Parks Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

National Historic Sites in the Mountain National Parks

Athabasca Pass National Historic Site of Canada

Map of the National Historic Sites in the vicinity of the Mountain National Parks
Interactive Map of the National Historic Sites in the vicinity of the Mountain National Parks
© Parks Canada

Committee Punch Bowl Committee Punch Bowl
© Parks Canada

Transportation Corridor

Between 1811 and the mid-1850s, Athabasca Pass played an important role in the transportation routes of fur traders in western North America. Its importance derived from the strategic location it occupied on the Continental Divide at a time when traders, both British and American, were seeking to extend their commercial activity west of the Rocky Mountains.

In late 1810, with trans-mountain affairs pressing in a number of directions, David Thompson searched for a new route to bypass the blockade mounted by the Peigan Indians at Howse Pass. Led by Thomas The Iroquois, Thompson opened up of a route across the Athabasca Pass that became important to the continuity of the trans-mountain fur trade after 1811. While Thompson had already established a series of fur trade posts in the upper and middle Columbia River valley, the Athabasca route ensured stability of service to these posts. Until the 1850s, the Athabasca Pass became the main route used by fur traders crossing the mountains, a practice which was reinforced after the amalgamation of The North West Company with the Hudson’s Bay Company in 1821.

Fur Trade Conflict

Following the merger of the rival fur trade companies, the Hudson’s Bay Company became more heavily involved in Oregon territory. It established Fort Vancouver at the mouth of the Columbia River in 1825, which became the headquarters of the company’s Columbia District. Trade conflicts erupted between British–Canadian and American traders that eventually led to the establishment of the border between Canada and the US on the 49th parallel. This event, embodied in the Oregon Treaty of 1846, led to the closure of Fort Vancouver and the withdrawal of the Hudson’s Bay Company from the Columbia fur trade.

Postal Service

After the Hudson’s Bay Company withdrew from the Columbia fur trade, use of Athabasca Pass began to diminish. In 1848, a new mail service emerged that utilized the route again. Mail traveled from New York by steamboat to Panama, overland to the Pacific Coast, and then by boat to the Oregon Coast. The Hudson’s Bay Company could now save many months in the transit of its mail by using this route. The adoption of this service was the prelude to the reorganization of the Pacific slope operations as a separate department in 1852, administered directly from London.

By 1855, even the use of the pass as a route for the “Columbia Express” - a lightly equipped internal mail and personnel transit system, which, since the 1820s, traveled annually between York Factory and the west coast - was suspended, thus ending all but occasional regional use of the pass.

Historic Passes

The Athabasca Pass is one of several western mountain passes designated as nationally significant in 1971. The importance of these passes relates to their role in opening up transportation links between east and west and in facilitating contributions to geographic understanding of the character of the Rocky Mountains. These cultural landscapes are places designated by the Government of Canada as a site of importance to all Canadians because of its national historic significance.

Plaque at Athabasca Pass National Historic Site of Canada
The Athabasca Pass plaque is located an arduous 49 km trek from the Icefields Parkway.
© Parks Canada
Historic Sites timeline Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site Howse Pass National Historic Site Athabasca Pass National Historic Site Kootenae House National Historic Site Yellowhead Pass National Historic Site Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site Jasper House National Historic Site Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site Fort St. James National Historic Site Kicking Horse Pass National Historic Site First Oil Well National Historic Site Skoki Ski Lodge National Historic Site Cosmic Ray Station National Historic Site Abbot Pass Refuge Cabin National Historic Site Jasper Information Centre National Historic Site Twin Falls Chalet Historic Site Yellowhead Pass National Historic Site Rogers Pass National Historic Site Banff Park Museum National Historic Site Cave and Basin National Historic Site Bar U Ranch National Historic Site

Athabasca Pass National Historic Site of Canada plaque states:
In January 1811, David Thompson, guided by Thomas the Iroquois, was the first white man to cross the Rockies through this pass. Thence he led his party down the Wood River to the place on the Columbia River later called Boat Encampment. Governor George Simpson subsequently named the small lake at the top of the pass ‘the Committee’s Punch Bowl’ - a reference to the London Committee of the Hudson’s Bay Company. For almost half a century, the Athabasca Pass was part of the main fur trade route between Canada and the Oregon country.

Fast Fact:

Kinbasket Lake is an extension of the Columbia River, created when the Mica Dam was completed further downstream in 1973. Below its waters is the original site of Thompson’s encampment on the Columbia, a national historic site commemorated by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board in 1943.

Fast Fact:

In Cree, Athabasca means, "where the reeds are," a description of the marshy delta where the Athabasca River enters Lake Athabasca.

Sources:

“Athabasca Pass National Historic Site of Canada Commemorative Integrity Statement,” Parks Canada, 2006

Traveller's Tales

The Committee Punch Bowl at Athabasca Pass National Historic Site of Canada

Parcs Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Lieux historiques nationaux dans les parcs nationaux des montagnes

Lieu historique national du Canada du Col-Athabasca

Carte interactif des lieux historiques national dans les environs des parcs nationaux des montagnes
Carte interactif des lieux historiques national dans les environs des parcs nationaux des montagnes
© Parcs Canada

Committee Punch Bowl « Committee's Punch Bowl »
© Parcs Canada

Corridor de transport

De 1811 jusqu’au milieu des années 1850, le col Athabasca joua un rôle important en tant que corridor de transport pour les commerçants de fourrures de l’Ouest de l’Amérique du Nord. Il devait son importance à son emplacement stratégique sur la ligne de partage des eaux à une époque où Anglais et Américains cherchaient à étendre leurs activités commerciales à l’ouest des Rocheuses.

