Parks Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

National Historic Sites in the Mountain National Parks

Kootenae House National Historic Site of Canada

Map of the National Historic Sites in the vicinity of the Mountain National Parks
Interactive Map of the National Historic Sites in the vicinity of the Mountain National Parks
© Parks Canada

Kootenae House Site Kootenae House National Historic Site
© Parks Canada


Trade with the Ktunaxa

As the fur trade spread across the West, traders expanded their territory in search of potential trading partners and new sources of fur. In the late eighteenth century, European and Canadian fur traders first encountered the Ktunaxa (Kootenay) people on the eastern slopes of the Rocky Mountains. In 1799, the North West Company established Rocky Mountain House and the Hudson’s Bay Company built Acton House on the North Saskatchewan River. The two companies hoped to serve the Ktunaxa at these posts but tribal clashes between the Peigan and the Ktunaxa hindered their attempts.

Exploration West of the Rockies

The Columbia Basin remained one of the largest, unexplored areas of North America west of the Rocky Mountains at the beginning of the nineteenth century. The Columbia River was discovered by Europeans in 1791, but remained unexplored for almost twenty years. America’s push for land led Lewis and Clark to the region in 1805-06, but they did not establish any trading posts.

Establishing Trade in the Columbia River Valley

At about the same time, the North West Company approved David Thompson’s plan to explore, map and establish trade in the Columbia Basin. In the fall of 1806, he sent an advance party under Jaco Finlay to clear the trail over Howse Pass. The following spring, fifteen years after the initial meeting with the Ktunaxa, David Thompson established Kootenae House along the Columbia River. This was the first fur trading post to be established in the Columbia Basin and the first to serve the Ktunaxa people.

David Thompson

Kootenae House was established as a trading post for the Ktunaxa people as well as a base for Thompson’s subsequent explorations and the expansion of the North West Company’s trade in the Columbia Basin. Over the next five years, (1807-1812) Thompson explored and mapped much of the Columbia Basin, encountered many First Nations groups, and established trading posts at key locations (Kootenae House, Kullyspel House, Saleesh House, and Spokane House). Throughout his journeys, Aboriginal people served as guides and provided valuable information about the land and people throughout the Columbia Basin.

Establishing Borders

Territorial competition between Americans and British-Canadians made territorial expansion to the Pacific Ocean important. Thompson reached the mouth of the Columbia in the summer of 1811, and found that the American Fur Company had built Fort Astoria just a few months earlier. Thompson returned to Montreal in 1812 but his maps, contacts, and trading posts established British claims to the region until the international boundary was formalized along the 49th parallel in 1846.

The Ktunaxa

The Ktunaxa played a critical role in the establishment and survival of traders at Kootenae House. Thompson and his party arrived in July 1807 desperately short of food and the Ktunaxa traded provisions although they had limited food supplies themselves. In their first summer at Kootenae House, the Ktunaxa advised fur traders where to construct fish weirs to harvest salmon. In addition to furs and provisions, the Ktunaxa also traded some of the their horses to the fur traders which enabled expansion of the fur trade.

First Nations

David Thompson’s explorations resulted in the establishment of a network of fur trade posts throughout the Columbia Basin. As a result, fur trading expanded in the early nineteenth century to include First Nations in southern British Columbia and in much of the current states of Montana, Idaho and Washington. The subsequent influx of fur traders, missionaries, prospectors, and settlers in the nineteenth century led to great social changes in the lives of Aboriginal groups throughout the region. The cultural dynamics and material culture of Aboriginals in the Columbia Basin was altered as guns, knives and cloth replaced more traditional items such as bows and arrows, stone knives and skin clothing.

Kootenae House Closes

Kootenae House was busiest in the first years following its establishment. Thompson wintered there in 1807-08 and 1808-09 thereafter it rapidly declined in significance. In the fall of 1810, the Peigan blocked Thompson’s return from Rocky Mountain House over Howse Pass. As an alternative route, he crossed the Rocky Mountains by way of Athabasca Pass. This led to the increasing popularity of the northern pass and while the Howse Pass route was not abandoned, its use declined drastically.

