Parks Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

National Historic Sites in the Mountain National Parks

Jasper Park Information Centre National Historic Site of Canada

Map of the National Historic Sites in the vicinity of the Mountain National Parks
Interactive Map of the National Historic Sites in the vicinity of the Mountain National Parks
© Parks Canada

Jasper Park Information Centre Jasper Park Information Centre
© Parks Canada

Commemoration

In 1992, the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada (HSMBC) accepted a recommendation by its Historic Buildings Committee, that 6 buildings “constructed in the Rustic Design Tradition” should be commemorated by means of a plaque. One of these buildings was the Jasper Park Information Centre, which is an exemplary example of the Rustic Design Tradition.

Along with the Jasper Park Information Centre, the Abbot Pass Refuge Cabin, Skoki Ski Lodge, Twin Falls Tea House, the East Gate Registration Building and the Prince of Wales Hotel all illustrate a wide variety of historical themes associated with rustic buildings within national parks. Prominent among these themes are tourism development, outdoor recreation, private/public ownership in parks and federal make-work projects.

Jasper Park Information Centre National Historic Site, circa 1927.
Jasper Park Information Centre National Historic Site, circa 1927.
© Jasper Yellowhead Museum

Landmark

The Jasper Park Information Centre, built in 1913-14, is one of the earliest and finest examples of rustic design in the national parks. Designed by Edmonton architect, A. M. Calderon, the Jasper Park Information Centre was intended to serve as a landmark and focal point for the town. Built in the Rustic Design Tradition utilizing locally quarried stone and timber, the building set a design example for subsequent construction within the townsite. This vision of a unified architectural theme within the park was novel when first expressed by S. Maynard Rogers, Jasper’s first park superintendent.

Jasper Park Information Centre National Historic Site, circa 1927.
Jasper Park Information Centre National Historic Site, circa 1927.
© Jasper Yellowhead Museum

Uses Through the Years

The Jasper Park Information Centre is symbolic of park and federal presence in Jasper. Since it was built, almost a century ago, the building has provided a continuing park function and is still a park contact point for information on services and opportunities within the national park.

Jasper Park Information Centre
Jasper Park Information Centre
© Parks Canada

The Jasper Park Information Centre housed numerous facilities during its first several decades of use. The ground floor contained various administrative offices and, until 1936, the superintendent’s living quarters. The upper floor accommodated a museum, library and drafting room, while the partial basement housed the furnace, storage rooms and a fish hatchery, which remained in place until 1941. From 1931 until 1972, the building was primarily dedicated to administrative offices. For the last 30 years, it has functioned as the park’s information centre and offices for the park’s interpretive staff.

Jasper Park Information Centre
Jasper Park Information Centre
© Parks Canada
Historic Sites timeline Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site Howse Pass National Historic Site Athabasca Pass National Historic Site Kootenae House National Historic Site Yellowhead Pass National Historic Site Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site Jasper House National Historic Site Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site Fort St. James National Historic Site Kicking Horse Pass National Historic Site First Oil Well National Historic Site Skoki Ski Lodge National Historic Site Cosmic Ray Station National Historic Site Abbot Pass Refuge Cabin National Historic Site Jasper Information Centre National Historic Site Twin Falls Chalet Historic Site Yellowhead Pass National Historic Site Rogers Pass National Historic Site Banff Park Museum National Historic Site Cave and Basin National Historic Site Bar U Ranch National Historic Site

Jasper Park Information Centre National Historic Site of Canada plaque states:
This building is one of the finest and most influential examples of rustic architecture in Canada's national parks. Designed by A. M. Calderon and completed in 1914, it introduced a building tradition based on the use of local construction materials, in this case cobblestone and timber. The facility originally housed park administrative offices, a museum, and living quarters for the park superintendent. As the first major building in the townsite, it helped to define the character of Jasper's early development and provided a conspicuous landmark that greeted visitors upon their arrival by train.

Fast Fact:

JA. M. Calderon, the architect of the building also designed the Bank of Commerce Building on the edge of Athabasca Park.

Fast Fact:

There are a number of other heritage buildings in Jasper, including the CN Station, Superintendent’s Residence, Jackman Residence, RCMP Detachment Building (now the Jasper Library), the Jasper Fire Hall, the Post Office and other significant residential and commercial structures, which are recorded on the Jasper Townsite’s Heritage List.

Sources:

“Jasper Park Information Centre National Historic Site of Canada Commemorative Integrity Statement,” Parks Canada, 2000

Parcs Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Lieux historiques nationaux dans les parcs nationaux des montagnes

Lieu historique national du Canada du Centre-d’Information-du-Parc-Jasper

Carte interactif des lieux historiques national dans les environs des parcs nationaux des montagnes
Carte interactif des lieux historiques national dans les environs des parcs nationaux des montagnes
© Parcs Canada

Centre-d’Information-du-Parc-Jasper Centre-d’Information-du-Parc-Jasper
© Parcs Canada

Commémoration

En 1992, la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada (CLMHC) accepta la recommandation de son comité des bâtiments historiques, soit celle d’ériger des plaques pour mettre en valeur six bâtiments construits dans la tradition rustique. L’un de ces bâtiments était le Centre d’information du parc Jasper, un exemple exceptionnel de ce style d’architecture.