Pressé par une série de problèmes qui affligeaient le réseau de traite de part et d’autre des Rocheuses, David Thompson partit, à la fin de 1810, à la recherche d’un nouveau passage pour contourner le blocus des Péigans au col Howse. Guidé par Thomas l’Iroquois, Thompson traça à travers le col Athabasca un passage qui allait grandement contribuer à la poursuite des activités de troc après 1811. Thompson avait déjà établi une série de postes le long du cours intermédiaire et supérieur du fleuve Columbia; la route du col Athabasca venait assurer la stabilité des services fournis à ces postes. Jusque dans les années 1850, ce col devint le principal corridor des commerçants de fourrures qui traversaient les Rocheuses, une pratique qui ne fit que gagner en popularité après la fusion de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest et de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson en 1821.

Différends commerciaux

À la suite de la fusion des compagnies de traite rivales, la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson accrut sa présence dans le territoire de l’Oregon. En 1825, à l’embouchure du Columbia, elle fonda le fort Vancouver, qui devint le siège social de son district du Columbia. Des différends entre les commerçants britanno-canadiens et américains aboutirent à l’établissement de la frontière entre le Canada et les États-Unis sur le 49e parallèle. Cette mesure, décrétée dans le traité de l’Oregon de 1846, entraîna la fermeture du fort Vancouver et força la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson à se retirer du commerce des fourrures dans le district du Columbia.

Service postal

Lorsque la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson se retira du district du Columbia, l’affluence diminua sur le col Athabasca. Puis, en 1848, un nouveau service postal fut instauré dans ce corridor. Le courrier se rendait en vapeur de New York jusqu’au Panama, après quoi il était transporté par voie terrestre jusqu’à la côte du Pacifique et, de là, par bateau jusqu’aux côtes de l’Oregon. Grâce à cette route, la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson pouvait désormais accélérer de plusieurs mois l’expédition de son courrier. L’adoption de ce service fut suivie de la création, en 1852, d’un département distinct qui englobait tout le versant du Pacifique et qui relevait directement de Londres.

En 1855, la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson avait même suspendu le Columbia Express – un réseau légèrement équipé qui, depuis les années 1820, faisait annuellement la navette entre le poste York Factory et la côte Ouest pour la livraison du courrier interne et le transport de personnel. Dès lors, le col cessa d’être utilisé comme corridor de transport, sauf pour des missions régionales occasionnelles.

Cols historiques

Le col Athabasca figure au nombre de plusieurs cols de montagne de l’Ouest qui ont été classés lieux d’importance historique nationale en 1971. Si ces cols ont acquis ce statut spécial, c’est parce qu’ils ont joué un grand rôle dans la création d’axes de transport entre l’est et l’ouest et qu’ils ont contribué à une meilleure compréhension de la géographie des Rocheuses. Le gouvernement du Canada a désigné ces paysages culturels en raison de l’importance historique qu’ils revêtent pour toute la population canadienne.

Plaque at Athabasca Pass National Historic Site of Canada
La plaque du col Athabasca est située dans un sentier de randonnée difficile, à 49 km de la promenade des Glaciers.
© Parcs Canada
Histoire Rocky Mountain House Col-Howse Col-Athabasca Kootenae House Col-Yellowhead Rocky Mountain House Jasper House Rocky Mountain House Fort-St. James Col-Kicking Horse Premier Puits de Pétrole Auberge-de-Ski-Skoki Station-d’Étude-des-Rayons-Cosmiques-du-Mont-Sulphur Refuge-du-Col-Abbot Centre-d'Information-du-Parc-Jasper Salon-de-Thé-des-Chutes-Twin Col-Yellowhead Col-Rogers Musée-du-Parc-Banff Cave and Basin Ranch-Bar U

Texte de la plaque :

LE COL ATHABASCA

En 1811, David Thompson, avec son guide Thomas l'Iroquois, fut le premier Blanc à traverser les montagnes Rocheuses par ce col. De là, il descendit avec sa troupe la rivière Wood jusqu'au lieu nommé plus tard Boat Encampment sur le Columbia. Par la suite, le gouverneur George Simpson donna au petit lac dominant le col le nom de " the Committee's Punch Bowl ", par allusion au comité londonien de la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson. Le col Athabasca fut, durant près d'un demi-siècle, la voie principale du commerce entre le Canada et l'Oregon.

Le saviez-vous?

Prolongement du fleuve Columbia, le lac Kinbasket fut créé en 1973 par la construction du barrage Mica en aval. Les eaux de ce lac cachent l’endroit où Thompson dressa son camp sur les bords du fleuve. Ce lieu historique national est commémoré par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada depuis 1943.

Le saviez-vous?

Dans la langue crie, le mot Athabasca signifie là où poussent les roseaux, ce qui décrit bien le delta marécageux où la rivière Athabasca se jette dans le lac du même nom.

Sources:

Énoncé d’intégrité commémorative du lieu historique du Canada du Col-Athabasca, Parcs Canada, 2006