Parks Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

National Historic Sites in the Mountain National Parks

Abbot Pass Refuge Cabin National Historic Site of Canada

Map of the National Historic Sites in the vicinity of the Mountain National Parks
Interactive Map of the National Historic Sites in the vicinity of the Mountain National Parks
© Parks Canada

Abbot Pass Refuge Cabin Abbot Pass Refuge Cabin
© Parks Canada





The CPR completed the Transcontinental Railway in 1885. Looking to promote the railroad and draw travellers West, they began to promote tourism in the Rockies. Seeing the popularity of mountain climbing in Europe, they recognized a lucrative new attraction.

Swiss Guides

In 1899, the CPR imported certified Swiss mountain guides and paid them to lead amateur climbers safely up the mountains. One of the first to arrive in the Rocky Mountains was Edouard Feuz Sr., who along with Rudolph Aemmer, sketched the initial plans for Abbot Pass Hut.

Construction

Built largely by Swiss Guides such as Feuz and Aemmer, construction of the high altitude hut was a major undertaking. Materials were hauled by horse across the Victoria Glacier and then carried on the guide’s backs the remainder of the way. Cement, lime, windows, timbers, tools, beds, bedding and a stove were carried in this manner from Lake Louise via the route known as “the Deathtrap.”

Pack horses past the Lower Victoria Glacier
All materials, apart from the stone, were carried by pack horses past the Lower Victoria Glacier, then by the guides to the pass summit.
© Parks Canada

While over two tons of building material was brought in, the hut utilized locally quarried, hand cut stone. Based on local building methods and Swiss design, the hut was built in harmony with its natural surroundings. The motivation to design buildings that fit into their environment is an example of the Rustic Design Tradition, popular in the early 1900s.

In 1922, the hut was complete and at an altitude of 2925 metres (9,598 feet), served as a base for mountaineers attempting to climb Mt. Lefroy and Mt. Victoria.

Abbot Pass Hut
Abbot Pass Hut
© Parks Canada

Climbers

In the race to summit new peaks, climbers travelled to the hut to ascend the two nearby mountains, both over 3,400 metres (11,000 feet). The hut made reaching the summit of two peaks an attainable weekend venture and provided a comfortable alternative to high altitude camping. Nestled between Yoho and Banff National Parks, Abbot Pass is accessible from Lake Louise as well as the Lake O’Hara area.

Alpine Club of Canada

Operated by the CPR for nearly 40 years, possession of the hut was turned over to Parks Canada in 1960. In 1985 the ACC took over operation of the hut and they still operate it today.

Today

The Abbot Pass Hut is still operational and is one of 24 high alpine huts managed by the ACC. Climbers continue to travel to the hut as a base for ascents up the nearby ranges or as a destination in itself. The ascent, while accessible, should only be attempted by skilled alpine hikers.

Abbot Pass Hut Abbot Pass Hut
© Parks Canada
Historic Sites timeline Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site Howse Pass National Historic Site Athabasca Pass National Historic Site Kootenae House National Historic Site Yellowhead Pass National Historic Site Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site Jasper House National Historic Site Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site Fort St. James National Historic Site Kicking Horse Pass National Historic Site First Oil Well National Historic Site Skoki Ski Lodge National Historic Site Cosmic Ray Station National Historic Site Abbot Pass Refuge Cabin National Historic Site Jasper Information Centre National Historic Site Twin Falls Chalet Historic Site Yellowhead Pass National Historic Site Rogers Pass National Historic Site Banff Park Museum National Historic Site Cave and Basin National Historic Site Bar U Ranch National Historic Site

Abbot Pass Hut National Historic Site of Canada plaque states:
Built in 1922, this sturdy shelter is a unique and enduring monument to the Swiss guides, who first came to the Rocky Mountains in 1899 under the auspices of the Canadian Pacific Railway. It was patterned on examples in the Swiss Alps. All materials, apart from the stone, were carried by pack horses past the Lower Victoria Glacier, then by the guides to the pass summit. Never again was such an arduous feat undertaken in the national parks. The shelter has served as a high-altitude base for generations of climbers, here in the cradle of Canadian mountaineering.

Fast Fact:

Both Abbot Pass and the Abbot Pass Hut were named after Phillip Stanley Abbot, the first mountaineering fatality in North America. Abbot fell to his death in an attempt to make the first ascent of Mount Lefroy in 1896.

Fast Fact:

The "Death Trap" was named after an incident involving Swiss guide, Edward Feuz Jr. While passing over the Victoria Glacier, Feuz and some others were swept down the glacier by an avalanche. Porters carrying loads for the hut found him with only his hand sticking out of the snow and dug him out. It is said that after he regained his composure somewhat his first concern was that he had lost his pipe in the "darned avalanche."

Sources :

“Abbot Pass Refuge Cabin National Historic Site of Canada Commemorative Integrity Statement,” Parks Canada, 2002

Parcs Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Lieux historiques nationaux dans les parcs nationaux des montagnes

Lieu historique national du Canada du Refuge-du-Col-Abbot

Carte interactif des lieux historiques national dans les environs des parcs nationaux des montagnes
Carte interactif des lieux historiques national dans les environs des parcs nationaux des montagnes
© Parcs Canada

Refuge-du-Col-Abbot Refuge-du-Col-Abbot
© Parcs Canada





Le Canadien Pacifique acheva la construction du chemin de fer transcontinental en 1885. Pour stimuler le transport par train et attirer les voyageurs, il se mit à faire la promotion du tourisme dans les Rocheuses. En voyant la popularité dont jouissait la pratique de l’escalade en Europe, la compagnie ferroviaire y vit un nouvel attrait lucratif.