Tout comme le Centre d’information du parc Jasper, le refuge du Col-Abbot, l’auberge de ski Skoki, le salon de thé des Chutes-Twin, le Centre d’inscription de l’entrée est et l’hôtel Prince of Wales illustrent tous une vaste gamme de thèmes historiques associés à l’architecture rustique dans les parcs nationaux. Parmi ces thèmes figurent le développement du tourisme, les loisirs de plein air, la propriété privée et publique dans les parcs et les projets fédéraux de création d’emploi.

Le lieu historique national du Canada du Centre-d'information-du-Parc-Jasper, vers 1927
Le lieu historique national du Canada du Centre-d'information-du-Parc-Jasper, vers 1927
© Jasper Yellowhead Museum

Point de repère

Construit en 1913-1914, le Centre d’information du parc Jasper est l’un des premiers et des meilleurs exemples d’architecture rustique – style faisant appel à des matériaux locaux, tels que le bois et la pierre – dans les parcs nationaux. Conçu par A. M. Calderon, architecte d’Edmonton, le bâtiment se voulait à la fois un point de repère et le centre névralgique de la ville, et il servit d’exemple pour la construction d’autres bâtiments dans le lotissement urbain. Cette vision d’un thème architectural unifié dans le parc fit sensation lorsqu’elle fut introduite par S. Maynard Rogers, premier directeur du parc national Jasper

Le lieu historique national du Canada du Centre-d'information-du-Parc-Jasper, vers 1927
Le lieu historique national du Canada du Centre-d'information-du-Parc-Jasper, vers 1927
© Jasper Yellowhead Museum

De multiples usages au fil des ans

Le Centre d’information symbolise la présence de l’administration du parc et du gouvernement fédéral à Jasper. Depuis sa construction, il y a près d’un siècle, le bâtiment a toujours exercé une fonction d’appui au parc, et il demeure un carrefour où les visiteurs peuvent obtenir des renseignements sur les possibilités et les services offerts dans le parc national.

Centre-d’Information-du-Parc-Jasper
Centre-d’Information-du-Parc-Jasper
© Parcs Canada

Le Centre d’information du parc Jasper logea de nombreuses installations pendant ses premières décennies d’existence. Le rez-de-chaussée abrita divers bureaux administratifs, et, jusqu’en 1936, le logement du directeur. L’étage accueillit un musée, une bibliothèque et une salle de dessin, tandis que le sous-sol partiel renferma une chaufferie, des salles de rangement et, jusqu’en 1941, une écloserie. De 1931 à 1972, le bâtiment servit principalement à loger des bureaux administratifs. Depuis 30 ans, c’est là que sont réunis le centre d’accueil et les bureaux du personnel d’interprétation du parc.

Centre-d’Information-du-Parc-Jasper
Centre-d’Information-du-Parc-Jasper
© Parcs Canada
Histoire Rocky Mountain House Col-Howse Col-Athabasca Kootenae House Col-Yellowhead Rocky Mountain House Jasper House Rocky Mountain House Fort-St. James Col-Kicking Horse Premier Puits de Pétrole Auberge-de-Ski-Skoki Station-d’Étude-des-Rayons-Cosmiques-du-Mont-Sulphur Refuge-du-Col-Abbot Centre-d'Information-du-Parc-Jasper Salon-de-Thé-des-Chutes-Twin Col-Yellowhead Col-Rogers Musée-du-Parc-Banff Cave and Basin Ranch-Bar U

Texte de la plaque :

LE CENTRE D'INFORMATION DE JASPER

Ce bâtiment est l'un des plus beaux et des plus importants exemples d'architecture rustique dans les parcs nationaux du Canada. Conçu par A.M. Calderon et achevé en 1914, il marqua le début d'une tradition d'utilisation de matériaux de construction locaux, ici des galets et du bois. Il abritait à l'origine les bureaux de l'administration du parc, le logement du directeur et un musée. Premier bâtiment d'importance construit dans le lotissement, il a influencé le développement subséquent de Jasper. Il offrait par ailleurs un point de repère bien en vue aux visiteurs arrivant en train.

Le saviez-vous?

A. M. Calderon, architecte du bâtiment, conçut également le bâtiment Bank of Commerce, situé en bordure du parc Athabasca.

Le saviez-vous?

Jasper renferme plusieurs autres bâtiments du patrimoine, dont la gare du CN, la résidence du directeur, la résidence Jackman, le bâtiment du détachement de la GRC (qui abrite aujourd’hui la bibliothèque de Jasper), la caserne des pompiers, le bureau de poste ainsi que d’autres constructions résidentielles et commerciales importantes qui figurent sur la liste des bâtiments du patrimoine de Jasper.

Sources:

Énoncé d’intégrité commémorative du lieu historique national du Canada du Centre-d’Information-du-Parc-Jasper, Parcs Canada, 2000