Parks Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

National Historic Sites in the Mountain National Parks

Howse Pass National Historic Site of Canada

Map of the National Historic Sites in the vicinity of the Mountain National Parks
Interactive Map of the National Historic Sites in the vicinity of the Mountain National Parks
© Parks Canada

View of Howse Pass from Saskatchewan Crossing Viewpoint View of Howse Pass from Saskatchewan Crossing Viewpoint
© Parks Canada


Cultural Landscapes

In 1971, on the advice of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada (HSMBC), the Minister responsible designated six mountain passes as being of national historic significance. In 1978, a seventh pass was designated - Howse Pass in the Rocky Mountains.

Fur Trade Expansion

By 1800, fur traders were searching for new trade partners and lands not yet exhausted by a century and a half of trapping, as was the case with many of the areas east of the mountains. John McDonald and Duncan McGillivray were building North West Company posts along the North Saskatchewan River throughout the 1790s and heard stories of a tribe living west of the mountains, in the Columbia River Valley, the Kootenay, now known as the Ktunaxa.

With the aim of providing a trade centre for the Ktunaxa, McDonald established Rocky Mountain House in 1799 on the headwaters of the North Saskatchewan River. McGillivray and experienced trader and cartographer David Thompson, soon joined him and sought to discover a route across the Rockies to reach the Columbia River Valley.

Transportation Corridor

Howse Pass was part of the ‘Kootenay Trail’ linking the eastern slope of the Rockies with the Columbia Valley, a traditional Aboriginal transportation route for many years. This route was most likely used from the 18th century onwards by the Ktunaxa to gain access to the buffalo herds on the plains east of the mountains.

In 1807, David Thompson and a North West Company party traversed the pass, and established Kootenae House in the Columbia River Valley to provide easier trade with the Ktunaxa. Joseph Howse, the Hudson's Bay Company employee after whom the pass is named, first crossed in 1809. Both companies established trading posts along the Columbia River Valley, and used Howse Pass until 1810.

The approach to Howse Pass
The approach to Howse Pass
© Parks Canada

Fur Trade and Aboriginal People

The influence of the fur trade on First Nations peoples in the region altered the culture of warfare and tribal relationships. The sudden introduction of guns and trade goods transformed the balance of power between the Pikani and the Ktunaxa. After 1810, Howse Pass was eclipsed by Athabasca Pass. European traders travelled the more northerly Athabasca to avoid hostile Pikani seeking to block trade with their rivals. Athabasca Pass became the fur-trading route of choice across the Rocky Mountains from 1811 to 1854.

A view of Howse Pass from the Saskatchewan Crossing Viewpoint on the Icefields Parkway A view of Howse Pass from the Saskatchewan Crossing Viewpoint on the Icefields Parkway
© Parks Canada

Location

Howse Pass is located on the border of British Columbia and Alberta. Beginning at the junction of the Saskatchewan and Howse rivers, it follows the Howse River to the confluence of the Freshfield, Forbes and Conway Creeks, to the Alberta-British Columbia border. From there it continues through Crown lands controlled by the Province of British Columbia to the junction of the Blaeberry River and Cairnes Creek. The pass can be reached by hiking 26 km west from the Icefields Parkway (Highway 93 North).

Historic Sites timeline Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site Howse Pass National Historic Site Athabasca Pass National Historic Site Kootenae House National Historic Site Yellowhead Pass National Historic Site Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site Jasper House National Historic Site Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site Fort St. James National Historic Site Kicking Horse Pass National Historic Site First Oil Well National Historic Site Skoki Ski Lodge National Historic Site Cosmic Ray Station National Historic Site Abbot Pass Refuge Cabin National Historic Site Jasper Information Centre National Historic Site Twin Falls Chalet Historic Site Yellowhead Pass National Historic Site Rogers Pass National Historic Site Banff Park Museum National Historic Site Cave and Basin National Historic Site Bar U Ranch National Historic Site

Howse Pass House National Historic Site of Canada plaque states:
This pass, which links the North Saskatchewan and Columbia river systems, was known to the Aboriginal peoples of the area long before the arrival of the Europeans. It was probably used from the 18th century onwards by Ktunaxa (Kootenay) people to gain access to the buffalo herds on the plains east of the mountains. In 1807, David Thompson and a North West Company party traversed the pass which was used by the Canadian fur traders until 1810 to explore and establish posts west of the Rockies. Joseph Howse, the Hudson's Bay Company employee after whom the pass is named, first crossed it in 1809.

