Parks Canada Banner
 Franšais Contact Us Help Search Canada Site
 About the Parks Canada Agency National Parks of Canada National Historic Sites of Canada National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada Cultural Heritage
Natural Heritage
Parks Canada Home
Search
Enter a keyword:

An Approach to Aboriginal Cultural Landscapes


GUIDELINES FOR THE IDENTIFICATION OF ABORIGINAL CULTURAL LANDSCAPES

Boundaries

How then are boundaries to be drawn?

Family in canoe on river.
Family in birch bark canoe, Mackenzie River, Northwest Territories.
© National Archives of Canada / PA 18575, 1921

Some preliminary investigations identify several possible approaches. Canada's national parks use a zoning system to identify park areas requiring different levels of protection to guide their management and use. (Parks Canada, 1994a: II.2.2) Biosphere reserves also apply a zoning approach that provides for a core area, a buffer zone, and a transition zone. Each zone allows for different levels of protection and intervention. (UNESCO, 1996b: 4)

The emergence of bio-regional planning in protected area management, applicable to enormous areas such as the 2000-mile Yellowstone to Yukon Corridor and the 1500-mile Mesoamerican Biological Corridor through Central America (Salas, 1997), may offer some potential applicability for Aboriginal cultural landscapes.

Downer and Roberts, who are working with the Navajo Nation in the United States, consider the "broader context ... based on landscapes or ecosystems rather than artificially-defined impact zones ... is emerging from various disciplines in environmental planning. We are convinced that this is the only realistic approach to meaningful consideration of traditional cultural properties and the cultural landscapes of which they are integral parts...." (Downer and Roberts, 1993: 14)

Such planning frameworks and co-management approaches (Collings, 1997) may provide opportunities for developing mechanisms to ensure commemorative integrity of cultural landscapes such as the designated area of Nagwichoonjik [Mackenzie River].

In Australia, many Aboriginal sites are discrete areas separated by long distances but interconnected by trading routes or the paths of ancestral beings. They are most clearly understood when they are recognized as parts of a network rather than individual components. (Bridgewater and Hooy, 1995: 168) "Anangu, whose political system is egalitarian and uncentralised, visualise places in the landscape as nodes in a network of ancestral tracks. The Anangu landscape is not susceptible to division into discrete areas". (Layton and Titchen, 1995: 178)

The American Trail of Tears National Historic Trail, a multi-route and multi-site network which commemorates the forced removal, march overland and resettlement of the Cherokee [Ani'Yun' wiya] from the southeastern United States to Oklahoma in 1838-39, is a partnership of diverse groups and diverse sites with linked interpretive programs over nine states.

Historian John Johnston, exploring the adaptation of this concept of nodes to the commemoration of Aboriginal history in Canada, notes that it applies to "... places that tell an inter-connected story extending over time and place", such as trails and water routes associated with seasonal movements for food. (Johnston, A.J.B., 1993) Nodes within a network, each of identified importance, could be focal points of protection and presentation in a recognized larger cultural landscape.

Noting that there is "sometimes no obviously correct boundary", the National Park Service indicates that the selection of boundaries for traditional cultural properties should be based on the characteristics of the historic place, specifically how the place is used and why the place is important.(King and Townsend, n.d.)

This approach was taken at the Helkau Historic District in California, whose significance area was identified as "a substantial part of California's North Coast Range". A compromise decision on boundaries was developed along "topographic lines that included all the locations at which traditional practitioners carry out medicine-making and similar activities, the travel routes between such locations, and the immense viewshed surrounding this complex of locations and routes". Traditional uses, viewsheds, and changes to boundaries over time were factors considered in developing the rationale for the boundary.(Parker and King, 1990: 18-19)

In several respects the American approach can be recognized in existing national historic site designations of Aboriginal cultural landscapes. At Kejimkujik, for example, the existing national park boundaries defined a sufficiently large and appropriate area of traditional Mi'kmaq occupancy to represent the larger Mi'kmaq landscape. While in this case administrative convenience provided the basis for accepted boundaries, it is not a recommended selection approach.

At Arvia'juaq and Qikiqtaarjuk, clearly defined geographical features - an island and a point - with strong spiritual, social, economic and archaeological values related to the Caribou Inuit culture identify the boundaries. Given the importance of the adjacent waters to the cultural significance, future consideration might be given to defining site boundaries that include the key water areas.

At Grizzly Bear Mountain and Scented Grass Hills, where the designated sites are also two clearly defined land areas related to water, the site analysis and discussion of values effectively articulate the significant cultural relationships of the larger Great Bear Lake landscape. As well, the historic values of the viewsheds at this site are particularly significant in the identification of objectives for the "health" of the site. While discrete geographical features can be very useful in identifying boundaries, it is evident that the values for which the place is to be designated must predominate in establishing appropriate boundaries.

 

Last Updated: 2008-10-17 To the top
To the top
Important Notices

Bannière de Parcs Canada
 English Contactez-nous Aide Recherche Site du Canada
 À propos de l'Agence Parcs Canada Parcs nationaux du Canada Lieux historiques nationaux du Canada Aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada Patrimoine culturel
Patrimoine naturel
Page d'accueil de Parcs Canada
Recherche
Entrer un mot-clé :

Une introduction à l'étude des paysages culturels autochtones


LIGNES DIRECTRICES POUR L'IDENTIFICATION DES PAYSAGES CULTURELS AUTOCHTONES

Limites

Comment faire alors pour fixer les limites d'un paysage culturel?

Famille en canot sur le fleuve
Famille dans un canot d'écorce de bouleau noir, fleuve Mackenzie, Territoires du Nord-Ouest.
© Archives nationales du Canada / PA 18575, 1921.

