Parks Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

National Historic Sites in the Mountain National Parks

Sulphur Mountain Cosmic Ray Station National Historic Site of Canada

Map of the National Historic Sites in the vicinity of the Mountain National Parks
Interactive Map of the National Historic Sites in the vicinity of the Mountain National Parks
© Parks Canada

Sulphur Mountain Cosmic Ray Station Site Sulphur Mountain Cosmic Ray Station National Historic Site
© Parks Canada


Sulphur Mountain Cosmic Ray Station is recognized as a national historic site commemorating the remains of a high altitude geophysical laboratory, which facilitated Canada’s contribution to the International Geophysical Year of 1957-58.

View from Sulphur Mountain Weather Observatory, looking at the former site of the Cosmic Ray Station.
View from Sulphur Mountain Weather Observatory, looking at the former site of the Cosmic Ray Station.
© Parks Canada

A Gathering of the Minds

International Geophysical Year (IGY) was an international endeavour in geophysical research developed out of a long history of scientific interest in the terrestrial and atmospheric properties of the polar regions.

International Polar Years

In 1882-83, eleven countries participated in a comprehensive study of the geophysics of the polar regions in an exercise called International Polar Year (IPY). Its success inspired Second International Polar Year (IPY-2), held in 1932-33, which Canada participated in. IPY-2 was so successful, scientists began talking about repeating the venture, not in 50, but in 25 years. The International Council of Scientific Unions endorsed this suggestion and pushed to expand research fields beyond the polar regions.

International Geophysical Year

The drive to expand international collaboration in scientific realms led to the International Geophysical Year, an18 month period from July 1957 to December 1958. Over 30,000 scientists and observers from 70 countries participated. Midway through the program it was decided to continue another program into 1959, termed International Geophysical Co-operation (IGC-59). This 12-month extension is now considered a part of IGY. While IGY accumulated data in areas studied during first and second international polar years, it opened up new areas of geophysical research, namely the ocean and upper atmosphere.

Sulphur Mountain Cosmic Ray Station

Canada participated in IGY with nine sites established to measure cosmic rays. Sulphur Mountain Cosmic Ray Station was the most important site due to its high elevation. The site, built by the National Research Council in the winter of 1956-57 in preparation for the IGY, stands at an elevation of 2283m (7490 ft).

Cosmic Rays

The discovery that cosmic rays are particles of matter, not pure energy, stimulated the growth of particle physics as a study discipline. The study of cosmic rays has taught us about the heliosphere, as well as the sun’s affect on the earth's environment. Observing the rays travel allows us to glimpse the properties of the layers of atmosphere through which it has traveled.

The boardwalk leading to the Cosmic Ray Station National Historic Site of Canada features interpretive panels and stunning views of the Bow Valley. The boardwalk leading to the Cosmic Ray Station National Historic Site of Canada features interpretive panels and stunning views of the Bow Valley.
© Parks Canada

Then and Now

When first constructed, the site consisted of a laboratory approximately 50 square metres in size. The lab was built so that it would not be visible from the Banff townsite or the Banff Springs Hotel, a condition of its construction. The centre was expanded in 1961, after the National Research Council handed the laboratory over to the University of Calgary. Operational until 1978, the building was removed in 1981, leaving only the lab’s foundation.

Records of the site’s function and findings during the IGY are kept at the University of Calgary, one of the country’s premiercentres for the study of particle physics.

Historic Sites timeline Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site Howse Pass National Historic Site Athabasca Pass National Historic Site Kootenae House National Historic Site Yellowhead Pass National Historic Site Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site Jasper House National Historic Site Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site Fort St. James National Historic Site Kicking Horse Pass National Historic Site First Oil Well National Historic Site Skoki Ski Lodge National Historic Site Cosmic Ray Station National Historic Site Abbot Pass Refuge Cabin National Historic Site Jasper Information Centre National Historic Site Twin Falls Chalet Historic Site Yellowhead Pass National Historic Site Rogers Pass National Historic Site Banff Park Museum National Historic Site Cave and Basin National Historic Site Bar U Ranch National Historic Site

Sulphur Mountain Cosmic Ray Station House National Historic Site of Canada plaque states:
Located at the top of Sulphur Mountain, the cosmic ray station was completed by the National Research Council in 1956, in preparation for the International Geophysical Year (1957-1958) an undertaking involving 66 countries and a do--en scientific disciplines. The study of cosmic rays held a prominent place, with 99 cosmic ray stations (nine in Canada) in operation world-wide during IGY. Due to its high elevation Sulphur Mountain was the most important Canadian station. In 1960 the University of Alberta at Calgary took over the station, which was closed in 1978. The building itself was dismantled in 1981.

