Parks Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

National Historic Sites in the Mountain National Parks

Kicking Horse Pass National Historic Site of Canada

Map of the National Historic Sites in the vicinity of the Mountain National Parks
Interactive Map of the National Historic Sites in the vicinity of the Mountain National Parks
© Parks Canada

Steam Train with plough Steam Train with plough
© Canadian Pacific Archives


Designated a National Historic Site in 1971, Kicking Horse Pass played an important role in connecting Canadians to each other and the world.

Uniting the Country

Prime Minister John A. Macdonald promised British Columbia a connection to the railway within ten years of the date they joined confederation in 1871. Finally in place in 1885, the railway stretched across rugged terrain, connecting the country from coast to coast and increasing the ease of transportation for people, supplies and ideas. The railway represented the unification of the country as well as linking Canada to international communication and commerce at both coasts.

The Last Spike in Craigallachie, Eagle Pass
The Last Spike in Craigallachie, Eagle Pass
© Canadian Pacific Archives

The Surveyors

Met with the challenge of continuing the railway through the Rocky Mountains, the CPR hired surveyors to find a route through the daunting mountain range to reach BC.

Walter Moberly

Walter Moberly was hired by the CPR in 1871 to secure a route for the railway. He discovered Eagle Pass in the Monashee Mountains. Moberly believed a southern route was best and this discovery solved part of the puzzle. The CPR’s Chief Engineer, Sanford Fleming, disagreed and asked Moberly to abandon his route and head north to survey the Yellowhead Pass in 1872.

John Macoun

John Macoun, a Canadian naturlist, met Sanford Fleming in 1872. Fleming asked Macoun to participate in his expedition to the Pacific of 1872, to determine the best route for the railway as well as the agricultural potential of the west.

John Macoun petitioned the CPR to use Kicking Horse Pass since it meant that the railroad would pass through more fertile prairie lands and be a more direct route closer to the American border. His reasoning appealed to the Governors and they abandoned the investments they’d spent on the Yellowhead Pass, returning to the area Moberly had first recommended. The new route would shorten the western section of the railway but would leave a second range of mountains to negotiate beyond the Rockies known as the Selkirks.

Albert Bowman Rogers

Albert Bowman Rogers was hired to search the Selkirk mountain range for a suitable route. Promised $5,000 dollars and naming rights if he could find a pass, Rogers scoured Moberly’s notes for information on the previously impassable range. He soon discovered what is now known as Rogers Pass. With a route available through the Selkirks, construction began, leading the railway through Kicking Horse Pass and Rogers Pass en route to British Columbia’s coastline.

Difficulties of Construction

Many workers lost their lives in the construction of the railroad
Many workers lost their lives in the construction of the railroad
© Canadian Pacific Archives

Once the railway reached the Kicking Horse Pass in 1884, construction slowed immensely. As funds were running low and time constraints were looming, the CPR decided to build a temporary line over Mount Stephen.

The steep descent from Wapta Lake to the base of Mount Stephen required a gradient of 4.5%, 4 times steeper than the average rail grade at the time. Trains loaded down with heavy dining and sleeping cars could not be pulled through the mountains, creating a need for stopping places such as Mount Stephen House and Glacier House.

The Human Impact

CPR’s workers were mostly immigrants from Europe or China making less than $2 a day. Immigrant workers were paid less and expected to do more dangerous jobs such as clearing the route. As dynamite was more expensive, construction crews used nitro-glycerin, a less stable explosive, to do the blasting. Many lost their lives and those who survived, lived in squalor trying to subsist on such meagre pay.

Amazing Feats

Building the railway was dangerous and labour intensive, requiring determination and courage. Completion of a transcontinental railway would not have been possible without awesome engineering and human feats. For a country with such a small population, limited capital, and difficult terrain to build the longest railway ever constructed at the time was a testament to Canada’s willpower.

Manually laying rail ties to connect Canada's first transcontinental railroad.
Manually laying rail ties to connect Canada's first transcontinental railroad.
© Canadian Pacific Archives

Spiral Tunnels

The steep grade of the railway through Kicking Horse Pass led to frequent accidents and expensive engines. In 1909, the CPR developed an alternative route, the Spiral Tunnels. The chosen route for the tunnels consisted of three-quarter circles driven into the valley walls.

