Parks Canada Banner
 Franšais Contact Us Help Search Canada Site
 About the Parks Canada Agency National Parks of Canada National Historic Sites of Canada National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada Cultural Heritage
Natural Heritage
Parks Canada Home
Search
Enter a keyword:

An Approach to Aboriginal Cultural Landscapes


GUIDELINES FOR THE IDENTIFICATION OF ABORIGINAL CULTURAL LANDSCAPES

Size, Scale and Values

What is distinct about the size and scale of Aboriginal cultural landscapes?

Those consulted in the preparation of the Board paper pointed out that the size and scale of Aboriginal cultural landscapes would challenge both Aboriginal people and Parks Canada because of their very differing contexts and views.

Aboriginal world views focus on landscape rather than landscape features. Specific sites certainly have associated cultural significance and oral traditions related to their history. However, given the holistic relationship of Aboriginal people and their land, such places are seen primarily not as isolated spots but as parts of larger landscapes. Identifiable landscapes may equally be only parts of still larger cultural landscapes.

Aerial view of islands in lake.
Baldy Lake, Riding Mountain National Park, Manitoba.
© Parks Canada / D. Muir / 07.70.03.08(19), 1967

The Dogrib sacred sites identified along the Idaà Trail illustrate this relationship of sites to the larger landscape. Moreover, the Trail itself is part of the Dogrib cultural landscape, which comprises 100,000 square miles.

The scale of whole landscapes provides significant challenges to the approach of commemorative integrity which underlies Parks Canada's national historic sites commemorative program. Securing the "health or wholeness" of these vast areas may require close examination of the current understanding of the concept as it applies to historic place, historic values and objectives for large cultural landscapes.

 

Last Updated: 2008-10-17 To the top
To the top
Important Notices

Bannière de Parcs Canada
 English Contactez-nous Aide Recherche Site du Canada
 À propos de l'Agence Parcs Canada Parcs nationaux du Canada Lieux historiques nationaux du Canada Aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada Patrimoine culturel
Patrimoine naturel
Page d'accueil de Parcs Canada
Recherche
Entrer un mot-clé :

Une introduction à l'étude des paysages culturels autochtones


LIGNES DIRECTRICES POUR L'IDENTIFICATION DES PAYSAGES CULTURELS AUTOCHTONES

Dimension, étendue et valeurs

Qu'est-ce qui distingue la dimension et l'étendue des paysages culturels autochtones?

Les spécialistes consultés en vue de la rédaction de ce document ont souligné que la dimension et l'étendue des paysages culturels autochtones risquent de présenter des problèmes pour les peuples autochtones aussi bien que pour Parcs Canada, compte tenu de leur contexte et de leur point de vue très différents.

Les Autochtones ont une vision du monde axée sur le paysage lui-même plutôt que sur ses composantes. Certains lieux ont certes une importance culturelle associative ainsi que des traditions orales se rapportant à leur histoire. Cependant, étant donné le rapport holistique que les peuples autochtones entretiennent avec leur territoire, ces lieux sont d'abord considérés comme des éléments d'un grand paysage plutôt que comme des points isolés. Un paysage identifiable peut également faire partie d'un ensemble encore plus vaste.

Vue aérienne des îles du lac
Lac Baldy, parc national du Mont-Riding, Manitoba
© Parcs Canada / D. Muir / 07.70.03.08(19), 1967

Les lieux sacrés dogribs identifiés le long de la piste Idaà illustrent la relation entre les lieux individuels et le paysage élargi, la piste elle-même étant considérée comme un élément du paysage culturel dogrib, qui s'étend sur 100 000 milles carrés.

L'étendue de ces grands paysages est difficile à concilier avec l'approche d'intégrité commémorative à la base du programme de commémoration des lieux historiques nationaux de Parcs Canada. Assurer la « santé ou l'intégralité » de ces vastes régions exigera un examen attentif de notre compréhension actuelle de ce concept et de son application aux lieux historiques, aux valeurs historiques et aux objectifs poursuivis pour de vastes paysages culturels.

 

Dernière mise à jour : 2008-10-17 Haut de la page
Haut de la page
Avis importants