Parks Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

National Historic Sites in the Mountain National Parks

Edouard Gaston Deville, Person of National Historic Significance

Nationally Significant

Edouard Gaston Deville is recognized for his part in the Dominion survey of the newly acquired North West Territories, as well as becoming Inspector of Surveys for Canada in 1881 and Surveyor General in 1885. He was the first to perfect practical photogammetry, the making of maps based on photography. Today, Mount Deville in Yoho National Park bears his name and the E.G. Deville commemorative plaque is located in Yoho National Park near the entrance to Monarch Campground.

Deville

Born in La Charite sur Loire, Nievre, France, on February 21st, 1849, Deville attended naval school and went on to serve as a hydrographer with the French Navy. In this position, he conducted hydrographic surveys in the South Sea Islands and on the coast of Peru. In 1874, he immigrated to Canada and shortly thereafter began working as a surveyor and astronomer in Quebec, Canada. Very quickly, he rose to the province’s top surveying position, Inspector of Surveys. In 1880, he joined the Department of the Interior in Ottawa to survey homesteads and in 1881, he was appointed inspector for Dominion Land Surveys.

Photogammetry

Deville used innovative techniques to deal with the challenges of surveying Canada’s vast topography. He expanded upon French army engineer, Aimé Laussedat’s principle of elevated photography and created large-scale maps from these photographs. This special method of mapping was called photogammetry and Deville perfected the technique between 1888 and 1896 to more accurately map the Canadian Rockies.

Inventions

The photography required in photogammetry was beyond the capabilities of most photography equipment of the time. Deville designed a rugged, lightweight field camera that could be carried long distances, while still taking an accurate photo. Surveyors could take this camera to the top of a mountain, point the lens at the horizon, and take panoramic shots of the surrounding peaks. Each photo would be measured in relation to the survey station and the surrounding peaks and valleys. This produced more accurate topographical maps, was inexpensive, and allowed larger areas to be surveyed in less time than conventional surveying methods.

Surveyor General of Canada

When Lindsay Russell resigned as Surveyor General in 1885, Captain Deville’s innovation and ability in photogammetry led to his appointment to the position in March of the same year. Deville would hold the position until the early part of 1921, when he was made Director General of Surveys. In this position, he was in charge of the different surveying branches of the Department of the Interior, topographical, geodetic and international boundary surveys.

International Recognition

In 1924, Deville travelled to Rome, Italy to represent Canada at the International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics, and his expertise on mountain surveys became sought after internationally. His photogammetry technology was adopted by the Geological Survey of Canada and the International Boundary Commission. A copy of Deville’s camera and his research methods were also used to map the north slope of Mount Everest.

Deville’s Impact

During his lifetime, Canadian surveyors had used Deville’s photogammetry techniques to map 83,678 square kilometres of land. His methods were expanded with the invention of aircraft, which could carry his camera over any topography. This allowed the application of Deville’s techniques to create maps of flat, prairie land as well as mountains.

Fast Fact:

In 1905, Edouard Gaston Deville was awarded a Honourary Doctor of Laws degree from the University of Toronto.

Fast Fact:

In 1922, Edouard Gaston Deville was presented with a Gold Medal Honourary Membership to the Engineering Institute of Canada.

Sources:

Alberta’s Land Surveying History Website, “Edouard Deville,”

Natural Resources Canada website, ‘Trailblazers,”

Parcs Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Lieux historiques nationaux dans les parcs nationaux des montagnes

Édouard-Gaston Deville - Personne d'importance historique nationale

Importance nationale

Édouard Gaston Deville est reconnu en raison du rôle qu’il a joué dans les levés des terres fédérales dans les Territoires du Nord Ouest nouvellement acquis, de même que pour ses fonctions d’inspecteur des levés du Canada en 1881 et d’arpenteur général du Canada en 1885. Il a été le premier à perfectionner la photogrammétrie pratique, la fabrication de cartes basées sur la photographie. Aujourd’hui, dans le parc national Yoho, le mont Deville porte son nom et une plaque commémorative se trouve près de l’entrée du terrain de camping Monarch.

