Parks Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

National Historic Sites in the Mountain National Parks

Event of National Historic Significance

The Palliser Expedition

The Palliser Expedition, led by Captain John Palliser between 1857 and 1860, was a scientific exploring mission of British North America.

Captain John Palliser

John Palliser, a young Irish sportsman and adventurer, had his first hunting expedition in North America in 1847 during which, he wrote Solitary Rambles and Adventures of a Hunter in the Prairies, published in 1853. Nominated as a Fellow of the Royal Geographical Society in November of 1856, he looked to them for help financing further travels. In the months following his nomination, he submitted a proposal to explore a large part of North America and was summoned to London for an interview.

Support for the Expedition

Palliser’s proposed route was to lead him from Red River Colony (now Winnipeg), through the Rocky Mountains along the unsurveyed American boundary. No such voyage had been undertaken in the area and the opportunity to gather scientific information appealed to the society. Scientific explorations had led to new discoveries and studies in many parts of the world and they were eager to compare results.

The Royal Geographical Society applied for a grant from the imperial government, who, at the time, was uncertain of the future of the Hudson’s Bay Company’s territories and needed them surveyed for land claims and the future railroad. Prior to this request, the American government sponsored surveying expeditions that crossed the border into British territory. Eager to solidify their hold on the west, the government granted the expedition £5000.

The Team

The Society put together an expedition team of scientific experts to capture all aspects of the voyage. Palliser, skilled in wilderness living and travel, would lead the expedition. Dr. James Hector was appointed geologist and naturalist, Eugène Bourgeau botanical collector, John W. Sullivan secretary and astronomical observer and Lt. Thomas W. Blakiston magnetic observer.

Travels

Travelling hundreds of kilometres through rugged terrain, the group ascended 6 passes in the southern Rockies and collected astronomical, meteorological, geological and magnetic data, and described the country’s landscape, fauna and flora, inhabitants and potential for settlement and transportation. The group studied three distinct regions of the North West: Lake Superior to Red River, Red River to the Rockies and the mountains of the Pacific coast.

While the men were members of the same expedition, they rarely travelled together. By August of 1858, they had divided into four distinct groups. James Hector traveled in advance of the others to inspect the land and gather guides. Later, he and Bourgeau led separate missions to survey the geological and botanical aspects of the Rockies. During his travels, Hector discovered two new passes, Kicking Horse Pass and Vermillion Pass. Palliser and Sullivan explored the prairies stretching from the Rockies to Cypress Hills to establish the potential for agriculture in the area and searched for an easily accessible southern pass. Blakiston surveyed the two known Kootenae Passes (Kootenay and Boundary passes) for the potential railway, journeying via river as much as possible, capturing magnetic observations. Upon completing his task in 1858, he left the expedition due to disagreements with the rest of the team.

Findings

The expedition's findings were published in 1859, 1860 and the final voluminous report emerged in1863. This report contained all of the information they had amassed about the plants and animals, the weather, the customs and languages of native tribes and the geology of the territory they had covered. The geological findings were further detailed by Edward Sanford in a comprehensive map, published in 1865. These reports were a major source of information about the land from Lake Superior to B.C.'s Okanagan Valley for many years.

Palliser’s Triangle

One of the major contributions of the Palliser expedition was its identification of the northern extension of the Great American Desert into southern Alberta and southwestern Saskatchewan. They recognized this triangular piece of land for its dry climate, sandy soil and extensive grass cover. It was named ‘Palliser's Triangle’ and was highlighted by the team as a poor area for agriculture, surrounded by a fertile belt ideal for raising cattle. The federal government ignored this warning and advertised the area in the early-twentieth century as fertile ground to establish farm operations. The extreme drought that swept the Prairies in the 1930s eventually proved Palliser’s team correct.

Fast Fact:

Dissention amongst the members of the expedition, particularly between Blakiston and Sullivan, caused Palliser no end of problems. Blakiston eventually disassociated himself from the Expedition and, upon his return to England, submitted his own report of his explorations.

Fast Fact:

Many years after the Expedition, Hector returned to the Rockies from New Zealand with one of his sons, Douglas. Sadly, Hector’s son fell ill and was rushed by train to Revelstoke where he died. Hector, heartbroken, returned immediately to New Zealand and never visited Canada again.

Fast Fact:

James Hector named many geographic features while travelling with the Palliser Expedition. The Goodsir Pass as well as the highest mountain in Yoho National Park, were named in honour of his professor, John Goodsir. Kicking Horse pass and river were named after Hector’s horse kicked him while travelling through the area. Mount Rundle was named after the missionary, Reverend Robert Rundle.