Fast Fact:

After his initial crossing of Howse Pass in 1807, David Thompson established a number of trading posts in the Columbia River drainage of present day British Columbia, Montana, Idaho and Washington including Kootanae House, Kullyspel House, Saleesh House, and Spokane House. This gave the northern traders the edge over the Hudson’s Bay Company in terms of establishing firm trade relations within these areas.

Fast Fact:

Howse Pass is one of several national historic sites related to the fur trade. It is most closely associated thematically with Athabasca Pass, Yellowhead Pass, Henry House, Jasper House, Fort St. James, and Fort Langley National Historic Sites of Canada.

Sources:

Payne, Michael, “The Fur Trade on the Upper Athabasca River 1810 – 1910,” Western and Northern Service Centre, Parks Canada, 2004

Parcs Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Lieux historiques nationaux dans les parcs nationaux des montagnes

Lieu historique national du Canada du Col-Howse

Carte interactif des lieux historiques national dans les environs des parcs nationaux des montagnes
Carte interactif des lieux historiques national dans les environs des parcs nationaux des montagnes
© Parcs Canada

Vue du col Howse depuis le belvédère de Saskatchewan Crossing Vue du col Howse depuis le belvédère de Saskatchewan Crossing
© Parcs Canada


Paysages culturels

En 1971, suivant les conseils de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada (CLMHC), le ministre responsable accorda à six cols de montagne le statut de lieux d’importance historique nationale. En 1978, un septième col obtint la même désignation : le col Howse, dans les Rocheuses.

Expansion de la traite des fourrures

En 1800, les commerçants de fourrures cherchaient de nouveaux partenaires commerciaux et des territoires de chasse qui, contrairement à de nombreuses régions de l’est des Rocheuses, n’avaient pas encore subi les ravages d’un siècle et demi de piégeage. John McDonald et Duncan McGillivray, qui construisaient des postes de traite pour la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest le long de la Saskatchewan Nord durant les années 1790, avaient entendu parler d’une tribu vivant à l’ouest des Rocheuses, dans la vallée du Columbia. Cette tribu était celle des Kootenays, aujourd’hui connus sous le nom de Ktunaxas.

Dans le dessein de s’approprier la clientèle des Ktunaxas, McDonald fonda le poste Rocky Mountain House en 1799 sur le cours supérieur de la Saskatchewan Nord. McGillivray et David Thompson, commerçant et cartographe chevronné, ne tardèrent pas à se joindre à lui et partirent à la recherche d’un passage à travers les Rocheuses pour gagner la vallée du Columbia.

Corridor de transport

Le col Howse faisait partie de la « piste des Kootenays », qui reliait le versant est des Rocheuses à la vallée du Columbia – une route que les Autochtones connaissaient depuis fort longtemps. Les Ktunaxas empruntaient fort probablement ce parcours depuis le XVIIIe siècle pour accéder aux hardes de bisons errant sur les plaines de l’est des Rocheuses.

En 1807, David Thompson et une équipe d’hommes de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest traversèrent le col et établirent le poste Kootenae House dans la vallée du Columbia, afin de faciliter les échanges commerciaux avec les Ktunaxas. Joseph Howse, employé de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson qui donna son nom au col, effectua la traversée pour la première fois en 1809. Les deux compagnies fondèrent des postes de traite le long du Columbia et empruntèrent le col Howse jusqu’en 1810.