The higher tunnel was about a thousand yards in length and ran south of the original track, under Cathedral Mountain. From here, the railway looped through the mountain, doubled back, and emerged, running beneath itself fifty feet lower.

Descending the valley side in almost the opposite direction before crossing the Kicking Horse River, the lower tunnel passed through Mount Ogden. This tunnel was a few yards shorter than the first, but the descent was nearly the same.

Spiral Tunnels
Spiral Tunnels
© Canadian Pacific Archives

From the lower tunnel, the railway continues toward Field and on to Rogers Pass and interior B.C. The tunnels doubled the length of the climb, but reduced the gradient of descent to 2.2%.

The Spiral Tunnels enabled the CPR to continue hauling dining and sleeping cars, eliminating the need for Mount Stephen House and Glacier House

Kicking Horse Pass Today

Kicking Horse Pass is the highest point on the Canadian Pacific Railway, at an elevation of 5,338 feet (1,627 m). As transportation methods changed, the use of the pass evolved. Built in 1962, the Trans-Canada Highway follows parts of the original route the CPR used in the 1880s. The Spiral Tunnels viewpoint is a very popular destination along the highway to view trains as they loop through the pass.

CPR Train CPR Train
© Parks Canada
Historic Sites timeline Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site Howse Pass National Historic Site Athabasca Pass National Historic Site Kootenae House National Historic Site Yellowhead Pass National Historic Site Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site Jasper House National Historic Site Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site Fort St. James National Historic Site Kicking Horse Pass National Historic Site First Oil Well National Historic Site Skoki Ski Lodge National Historic Site Cosmic Ray Station National Historic Site Abbot Pass Refuge Cabin National Historic Site Jasper Information Centre National Historic Site Twin Falls Chalet Historic Site Yellowhead Pass National Historic Site Rogers Pass National Historic Site Banff Park Museum National Historic Site Cave and Basin National Historic Site Bar U Ranch National Historic Site

Kicking Horse Pass National Historic Site of Canada plaque states:
First recorded in the report of the Palliser expedition of 1857-60, this pass takes its name from an incident in which Dr. James Hector, surgeon to the expedition, was kicked by his horse while exploring in this vicinity. The pass was virtually unused until after 1881 when the Canadian Pacific Railway decided to adopt it as their new route through the Rockies, foregoing the earlier preference for the more northerly Yellowhead Pass. This decision altered the location of the line across western Canada and dramatically affected the development of the West.

Fast Fact:

Kicking Horse Pass and the adjacent river were named by James Hector of Captain John Palliser’s expedition in 1858. Hector, a naturalist, biologist, and doctor on the expedition, was kicked by his horse while crossing the pass.

Fast Fact:

In 1989, the Canadian Heritage Rivers System Board recognized the Kicking Horse River as a Canadian Heritage River. The designation recognized the heritage values of geology and earth history, exploration and transportation history, and scenic and recreational values.

Sources:

Canadian Pacific Railway, “Our History,” www.cpr.ca

Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online, Albert Bowman Rogers, www.biographi.ca

Parcs Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Lieux historiques nationaux dans les parcs nationaux des montagnes

Lieu historique national du Canada du Col-Kicking Horse

Carte interactif des lieux historiques national dans les environs des parcs nationaux des montagnes
Carte interactif des lieux historiques national dans les environs des parcs nationaux des montagnes
© Parcs Canada

Train à vapeur avec chasse neige Train à vapeur avec chasse neige
© Archives Pacifique Canadien


Désigné lieu historique national en 1971, le col Kicking Horse a joué un rôle important puisqu’il a permis de mettre les Canadiens en contact entre eux et avec le monde.

Unir le pays

Le premier ministre John A. Macdonald promit à la province de la Colombie-Britannique qu’elle serait reliée au reste du Canada par une voie ferrée dans les dix ans suivant la signature de la Confédération, en 1871. Achevée en 1885, la voie ferrée traversait un relief escarpé pour relier le pays d’un océan à l’autre et faciliter le transport des gens, des marchandises et des idées. Symbole de l’unité du pays, la voie ferrée favorisait l’ouverture du Canada vers les communications internationales et le commerce aux deux côtes.

Le dernier crampon, Craigallachie, col Eagle
Le dernier crampon, Craigallachie, col Eagle
© Archives Pacifique Canadien

Les arpenteurs

Devant le défi que représentait la construction de la voie ferrée dans les Rocheuses, le Canadien Pacifique chargea des arpenteurs de trouver un passage à travers l’imposante chaîne de montagnes afin d’arriver à la Colombie-Britannique.