Fast Fact:

The men involved in the Palliser Expedition went on to explore and document many aspects of the world. At the time of final report’s publication from the expedition, Palliser was in the West Indies preparing for a mission into the embattled American southern states, Blakiston was in China exploring the Yangtze Kiang River, Bourgeau was studying plants in the Caucasus Mountains of Russia, Hector was working as a geologist in New Zealand and Sullivan was in New Zealand working as a reporter for the Otago Times.

Plaque Text:

PALLISER EXPEDITION
EXPÉDITION PALLISER
1857 1860

Captain John Palliser was able to carry out his project of making a scientific exploration of western British North America in 1857, when the Royal Geographical Society induced the British government to commission the venture. Assisted by Dr. James Hector, geologist, Eugene Bourgeau, botanist, Lieut. Thomas W. Blakiston, R.A., magnetical observer, and J.W. Sullivan, secretary and astronomical observer, he made the first detailed and scientific survey of the region from Lake Superior to the southern passes of the Rocky Mountains.

Sources:

“Kicking Horse Pass National Historic Site of Canada Commemorative Integrity Statement,” Parks Canada, 2002

Parcs Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Lieux historiques nationaux dans les parcs nationaux des montagnes

Événement d'importance historique nationale

L’expédition Palliser

L’expédition Palliser, dirigée par le capitaine John Palliser de 1857 à 1860, fut une mission d’exploration scientifique de l’Amérique du Nord britannique.

Capitaine John Palliser

John Palliser, jeune sportif et aventurier irlandais, fit sa première expédition de chasse en Amérique du Nord en 1847. Il écrivit pendant cette expédition Solitary Rambles and Adventures of a Hunter in the Prairies, qu’il publia en 1853. Élu membre de la Royal Geographical Society en novembre 1856, il se tourna vers elle pour faire financer d’autres voyages. Dans les mois qui suivirent sa candidature, il présenta une proposition pour explorer un vaste territoire de l’Amérique du Nord et on le convoqua à une entrevue à Londres.

Un appui financier pour l’expédition Palliser

Palliser se proposait de partir de la colonie de la rivière Rouge (aujourd’hui Winnipeg) et de traverser les Rocheuses en longeant la frontière américaine jusque-là non cartographiée. Aucun voyage de ce genre n’avait encore été entrepris dans la région, et la chance de recueillir des données scientifiques plaisait à la société. Les explorations scientifiques avaient mené à de nouvelles découvertes et à de nouvelles études dans bon nombre des régions du monde, et la société se réjouissait à l’idée de comparer les résultats obtenus.

La Royal Geographical Society présenta une demande de financement au gouvernement impérial qui, à l’époque, était incertain quant à l’avenir des territoires de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson. Il voulut donc les faire arpenter en vue des concessions foncières et du chemin de fer qui allait être construit. Avant cette demande, le gouvernement américain avait financé des expéditions d’arpentage qui traversaient la frontière jusque dans le territoire britannique. Soucieux de resserrer sa mainmise dans l’Ouest, le gouvernement versa la somme de 5 000 livres pour financer l’expédition.

L’équipe

La Société réunit une équipe d’experts scientifiques pour rendre compte de tous les aspects du voyage. Palliser, qui savait vivre et se déplacer en milieu sauvage, fut chargé de diriger l’expédition. Le Dr James Hector fut nommé géologue et naturaliste, Eugène Bourgeau, botaniste, John W. Sullivan, secrétaire et astronome, et le lieutenant Thomas W. Blakiston, expert en observations magnétiques.

Les expéditions

Parcourant des centaines de kilomètres en terrain escarpé, le groupe gravit six cols dans la partie sud des Rocheuses, il recueillit des données sur l’astronomie, la météo, la géologie et le magnétisme, et il décrivit les paysages du pays, la faune et la flore, les habitats et les possibilités d’établissement et de transport. Le groupe étudia trois régions différentes du Nord-Ouest : du lac Supérieur jusqu’à la rivière Rouge, de la rivière Rouge jusqu’aux Rocheuses et des Rocheuses jusqu’à la côte du Pacifique.

Les hommes faisaient partie de la même expédition, mais ils voyageaient rarement ensemble. En août 1858, ils se divisèrent en quatre groupes différents. James Hector précéda les autres pour inspecter le territoire et regrouper des guides. Plus tard, il prit la tête de missions distinctes en compagnie de Bourgeau pour étudier la géologie et la botanique dans les Rocheuses. Pendant ses expéditions, il fit la découverte de deux nouveaux cols, le col Kicking Horse et le col Vermillion. Palliser et Sullivan explorèrent les prairies depuis les Rocheuses jusqu’aux collines Cypress pour déterminer le potentiel agricole de la région et cherchèrent un col facilement accessible au sud. Blakiston arpenta les deux cols connus de Kootenae (les cols Kootenay et Boundary) pour déterminer la possibilité d’y aménager un chemin de fer, et il fit le voyage en empruntant le plus possible les cours d’eau pour faire ses observations magnétiques. Une fois son travail terminé, en 1858, il quitta l’expédition en raison de désaccords avec le reste de l’équipe.