Approche du col Howse
Approche du col Howse
© Parcs Canada

La traite des fourrures et les Autochtones

La traite des fourrures vint modifier la culture de la guerre et les relations intertribales des Premières nations. L’avènement soudain des armes à feu et des biens d’échange transforma la balance du pouvoir entre les Pikanis et les Ktunaxas. Après 1810, le col Howse se fit éclipser par le col Athabasca. Les commerçants européens privilégiaient le col Athabasca, situé plus au nord, pour éviter l’hostilité des Pikanis, qui cherchaient à entraver les échanges commerciaux avec leurs rivaux. Le col Athabasca devint donc la route de choix pour la traversée des Rocheuses de 1811 à 1854.

Vue du col Howse depuis le belvédère de Saskatchewan Crossing, sur la promenade des Glaciers Vue du col Howse depuis le belvédère de Saskatchewan Crossing, sur la promenade des Glaciers
© Parcs Canada

Emplacement

Le col Howse marque la frontière de la Colombie-Britannique et de l’Alberta. Débutant au confluent des rivières Saskatchewan et Howse, il suit la rivière Howse jusqu’au confluent des ruisseaux Freshfield, Forbes et Conway, puis jusqu’à la frontière interprovinciale. De là, le col s’étend sur des terres provinciales de la Colombie-Britannique jusqu’au confluent de la rivière Blaeberry et du ruisseau Cairnes. On peut y accéder en parcourant 26 km à pied en direction ouest à partir de la promenade des Glaciers (route 93 Nord).

Histoire Rocky Mountain House Col-Howse Col-Athabasca Kootenae House Col-Yellowhead Rocky Mountain House Jasper House Rocky Mountain House Fort-St. James Col-Kicking Horse Premier Puits de Pétrole Auberge-de-Ski-Skoki Station-d’Étude-des-Rayons-Cosmiques-du-Mont-Sulphur Refuge-du-Col-Abbot Centre-d'Information-du-Parc-Jasper Salon-de-Thé-des-Chutes-Twin Col-Yellowhead Col-Rogers Musée-du-Parc-Banff Cave and Basin Ranch-Bar U

Texte de la plaque :

LE COL HOWSE

Bien avant l'arrivée des Européens, les Indiens connaissaient ce col qui permet de relier la rivière Saskatchewan Nord au fleuve Columbia. Les Kutenais l'empruntaient, probablement dès le XVIIIe siècle, pour chasser les bisons dans les plaines. David Thompson de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest traversa le col en 1807, et les commerçants canadiens l'empruntèrent désormais, jusqu'en 1810, pour explorer l'ouest des Rocheuses et y installer des postes. Joseph Howse, de la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson, qui laissa son nom au col, l'emprunta pour la première fois en 1809.

Le saviez-vous?

Après sa première traversée du col Howse en 1807, David Thompson fonda plusieurs postes de traite dans le bassin du Columbia, sur le territoire actuellement occupé par la Colombie Britannique, le Montana, l’Idaho et l’État de Washington. Citons notamment Kootenae House, Kullyspel House, Saleesh House et Spokane House. Ces postes de traite procurèrent aux commerçants du nord un avantage concurrentiel par rapport à la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson, en ce sens qu’ils purent établir de solides relations commerciales avec les Autochtones de ces secteurs.

Le saviez-vous?

Le col Howse figure parmi plusieurs lieux historiques nationaux qui sont associés à la traite des fourrures. Sur le plan thématique, il est étroitement lié aux lieux historiques nationaux du Col Athabasca et du Col-Yellowhead, aux lieux historiques nationaux Henry House et Jasper House ainsi qu’aux lieux historiques nationaux du Fort-St. James et du Fort-Langley.

Sources:

Payne, Michael, The Fur Trade on the Upper Athabasca River 1810 – 1910, Centre de services de l’Ouest et du Nord, Parcs Canada, 2004