Walter Moberly

Walter Moberly fut embauché par le Canadien Pacifique en 1871 pour trouver un passage qui conviendrait au chemin de fer. Il découvrit le col Eagle dans la chaîne de Monashee (qui fait partie du col Kicking Horse), qu’il croyait la meilleure route. L’ingénieur en chef du Canadien Pacifique, Sanford Fleming, n’était pas d’accord et demanda à Walter Moberly d’abandonner sa route et de se diriger vers le nord pour arpenter le col Yellowhead, en 1872.

John Macoun

John Macoun, un naturaliste canadien, fit la rencontre de Sanford Fleming en 1872, qui l’invita à participer à son expédition vers le Pacifique la même année en vue de trouver le meilleur passage pour le chemin de fer de même que pour explorer le potentiel agricole de l’Ouest.

John Macoun se rendit compte que le col Kicking Horse passait par une région plus fertile qui menait plus directement à la frontière américaine, et il enjoignit le Canadien Pacifique de faire passer la voie ferrée par ce col. Ses justifications plurent aux gouverneurs, qui abandonnèrent les investissements qu’ils avaient consacrés dans le col Yellowhead, pour revenir au secteur que Walter Moberly avait d’abord recommandé. Le nouveau passage permettait de raccourcir la portion occidentale de la voie ferrée, mais laissait une deuxième chaîne de montagnes à négocier au-delà des Rocheuses. Il s’agissait de la chaîne de Selkirk.

Albert Bowman Rogers

Albert Bowman Rogers fut embauché pour trouver un passage convenable dans la chaîne de Selkirk. On lui promit la somme de 5 000 dollars et le droit de nommer le col s’il arrivait à en trouver un. Il parcourut les notes de Moberly pour y trouver de l’information sur le col auparavant infranchissable. Il eut tôt fait de découvrir le col qui porte maintenant le nom de col Rogers. Fort d’un passage praticable dans la chaîne de Selkirk, le Canadien Pacifique put poursuivre la construction de la voie ferrée par le col Kicking Horse et le col Rogers jusqu’à la côte de la Colombie-Britannique.

Une construction difficile

De nombreux travailleurs ont perdu la vie pendant la construction du chemin de fer.
De nombreux travailleurs ont perdu la vie pendant la construction du chemin de fer.
© Archives Pacifique Canadien

Une fois que la voie ferrée atteignit le col Kicking Horse en 1884, la construction ralentit énormément. Comme ses réserves de fonds diminuaient et que les contraintes de temps le pressaient, le Canadien Pacifique prit la décision de bâtir une ligne temporaire par le mont Stephen.

La descente en pente raide depuis le lac Wapta jusqu’au pied du mont Stephen exigeait une inclinaison de 4,5 p. 100, ce qui était 4 fois plus abrupt que l’inclinaison moyenne des voies ferrées à l’époque. Les trains surchargés de lourdes voitures-restaurants et voitures-lits ne pouvaient pas être tirés à travers les montagnes, d’où la nécessité d’aménager des arrêts comme Mount Stephen House et Glacier House.

L’élément humain

Les cheminots du Canadien Pacifique étaient pour la plupart des immigrants d’Europe ou de la Chine qui gagnaient moins de 2 $ par jour; ils étaient moins bien rémunérés que les autres ouvriers et on attendait d’eux qu’ils exécutent les travaux les plus dangereux, comme le dégagement de la route. Comme la dynamite était plus coûteuse, les équipes de construction se servaient de nitroglycérine, un explosif moins stable, pour le dynamitage. Nombre de personnes périrent, et celles qui survécurent vivaient dans des conditions sordides avec un salaire de crève-faim.

De grands exploits

La construction de la voie ferrée n’était pas sans danger, sans compter la main-d’œuvre qu’il fallut y affecter et la détermination et le courage qu’elle nécessita. La voie ferrée transcontinentale n’aurait pu être achevée sans d’extraordinaires exploits techniques et humains. Dans un pays ayant une si petite population, très peu de capitaux et un relief escarpé, la construction de la voie ferrée la plus longue de l’époque témoignait de la volonté du Canada.