Deville

Édouard Gaston Deville est né à Charité sur Loire, dans le département de Nièvre, en France, le 21 février 1849. Après avoir fréquenté l’école navale, il s’enrôle dans la Marine française comme hydrographe. Dans ces fonctions, il doit faire des levés hydrographiques dans les îles des Mers du Sud et sur la côte du Pérou. En 1874, il a immigré au Canada et a commencé peu après à travailler comme arpenteur et astronome au Québec. Très rapidement, il a gravi les échelons jusqu’au poste supérieur d’inspecteur des levés de la province. En 1880, il a commencé à travailler au ministère de l’Intérieur, à Ottawa, pour arpenter les lots de colonisation; en 1881, il a été nommé inspecteur du Système d’arpentage des terres fédérales.

Photogrammétrie

Édouard Gaston Deville utilisait des techniques novatrices pour surmonter les difficultés de l’arpentage de la vaste topographie du Canada. Il a approfondi le principe de la photographie à haute altitude de l’ingénieur militaire français Aimé Laussedat et a créé des cartes à grande échelle à partir de ces photographies. Cette méthode particulière de cartographie était connue sous le nom de photogrammétrie et M. Deville a perfectionné la technique entre 1888 et 1896 pour cartographier les Rocheuses canadiennes avec une plus grande exactitude.

Inventions

La photographie nécessaire en photogrammétrie allait au delà des capacités de la majeure partie du matériel photographique de l’époque. M. Deville a conçu un appareil photo de terrain robuste et léger pouvant être transporté sur de longues distances, tout en prenant des photos fidèles. Les arpenteurs pouvaient transporter l’appareil au sommet d’une montagne, braquer la lentille à l’horizon et prendre des images panoramiques des sommets environnants. Chaque image était ensuite mesurée par rapport à la station d’arpentage et les pics et vallées environnants. Les arpenteurs réussissaient ainsi à obtenir des cartes topographiques plus précises, peu coûteuses, et à arpenter également des régions plus vastes en moins de temps qu’avec les méthodes traditionnelles.

Arpenteur général du Canada

Lorsque Lindsay Russell a remis sa démission d’arpenteur général en 1885, le capitaine Deville, en raison de son esprit novateur et de ses compétences en photogrammétrie, a été nommé au poste en mars de la même année. Il a occupé ce poste jusqu’au début de 1921, année au cours de laquelle il est devenu directeur général de l’arpentage. Dans ces fonctions, il était responsable des différentes directions d’arpentage du ministère de l’Intérieur, des arpentages topographiques, géodésiques et des frontières internationales.

Reconnaissance internationale

En 1924, M. Deville s’est rendu à Rome, en Italie, y représenter le Canada à l’Union Géodésique et Géophysique Internationale; ses compétences spécialisées en arpentage des montagnes ont fait sa renommée à l’échelle internationale. Sa technologie de photogrammétrie a également été adoptée par la Commission géologique du Canada et la Commission de la frontière internationale. Un exemplaire de l’appareil photo de M. Deville et ses méthodes de recherche ont aussi servi à cartographier le versant nord du mont Everest.

Influence de M. Deville

Pendant la vie de M. Deville, les arpenteurs canadiens ont utilisé ses techniques de photogrammétrie pour cartographier 83 678 kilomètres carrés de terres. L’invention des aéronefs a donné encore plus d’essor à ses méthodes, car ils pouvaient transporter son appareil sur n’importe quelle topographie. C’est ainsi que les techniques de M. Deville ont servi à dresser les cartes des prairies sans relief de même que des montagnes.

Le saviez-vous?

En 1905, Édouard Gaston Deville a obtenu un doctorat honorifique en droit de l’Université de Toronto.

Le saviez-vous?

En 1922, Édouard Gaston Deville a reçu le titre de membre honoraire médaillé d’or de l’Institut canadien des ingénieurs.

Sources :

Site Web de l’Alberta’s Land Surveying History, Edouard Deville (en anglais seulement)

Site Web de Ressources naturelles Canada, Pionniers