Les découvertes

Les découvertes de l’expédition furent publiées en 1859 et en 1860, et le dernier rapport volumineux paru en 1863. Ce rapport contenait toute l’information que les membres du groupe avaient recueillie au sujet de la flore et de la faune, de la météo, des coutumes et des langues des tribus indiennes et de la géologie du territoire qu’ils avaient parcouru. Les données géologiques furent approfondies par Edward Sanford, qui publia une carte exhaustive de l’endroit en 1865. Ces rapports constituèrent pendant de nombreuses années une source importante d’information au sujet du territoire qui s’étend du lac Supérieur jusqu’à la vallée de l’Okanagan, en Colombie-Britannique.

Le triangle de Palliser

L’une des grandes contributions de l’expédition Palliser fut d’identifier le prolongement en direction nord du grand désert américain, jusque dans le sud de l’Alberta et le sud-ouest de la Saskatchewan. L’expédition reconnut ce territoire en forme de triangle pour son climat sec, son sol sablonneux et sa vaste superficie recouverte de graminées. On lui donna le nom de triangle de Palliser; l’équipe le décrivit comme une terre peu propice à l’agriculture entourée d’une ceinture fertile idéale pour l’élevage du bétail. Faisant fi de cette mise en garde, le gouvernement fédéral vanta la région au début du XXe siècle pour son sol riche, idéal pour l’établissement d’une exploitation agricole. La sécheresse extrême qui frappa les Prairies dans les années 1930 donna par la suite raison à l’équipe de Palliser.

Le saviez-vous?

La discorde qui régnait entre les membres de l’expédition, en particulier Blakiston et Sullivan, causa toute une série de problèmes à Palliser. Blakiston finit par quitter l’expédition et, à son retour en Angleterre, il présenta son propre compte rendu de ses explorations.

Le saviez-vous?

De nombreuses années après l’expédition, Hector est revenu dans les Rocheuses depuis la Nouvelle-Zélande en compagnie de l’un de ses fils, Douglas. Malheureusement, le fils d’Hector tomba malade et fut emmené d’urgence par train jusqu’à Revelstoke, où il mourut. Le cœur brisé, Hector retourna en Nouvelle-Zélande pour ne plus jamais remettre les pieds au Canada.

Le saviez-vous?

James Hector a baptisé de nombreuses caractéristiques géographiques pendant qu’il voyageait au sein de l’expédition Palliser. Le col Goodsir de même que le sommet le plus élevé du parc national Yoho portent le nom de son professeur, John Goodsir. Le col et la rivière Kicking Horse ont été nommés d’après le cheval de James Hector qui fit une ruade pendant qu’il voyageait dans la région. Le mont Rundle a été baptisé d’après le révérend Robert Rundle, un missionnaire.

Le saviez-vous?

Les hommes qui participèrent à l’expédition Palliser explorèrent et consignèrent de nombreux aspects du monde entier. Au moment de la publication du dernier rapport de l’expédition, Palliser se trouvait dans les Antilles où il participait à une mission envoyée dans les États du sud américain aux prises avec des difficultés, Blakiston explorait le fleuve Yangzi Jiang en Chine, Bourgeau étudiait les plantes dans les monts Caucase de Russie, Hector travaillait comme géologue en Nouvelle-Zélande et Sullivan était également en Nouvelle-Zélande, où il était journaliste au Otago Times.

Texte de la plaque :

PALLISER EXPEDITION
EXPÉDITION PALLISER
1857 1860

C’est en 1857 que le capitaine John Palliser put mener à bien son projet d’exploration scientifique de l’ouest de l’Amérique du Nord britannique lorsque la Royal Geographical Society persuada le gouvernement britannique de parrainer l’expédition. Secondé par James Hector, médecin et géologue, Eugène Bourgeau, botaniste, le lieutenant Thomas W. Blakiston, R.A., expert en observations magnétiques, et J. W. Sullivan, secrétaire et astronome, il réalisa la première étude détaillée et scientifique de la région s’étendant du lac Supérieur aux cols méridionaux des montagnes Rocheuses.

Sources:

Énoncé d’intégrité commémorative du lieu historique national du Canada du Col-Kicking Horse, Parcs Canada, 2002