Pose manuelle des rails pour relier le premier chemin de fer transcontinental du Canada.
Pose manuelle des rails pour relier le premier chemin de fer transcontinental du Canada.
© Archives Pacifique Canadien

Les tunnels en spirale

La forte inclinaison du chemin de fer qui passait par le col Kicking Horse causait beaucoup d’accidents et nécessitait des locomotives coûteuses. En 1909, le Canadien Pacifique aménagea alors une autre route. Il s’agissait des tunnels en spirale, qui consistaient en une succession de trois quart de cercles à flanc de montagne, un exploit d’ingénierie incomparable encore aujourd’hui.

Le tunnel supérieur mesurait environ 1 km de long et se trouvait au sud de la voie originale, en contrebas du mont Cathedral. De cet endroit, la voie ferrée décrivait une boucle dans la montagne pour revenir sur ses pas et ressortir 15 m plus bas.

Le tunnel inférieur quant à lui traversait le mont Ogden et descendait la vallée dans la direction quasi opposée avant de franchir la rivière Kicking Horse. Ce tunnel était plus court de quelques mètres que le premier, mais il traçait pratiquement le même parcours de descente.

Les tunnels en spirale
Tunnels en spirale
© Archives Pacifique Canadien

Du tunnel inférieur, la voie ferrée poursuivait sa route vers Field puis vers le col Rogers et l’intérieur de la Colombie-Britannique. Les tunnels doublaient la longueur de l’ascension mais venaient réduire la pente à 2,2 %.

Les tunnels en spirale permirent au Canadien Pacifique de continuer de tirer des voitures-restaurants et des voitures-lits, ce qui rendit inutile la présence de Mount Stephen House et Glacier House.

Le col Kicking Horse aujourd’hui

À une altitude de 1 627 m, le col Kicking Horse est encore aujourd’hui le point le plus élevé du chemin de fer du Canadien Pacifique. L’usage que l’on faisait du col changea au gré de l’évolution des modes de transport. Construite en 1962, la Transcanadienne suit le parcours initial de la voie ferrée qui était utilisée dans les années 1880. Le belvédère des Tunnels-en-Spirale est une destination très fréquentée en bordure de la route, où les touristes ont l’occasion d’observer les trains qui décrivent des boucles pour franchir le col et s’imaginer le labeur requis pour aménager ce couloir de transport.

Train du Canadien Pacifique Train du Canadien Pacifique
© Parcs Canada
Histoire Rocky Mountain House Col-Howse Col-Athabasca Kootenae House Col-Yellowhead Rocky Mountain House Jasper House Rocky Mountain House Fort-St. James Col-Kicking Horse Premier Puits de Pétrole Auberge-de-Ski-Skoki Station-d’Étude-des-Rayons-Cosmiques-du-Mont-Sulphur Refuge-du-Col-Abbot Centre-d'Information-du-Parc-Jasper Salon-de-Thé-des-Chutes-Twin Col-Yellowhead Col-Rogers Musée-du-Parc-Banff Cave and Basin Ranch-Bar U

Texte de la plaque :

LE COL DU CHEVAL-QUI-RUE

Enregistré pour la première fois dans le rapport de l’expédition Palliser, le col doit son nom à la ruade que James Hector, chirurgien de l’expédition, reçut pendant qu’il explorait la région avoisinante. Le passage fut peu fréquenté jusqu’en 1881, date à laquelle le Canadien Pacifique l’adopta pour sa route à travers les Rocheuses, de préférence au col de la Tête-Jaune plus au nord et d’abord choisi. Cette décision a changé le tracé du chemin de fer dans l’Ouest et, par conséquent, a grandement marqué le développement de la région.

Fait éclair :

Le col Kicking Horse (le col du cheval qui rue) et la rivière qui le jouxte ont été nommés par James Hector, qui participa à l’expédition menée par le capitaine John Palliser en 1858. James Hector, naturaliste, biologiste et chirurgien de l’expédition, reçut une ruade de son cheval lors de la traversée du col.

Fait éclair :

En 1989, la Commission du Réseau des rivières du patrimoine canadien a désigné la rivière Kicking Horse rivière du patrimoine canadien pour souligner les valeurs patrimoniales que représentent la géologie et l’histoire de la terre, l’exploration et l’histoire des transports, de même que le paysage et les valeurs récréatives de l’endroit.

Sources:

Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique, Survol historique, www.cpr.ca

Dictionnaire biographique du Canada en ligne, Albert Bowman Rogers, www.biographi.ca