Fast Fact:

The Cosmic Ray Station was not the first scientific facility to be built on Sulphur Mountain. In 1903, a meteorological observatory building was completed on nearby Sanson Peak, named in 1948 in honour of Norman Bethune Sanson, the observer who tended the recording equipment for nearly 30 years.

Sulphur Mountain Weather Observatory Sulphur Mountain Weather Observatory
© Parks Canada

Fast Fact:

The Fantastic Four, characters from a Marvel comic book series, received their super powers after being exposed to Cosmic Rays during a scientific mission to outer space.

Sources:

“International Geophysical Year,” The National Academy of Sciences, www.nas.edu

“Sulphur Mountain Cosmic Ray Station National Historic Site of Canada Commemorative Integrity Statement,” Parks Canada, 1999

Parcs Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Lieux historiques nationaux dans les parcs nationaux des montagnes

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Station-d’Étude-des-Rayons-Cosmiques-du-Mont-Sulphur

Carte interactive des lieux historiques nationaux dans les environs des parcs nationaux des montagnes
Carte interactive des lieux historiques nationaux dans les environs des parcs nationaux des montagnes
© Parcs Canada

 Station-d'Étude-des-Rayons-Cosmiques-du-Mont-Sulphur Lieu historique national du Canada de la Station-d'Étude-des-Rayons-Cosmiques-du-Mont-Sulphur
© Parcs Canada


La station d’étude des rayons cosmiques du Mont-Sulphur a été désignée lieu historique national parce qu’elle commémore les vestiges d’un laboratoire géophysique bâti en altitude qui a aidé le Canada à contribuer aux efforts de l’Année géophysique internationale en 1957-1958.

Vue de l'observatoire météorologique du mont Sulphur, à l'emplacement de l'ancienne station d'étude des rayons cosmiques.
Vue de l'observatoire météorologique du mont Sulphur, à l'emplacement de l'ancienne station d'étude des rayons cosmiques.
© Parcs Canada

Où les grands esprits se rencontrent

L’Année géophysique internationale s’inscrivait dans un exercice international de recherche géophysique issu de l’intérêt que portent depuis longtemps les chercheurs aux propriétés terrestres et atmosphériques des régions polaires.

Années polaires internationales

En 1882-1883, onze pays participèrent à une étude exhaustive de la géophysique des régions polaires dans le cadre d’un exercice surnommé Année polaire internationale. Le succès qu’ils remportèrent entraîna la tenue d’une deuxième Année polaire internationale, en 1932-1933, à laquelle participa le Canada. Ce deuxième exercice fut si fructueux que les chercheurs voulurent répéter l’expérience, non pas dans 50, mais plutôt dans 25 ans. Le Conseil international des unions scientifiques d’alors approuva la suggestion et s’attacha à élargir les champs d’études au-delà des régions polaires.

Année géophysique internationale

Le désir d’accroître la collaboration internationale dans les sciences mena à l’Année géophysique internationale, qui s’échelonna sur une période de 18 mois, soit de juillet 1957 à décembre 1958. Plus de 30 000 chercheurs et observateurs provenant de 70 pays prirent part à l’exercice. À mi-année, on convint de poursuivre les activités jusqu’en 1959, et l’exercice fut surnommé Coopération géophysique internationale. Aujourd’hui, on considère que ce prolongement de douze mois constitue un volet de l’Année géophysique internationale. Si l’Année géophysique internationale se fonda sur des données accumulées dans les champs d’études de la première et de la deuxième Année polaire internationale, elle ouvrit également de nouveaux champs d’étude dans la recherche géophysique, notamment l’océan et la haute atmosphère.

