon

John Murray Gibbon est mort à Montréal, au Québec, le 2 juillet 1952. La plaque de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada qui le désigne personne d’importance historique nationale se trouve à Banff, en Alberta, au Banff Centre for Performing Arts.

Le saviez-vous?

Le travail de Gibbon a eu un impact considérable sur la notion de multiculturalisme au Canada. L’ouvrage qu’il a publié en 1938, intitulé Canadian Mosaic, a influencé le concept de la mosaïque culturelle sur lequel reposent les politiques en matière de multiculturalisme du gouvernement canadien.

Le saviez-vous?

C’est à John Murray Gibbon qu’est attribuée la citation bien connue : « Je me méfie toujours d’un artiste qui réussit avant sa mort. »

Texte de la plaque :

JOHN MURRAY GIBBON
(1875-1952)

Gibbon naquit au Sri Lanka, fit ses études en Écosse et en Allemagne et étudia la peinture avant de s’adonner au journalisme. Dans l’exercice de ses fonctions de publicitaire
pour le Canadien Pacifique, de 1913 à 1945, il se fit le propagandiste de l’identité canadienne et répandit la notion de la mosaïque culturelle canadienne. Il organisa des festivals folkloriques et contribua à établissement des Trail Riders of the Canadian Rockies à Banff. Auteur prolifique de romans, de poèmes et de commentaires historiques et sociaux, Gibbon participa à la création de la Canadian Authors’ Association en 1921.


Sources:

« While there is Still Time...: J. Murray Gibbon and the Spectacle of Difference in Three CPR Folk Festivals, 1928-1931Journal of Canadian Studies = Revue d’études canadiennes, 2005, Henderson, Stuart (en anglais seulement)

Canadian Authors Association, www.canauthors.org (en anglais seulement)