Les guides suisses

En 1899, le Canadien Pacifique fit venir de la Suisse des guides de montagnes certifiés et il les paya pour mener les alpinistes en herbe en toute sécurité dans les montagnes. L’un des premiers à arriver dans les Rocheuses fut Edouard Feuz père qui, en collaboration avec Rudolph Aemmer, dessina les premiers plans du refuge du Col Abbot.

La construction

Dirigée en grande partie par des guides suisses dont MM. Feuz et Aemmer, la construction du refuge en haute altitude fut toute une entreprise. Les guides durent transporter les matériaux à dos de cheval au-delà du glacier Victoria puis les charger sur leur dos le reste du chemin. Du ciment, de la chaux, des fenêtres, du bois d’œuvre, des outils, des lits, de la literie et un four furent également transportés de cette manière depuis Lake Louise par la route que l’on surnommait « piège de la mort ».

PTous les matériaux utilisés, sauf la pierre, ont été transportés à dos de cheval au delà du glacier Victoria inférieur, puis par les guides jusqu'au sommet du col.
Tous les matériaux utilisés, sauf la pierre, ont été transportés à dos de cheval au delà du glacier Victoria inférieur, puis par les guides jusqu'au sommet du col.
© Parcs Canada

Si deux tonnes de matériaux de construction furent apportées de l’extérieur, on eut également recours à des pierres coupées à la main provenant de carrières de la région. Selon des méthodes de construction locales et des méthodes de conception suisse, on bâtit un refuge en harmonie avec son décor naturel. Le désir de construire des bâtiments qui cadraient avec le milieu environnant s’inscrit dans la tradition architecturale rustique, en vogue au début des années 1900.

La construction du refuge fut achevée en 1922. À une altitude de 2 925 m, le refuge servait de pied-à-terre pour les alpinistes désireux d’escalader le mont Lefroy et le mont Victoria.

Refuge-du-Col-Abbot
Refuge-du-Col-Abbot
© Parcs Canada

Les alpinistes

Dans la course vers l’atteinte de nouveaux pics, les alpinistes arrivèrent au refuge pour escalader les deux montagnes situées à proximité, qui s’élevaient à plus de 3 400 m chacune. Grâce au refuge, il leur était possible de gravir les montagnes jusqu’au sommet pendant une fin de semaine, sans compter qu’il était plus confortable d’y coucher que de faire du camping en haute montagne. Niché entre les parcs nationaux Yoho et Banff, le col Abbot est accessible de Lake Louise de même que du secteur du lac O’Hara.

Le Club alpin du Canada

Exploité par le Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique pendant près de 40 ans, le refuge est devenu la propriété de Parcs Canada en 1960. Depuis 1985, le Club Alpin du Canada en assume l'exploitation.

Aujourd’hui

Le refuge du Col Abbot est toujours en activité. Il compte parmi les 24 refuges alpins gérés par le Club alpin du Canada. Les alpinistes continuent de s’y rendre comme point de départ de leurs ascensions dans les chaînes de montagnes voisines ou comme destination proprement dite. L’ascension, même si elle est facile d’accès, ne doit être effectuée que par des randonneurs alpins chevronnés.

Refuge-du-Col-Abbot Refuge-du-Col-Abbot
© Parcs Canada
Histoire Rocky Mountain House Col-Howse Col-Athabasca Kootenae House Col-Yellowhead Rocky Mountain House Jasper House Rocky Mountain House Fort-St. James Col-Kicking Horse Premier Puits de Pétrole Auberge-de-Ski-Skoki Station-d’Étude-des-Rayons-Cosmiques-du-Mont-Sulphur Refuge-du-Col-Abbot Centre-d'Information-du-Parc-Jasper Salon-de-Thé-des-Chutes-Twin Col-Yellowhead Col-Rogers Musée-du-Parc-Banff Cave and Basin Ranch-Bar U

Texte de la plaque :

Construit en 1922, ce solide abri est un témoignage unique et durable à la mémoire des guides suisses venus en 1899 dans les Rocheuses à l'invitation du Canadien Pacifique. Le bâtiment était calqué sur ceux des Alpes suisses. Tous les matériaux utilisés, sauf la pierre, furent transportés à dos de cheval au-delà du glacier Lower Victoria, puis par les guides jusqu'au sommet du col. Pareil exploit ne fut jamais répété ailleurs dans les parcs nationaux. Ce refuge a servi de halte de haute altitude à des générations d'ascensionnistes dans le berceau de l'alpinisme au Canada.

Fait éclair :

Le col Abbot et le refuge du Col Abbot ont tous deux été nommés d’après Phillip Stanley Abbot, le premier alpiniste à perdre la vie en Amérique du Nord. Phillip Abbott fit une chute mortelle alors qu’il tentait d’être le premier à escalader le mont Lefroy, en 1896.

Fait éclair :

Le « piège de la mort » tient son nom d’un incident faisant intervenir le guide suisse Edward Feuz fils. Alors qu’ils traversaient le glacier Victoria, Edward Feuz et d’autres personnes furent entraînés dans une avalanche sur le glacier. Des porteurs qui se dirigeaient vers le refuge le trouvèrent une main sortant de la neige, et ils purent l’en extirper. On dit que, une fois qu’il recouvra quelque peu ses esprits, sa première pensée fut pour la pipe qu’il avait perdue dans cette « sacrée avalanche ».

Sources :

Énoncé d’intégrité commémorative du lieu historique national du Canada du Refuge-du-Col-Abbot, Parcs Canada, 2002