La station d’étude des rayons cosmiques du Mont-Sulphur

Le Canada participa à l’Année géophysique internationale en mesurant les rayons cosmiques. La station d’étude des rayons cosmiques du Mont-Sulphur était la plus importante du genre en raison de son altitude. L’endroit, aménagé par le Conseil national de recherches durant l’hiver de 1956 1957 en vue de l’Année géophysique internationale, se dresse à une altitude de 2 283 m.

Rayons cosmiques

La découverte selon laquelle les rayons cosmiques sont des particules de matière et non de l’énergie pure a stimulé la croissance de la physique des particules comme discipline d’étude. L’étude des rayons cosmiques nous a permis d’en savoir davantage au sujet de l’héliosphère, de même que des effets du soleil sur l’environnement terrestre. L’observation du parcours suivi par les rayons nous donne un aperçu des propriétés des couches atmosphériques qu’ils traversent.

On peut voir le long de la promenade qui mène au lieu historique national du Canada de la Station d'Étude des Rayons Cosmiques du Mont Sulphur des panneaux d'interprétation et des vues à couper le souffle de la vallée de la Bow. On peut voir le long de la promenade qui mène au lieu historique national du Canada de la Station d'Étude des Rayons Cosmiques du Mont Sulphur des panneaux d'interprétation et des vues à couper le souffle de la vallée de la Bow.
© Parcs Canada

Hier et aujourd’hui

Au départ, la station consistait en un laboratoire d’une superficie d’environ 50 m2. Le laboratoire fut construit de manière à ne pas être visible depuis le lotissement urbain de Banff et l’hôtel Banff; il s’agissait là d’une des conditions qui permirent sa construction. La station fut agrandie en 1961, lorsque le Conseil national de recherches céda le laboratoire à l’Université de Calgary. Le bâtiment resta en activité jusqu’en 1978. Il fut démoli en 1981, et il n’en subsiste que les fondations.

Les registres concernant les fonctions de la station et les conclusions de l’Année géophysique internationale sont conservés à l’Université de Calgary, l’un des grands centres nationaux consacrés à l’étude de la physique des particules.

Histoire Rocky Mountain House Col-Howse Col-Athabasca Kootenae House Col-Yellowhead Rocky Mountain House Jasper House Rocky Mountain House Fort-St. James Col-Kicking Horse Premier Puits de Pétrole Auberge-de-Ski-Skoki Station-d’Étude-des-Rayons-Cosmiques-du-Mont-Sulphur Refuge-du-Col-Abbot Centre-d'Information-du-Parc-Jasper Salon-de-Thé-des-Chutes-Twin Col-Yellowhead Col-Rogers Musée-du-Parc-Banff Cave and Basin Ranch-Bar U

Texte de la plaque :

LA STATION D'ÉTUDE DES RAYONS COSMIQUES DU MONT-SULPHUR

Cette station fut construite par le Conseil national de recherches en 1956, en vue de l'Année internationale de géophvsique (1957-1958), à laquelle participèrent 66 pays et des experts d'une douzaine de spécialités scientifiques. L'étude des rayons cosmiques fut alors très intense à l'échelle internationale : 99 stations s'y livrèrent, dont neuf au Canada. Construite à une très haute altitude, la station du mont Sulphur était la plus importante du Canada. En 1960, elle fut confiée à l'Université de 1'Alberta à Calgary. Celle-ci la ferma en 1978 et le bâtiment fut démoli en 1981.

Fait éclair :

La station d’étude des rayons cosmiques ne fut pas la seule installation construite au mont Sulphur. En 1903, un observatoire météorologique fut bâti au pic Sanson non loin de là, nommé en 1948 en l’honneur de Norman Bethune Sanson, le météorologue qui s’occupa de l’équipement d’enregistrement pendant près d’une trentaine d’années.

Observatoire météorologique du mont Sulphur Observatoire météorologique du mont Sulphur
© Parcs Canada

Fait éclair :

Les 4 Fantastiques, les héros d’une série de bandes dessinées de Marvel Comics, ont obtenu leurs superpouvoirs après avoir été soumis à des rayons cosmiques durant une mission scientifique dans l’espace.

Sources:

International Geophysical Year, The National Academy of Sciences, www.nas.edu (en anglais seulement)

Énoncé d’intégrité commémorative du lieu historique national du Canada de la Station-d’Étude-des-Rayons-Cosmiques-du-Mont-Sulphur, Parcs Canada, 1999