Archeolgical digs on site provided remains of the fur trade site and a glimpse of the past
Archeological digs on site provided remains of the fur trade site and a glimpse of the past
© Parks Canada

Kootenae House’s Discovery

Mr. Basil Hamilton, newspaper reporter and entrepreneur, identified the original location of Kootenae House in 1910. He based his identification on limited exploratory excavations and reference to portions of David Thompson’s journals. Hamilton had the remains of stone chimney mounds, palisade trenches and building foundations mapped by a land surveyor.

Today

Kootenae House was a declared a National Historic Site in May 1934. Today the site is marked by a stone cairn, which bears a National Historic Sites of Canada plaque. The site is located just north of Invermere, British Columbia and is administered by the Parks Canada Agency. The site of Kootenae House is situated on a grass-covered terrace, surrounded by meadows and forests and contained within the Columbia Valley. Only stone chimney mounds and below surface archaeological remains mark this once influential node of Canadian history.

Kootenae House National Historic Site Kootenae House National Historic Site of Canada
© Parks Canada
Historic Sites timeline Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site Howse Pass National Historic Site Athabasca Pass National Historic Site Kootenae House National Historic Site Yellowhead Pass National Historic Site Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site Jasper House National Historic Site Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site Fort St. James National Historic Site Kicking Horse Pass National Historic Site First Oil Well National Historic Site Skoki Ski Lodge National Historic Site Cosmic Ray Station National Historic Site Abbot Pass Refuge Cabin National Historic Site Jasper Information Centre National Historic Site Twin Falls Chalet Historic Site Yellowhead Pass National Historic Site Rogers Pass National Historic Site Banff Park Museum National Historic Site Cave and Basin National Historic Site Bar U Ranch National Historic Site

Kootenae House House National Historic Site of Canada plaque states:
In 1806 the North West Company clerk, Jaco Finlay, blazed a trail over Howse Pass from the Saskatchewan to the Columbia River. The next year, David Thompson followed this route to the Columbia, then turned up river and built Kootenae House below Windermere Lake. Using this fort as a base, he explored the upper Columbia and Kootenay rivers, and established a chain of posts on the Columbia watershed. Kootenae House was used periodically until 1812, when the hostility of the Peigans east of the pass forced its abandonment.

Fast Fact:

Two years after Basil Hamilton’s death in 1933, his wife, Mrs. A. M. Hamilton, donated the 12-acre parcel of land containing Kootenae House to the Government of Canada.

Fast Fact:

David Thompson played a great role in surveying the Columbia River Valley while at Kootenae House. After learning of the great naval battle of Trafalgar that led to the demise of victorious British Admiral Lord Horatio Nelson, Thompson named the dramatic Purcell Mountain peak that towers above Invermere, Mount Nelson.

Sources:

“Kootenae House National Historic Site of Canada Commemorative Integrity Statement,” Parks Canada, 2007

Heitzmann, Roderick J., “Kootenae House National Historic Site of Canada Archeological Inventory 2005,” Western and Northern Service Centre, Parks Canada, Calgary, 2006

Parcs Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Lieux historiques nationaux dans les parcs nationaux des montagnes

Lieu historique national du Canada Kootenae House

Carte interactif des lieux historiques national dans les environs des parcs nationaux des montagnes
Carte interactif des lieux historiques national dans les environs des parcs nationaux des montagnes
© Parcs Canada

Lieu historique national du Canada Kootenae House Lieu historique national du Canada Kootenae House
© Parcs Canada


Le commerce avec les Ktunaxas

À mesure que la traite des fourrures progressait vers l’Ouest, les commerçants agrandissaient leur territoire, à la recherche de partenaires commerciaux et de nouvelles sources d’approvisionnement en pelleteries. À la fin du XVIIIe siècle, les commerçants de fourrures européens et canadiens rencontrèrent pour la première fois les Ktunaxas (Kootenays) sur les versants est des Rocheuses. En 1799, la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest fonda le poste Rocky Mountain House sur les bords de la Saskatchewan Nord, tandis que la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson y fit construire le poste Acton House. Les deux rivales espéraient y faire des échanges avec les Ktunaxas, mais les conflits tribaux entre les Péigans et les Ktunaxas vinrent entraver leurs efforts.