Des travaux préliminaires proposent quelques pistes. Dans les parcs nationaux du Canada, un système de zonage permet d'identifier les secteurs ayant besoin de différents niveaux de protection et d'orienter leur gestion et leur utilisation (Parcs Canada, 1994a: II.2.2). Dans les réserves de la biosphère, on applique également un système de zonage qui prévoit une zone centrale, une zone tampon et une zone de transition, et qui est axé sur les différents niveaux de protection et d'intervention (UNESCO, 1996b: 4).

Les paysages culturels autochtones pourraient peut-être profiter de l'émergence d'une planification biorégionale dans la gestion des aires protégées, applicable à des régions très vastes comme le corridor de 2 000 milles reliant Yellowstone et le Yukon (en anglais seulement) et le couloir biologique mésoaméricain de 1 500 milles qui traverse l'Amérique Centrale (Salas, 1997).

Downer et Roberts, qui collaborent avec la nation navajo, aux États-Unis, considèrent qu' « une vision d'ensemble ... fondée sur les paysages ou les écosystèmes plutôt que sur des zones d'impact définies de façon artificielle ... émerge des différentes disciplines de planification environnementale. [Ils sont] convaincus que c'est la seule façon réaliste d'étudier convenablement les biens culturels traditionnels et les paysages culturels dont ils font partie intégrante ... » (Downer et Roberts, 1993: 14).

De tels cadres de planification et de telles approches de cogestion (Collings, 1997) pourraient permettre d'élaborer des mécanismes visant à assurer l'intégrité commémorative des paysages culturels, comme l'aire désignée de Nagwichoonjik [fleuve Mackenzie].

En Australie, beaucoup de sites autochtones sont en fait des régions distinctes séparées par des distances considérables, mais reliées entre elles par des voies commerciales ou des pistes ancestrales; ils sont mieux compris à titre d'éléments d'un réseau plutôt qu'à titre individuel (Bridgewater et Hooy, 1995: 168). « Les Anangus, dont le système politique est égalitaire et décentralisé, voient les éléments du paysage comme des étapes ou des noeuds dans un réseau de pistes ancestrales. Le paysage anangu ne peut être divisé en régions distinctes » (Layton et Titchen, 1995: 178).

Le sentier historique Trail of Tears, aux États-Unis, un réseau de voies et de sites multiples qui commémore l'expulsion des Cherokees [Ani'Yun' wiya] du Sud-Est des États-Unis, ainsi que leur marche et leur réinstallation en Oklahoma en 1838-1839, est un partenariat de groupes et de sites divers qui offre des programmes d'interprétation apparentés dans neuf États.

Explorant la possibilité d'adapter ce concept de noeuds à la commémoration de l'histoire des Autochtones au Canada, l'historien John Johnston note qu'il peut s'appliquer aux « ... lieux qui racontent une histoire commune déroulant dans le temps et l'espace », comme les pistes et les voies navigables associées aux déplacements saisonniers des peuples dans leur recherche de nourriture (Johnston, A.J.B., 1993). Ces noeuds, ayant chacun une importance propre, pourraient être au centre des efforts de protection et de mise en valeur d'un vaste paysage culturel reconnu.

Faisant observer qu'il « n'existe parfois pas de limites évidentes », le National Park Service précise que la définition des limites d'un bien culturel traditionnel devrait se fonder sur les caractéristiques du lieu historique et plus particulièrement sur son utilisation et sur ce qui fait son importance (King et Townsend, n.d.).

On a procédé ainsi dans l'arrondissement historique de Helkau, en Californie, où l'aire significative a été définie comme « une partie substantielle de la chaîne côtière du nord de la Californie ». Au moment de décider des limites, on a opté pour un compromis et suivi « les lignes topographiques, de façon à inclure tous les endroits où les traditionalistes s'adonnent à la fabrication de médicaments ou à des activités similaires, les routes reliant ces lieux ainsi que l'immense bassin visuel unissant ce réseau de lieux et de routes ». Pour prendre cette décision, on a tenu compte des utilisations traditionnelles, des bassins visuels et des changements apportés aux limites au fil des siècles (Parker et King, 1990: 18-19)

On reconnaît bien des aspects de l'approche américaine dans la désignation actuelle de certains paysages culturels autochtones à titre de lieux historiques nationaux. À Kejimkujik, par exemple, les limites du parc national actuel définissent une aire d'occupation traditionnelle par les Mi'kmaqs suffisamment vaste et appropriée pour être représentative du paysage mi'kmaq global. Dans ce cas précis, les limites acceptées découlent d'une mesure administrative commode, mais ce n'est pas là le mode de sélection idéal.

À Arvia'juaq et à Qikiqtaarjuk, des éléments géographiques bien définis - une île et une pointe - ayant d'importantes valeurs spirituelles, sociales, économiques et archéologiques associées à la culture des Inuit du Caribou ont servi à définir les limites du lieu. Étant donné l'importance des eaux adjacentes pour la signification culturelle, on pourrait envisager de redéfinir les limites de façon à y inclure les aires marines appropriées.

Au mont Grizzly Bear et des collines Scented Grass (en anglais seulement), où les endroits désignés sont aussi des régions terrestres clairement définies ayant des liens étroits avec l'eau, l'analyse des lieux et la discussion des valeurs ont permis de bien comprendre les rapports culturels significatifs du paysage global de la région du Grand lac de l'Ours. De même, les valeurs historiques des bassins visuels de ce site jouent un rôle particulièrement important dans l'établissement des objectifs de « santé » du lieu. Si certains éléments géographiques distincts peuvent être très utiles pour délimiter un lieu, il est évident que les valeurs à la base de la désignation de celui-ci doivent jouer un rôle prépondérant en la matière

 

Dernière mise à jour : 2008-10-17 Haut de la page
Haut de la page
Avis importants