L’exploration à l’ouest des Rocheuses

Au début du XIXe siècle, le bassin hydrographique du Columbia demeurait l’une des plus grandes régions inexplorées de l’Amérique du Nord à l’ouest des Rocheuses. Bien que découvert par les Européens en 1791, le fleuve Columbia ne fut exploré que près de 20 ans plus tard. Les ambitions expansionnistes des États-Unis amenèrent Lewis et Clark dans la région en 1805-1806, mais les deux explorateurs n’y établirent aucun poste de traite.

Le commerce dans la vallée du Columbia

À peu près à la même époque, la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest approuvait le projet de David Thompson, qui se proposait d’explorer le bassin du Columbia, de le cartographier et d’y établir un réseau de traite. À l’automne 1806, Thompson confia à un groupe d’éclaireurs placés sous la direction de Jaco Finlay la tâche de débroussailler une piste jusqu’à l’autre côté du col Howse. Le printemps suivant, 15 ans après la première rencontre avec les Ktunaxas, David Thompson fonda Kootenae House sur les bords du Columbia. Il s’agissait non seulement du premier poste de traite à voir le jour dans le bassin du Columbia, mais aussi du premier à faire affaire avec les Ktunaxas.

David Thompson

Le poste Kootenae House servit à la fois de centre pour les échanges commerciaux avec les Ktunaxas et de base pour les explorations subséquentes de Thompson et l’expansion du réseau de traite de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest. Au cours des cinq années qui suivirent (1807-1812), Thompson explora et cartographia une bonne partie du bassin du Columbia, rencontra de nombreux groupes autochtones et fonda des postes de traite à des endroits clés (Kootenae House, Kullyspel House, Saleesh House et Spokane House). Tout au long de ses expéditions, les Autochtones lui servirent de guides et lui fournirent des renseignements précieux sur la géographie et les habitants du bassin du Columbia.

L’établissement de la frontière

Les rivalités entre les Américains et les Britanno-Canadiens accentuèrent l’importance de l’expansion territoriale jusqu’à l’océan Pacifique. Thompson gagna l’embouchure du Columbia pendant l’été de 1811 pour y découvrir que l’American Fur Company y avait érigé le fort Astoria quelques mois plus tôt. Thompson retourna à Montréal en 1812, mais ses cartes, ses contacts et ses postes de traite permirent à l’Angleterre de prétendre à la région jusqu’en 1846, année où la frontière internationale fut officiellement tracée le long du 49e parallèle.

Les Ktunaxas

Les Ktunaxas jouèrent un rôle crucial dans l’établissement et la survie des commerçants au poste Kootenae House. À leur arrivée en juillet 1807, Thompson et ses hommes manquaient cruellement de nourriture, et les Ktunaxas échangèrent des provisions avec eux, même si leurs propres réserves étaient limitées. Pendant leur premier été à Kootenae House, les Ktunaxas leur indiquèrent les meilleurs emplacements pour l’installation de pièges à saumon. Outre des pelleteries et des provisions, les Ktunaxas troquèrent un certain nombre de leurs chevaux, ce qui permit aux commerçants de fourrures de poursuivre l’expansion de leur réseau de traite.

Les Premières nations

Les explorations de David Thompson aboutirent à la création d’un réseau de postes de traite disséminés un peu partout dans le bassin du Columbia. Le commerce des fourrures connut donc un essor au début du XIXe siècle, les échanges commerciaux se pratiquant jusqu’aux territoires des Premières nations du Sud de la Colombie-Britannique et de la majeure partie des États actuels du Montana, de l’Idaho et du Washington. L’arrivée en masse de commerçants de fourrures, de missionnaires, de prospecteurs et de colons dans les décennies qui suivirent donna lieu à de grands changements sociaux qui bouleversèrent la vie des Autochtones de la région. La dynamique culturelle et la culture matérielle des Premières nations du bassin du Columbia changèrent avec l’avènement des carabines, des couteaux et du tissu, qui vinrent remplacer des articles traditionnels tels que les arcs et les flèches, les couteaux en pierre et les vêtements en peaux.

La fermeture de Kootenae House

C’est pendant les années qui suivirent sa fondation que le poste Kootenae House connut son heure de gloire. Thompson y passa l’hiver en 1807-1808 et en 1808-1809, après quoi le poste perdit rapidement de son importance. À l’automne 1810, les Péigans bloquèrent le passage à Thompson, qui retournait du poste Rocky Mountain House par le col Howse. Pour contourner le blocus, Thompson franchit les Rocheuses par le col Athabasca. Ce passage septentrional gagna alors en popularité. Le col Howse ne fut pas entièrement abandonné, mais le nombre de voyageurs qui l’empruntèrent diminua radicalement.

Des fouilles archéologiques sur place ont mis au jour les vestiges d'un poste de traite des fourrures et ont donné un aperçu du passé.
Des fouilles archéologiques sur place ont mis au jour les vestiges d'un poste de traite des fourrures et ont donné un aperçu du passé.
© Parcs Canada

La découverte de Kootenae House

M. Basil Hamilton, journaliste et entrepreneur, trouva l’emplacement du poste Kootenae House en 1910. Pour ce faire, il se fonda sur des fouilles exploratoires limitées et sur certains extraits des journaux de David Thompson. Hamilton avait confié à un arpenteur la cartographie de monticules de pierre indiquant l’emplacement de cheminées, de tranchées de palissades et de fondations de bâtiments.

Aujourd’hui

Le poste Kootenae House fut classé lieu historique national en mai 1934. Son emplacement est marqué par un cairn en pierre orné d’une plaque de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada. Ce lieu historique est situé juste au nord d’Invermere, en Colombie-Britannique, et est administré par l’Agence Parcs Canada. Il se trouve sur une terrasse herbeuse, entourée des prés et des forêts de la vallée du Columbia. Seuls des monticules de pierre indiquant la présence de cheminées et des vestiges archéologiques enfouis témoignent de l’existence de ce poste de traite, qui joua jadis un rôle prépondérant dans l’histoire du Canada.

Lieu historique national du Canada Kootenae House Lieu historique national du Canada Kootenae House
© Parcs Canada
Histoire Rocky Mountain House Col-Howse Col-Athabasca Kootenae House Col-Yellowhead Rocky Mountain House Jasper House Rocky Mountain House Fort-St. James Col-Kicking Horse Premier Puits de Pétrole Auberge-de-Ski-Skoki Station-d’Étude-des-Rayons-Cosmiques-du-Mont-Sulphur Refuge-du-Col-Abbot Centre-d'Information-du-Parc-Jasper Salon-de-Thé-des-Chutes-Twin Col-Yellowhead Col-Rogers Musée-du-Parc-Banff Cave and Basin Ranch-Bar U

Texte de la plaque :

Jaco Finlay, de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest, traça en 1806 la route de la rivière Saskatchewan au fleuve Columbia par le col Howse. L'année suivante, David Thompson suivit ce chemin, remonta le fleuve et construisit Kootenae House près du lac Windermere. De ce fort, il partit en exploration par le fleuve et la rivière Kootenay et établit une chaîne de postes sur le cours du Columbia. L'hostilité des Piégans amena l'abandon en 1812 de Kootenae House.

Le saviez-vous?

Deux ans après le décès de Basil Hamilton en 1933, sa femme, Mme A. M. Hamilton, fit don au gouvernement du Canada de la parcelle de 12 acres qui abritait autrefois le poste Kootenae House.

Le saviez-vous?

Pendant son séjour au poste Kootenae House, David Thompson accomplit une importante mission, l’arpentage de la vallée du Columbia. Ayant eu vent de la grande bataille navale de Trafalgar, où lord Horatio Nelson trouva la mort, Thompson baptisa en l’honneur de ce valeureux amiral de la Marine britannique l’imposant pic de la chaîne Purcell qui domine Invermere.

Sources:

Énoncé d’intégrité commémorative du lieu historique national du Canada Kootenae House, Parcs Canada, 2007

Heitzmann, Roderick J., Kootenae House National Historic Site of Canada Archeological Inventory 2005, Centre de services de l’Ouest et du Nord, Parcs Canada, Calgary, 2006