Parks Canada Banner
 Franšais Contact Us Help Search Canada Site
 About the Parks Canada Agency National Parks of Canada National Historic Sites of Canada National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada Cultural Heritage
Natural Heritage
Parks Canada Home
Search
Enter a keyword:

An Approach to Aboriginal Cultural Landscapes


GUIDELINES FOR THE IDENTIFICATION OF ABORIGINAL CULTURAL LANDSCAPES

Guidelines for Aboriginal Cultural Landscapes

What principles could be used for both suggesting and evaluating Aboriginal cultural landscapes for possible national designation?

The following guidelines are proposed for the HSMBC's future examination of the national significance of Aboriginal cultural landscapes.

1. The long associated Aboriginal group or groups have participated in the identification of the place and its significance, concur in the selection of the place to commemorate their culture, and support designation.

Inukshuk, tepees and people.
Paallir.miut at Arvia'juaq, Nunavut.
© Parks Canada / Archaeological Services Branch / Lyle Henderson / 1994.

This guideline derives from the HSMBC's consistent direction since 1990 that Aboriginal peoples will be consulted, involved and participate in the identification of frameworks and sites related to their history. It is consistent with the established consultation process for Aboriginal heritage sites (as described in Federal Archaeology Office 1998a, 17-18) and the Statement of Principles and Best Practices for Commemorating Aboriginal History, draft 3 (Federal Archaeology Office 1998c, item 2).

It is likewise consistent with recommendation 1.7.2 of the Report on the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples. It can conform with the comparative or contextual framework that the Board chooses for evaluation, such as the proposed traditional territory of an Aboriginal group or First Nation. (Federal Archaeology Office 1998a, 14 and 21)

2. Spiritual, cultural, economic, social and environmental aspects of the group's association with the identified place, including continuity and traditions, illustrate its historical significance.

Animal hide tent with water and mountains in distance.
Niortoq's tent, Kazan River, Northwest Territories.
© National Archives of Canada / A.E. Porsild / PA 101013, no date.

The guideline focusses on the identification of national historic significance through the associated group's long attachment to the territory, its enduring use and activities, its social and kinship relationships, its intimate knowledge of the area, and its spiritual affiliations with it.


3. The interrelated cultural and natural attributes of the identified place make it a significant cultural landscape.
Stone chimney and cabin remains at the abandoned Dogrib village known as Nidzik'a K'ogolaa
Stone chimney and cabin remains at the abandoned Dogrib village known as Nidzik'a K'ogolaa, along Idaà Trail, Northwest Territories.
© Parks Canada / T.D. Andrews / 1991.

This guideline recognizes the integrated nature of Aboriginal relationship to place, including the inseparability of cultural and natural values. Identified places, which will likely be of widely diverse types, will illustrate this core interrelationship of cultural and natural forces.

Tangible evidences may be largely absent, with the attributes rooted primarily in oral and spiritual traditions and in activities related to the place. However, there could be tangible attributes; they include natural resources, archaeological sites, graves, material culture, and written or oral records.

The guideline anticipates that the identification will incorporate diverse aspects of the group's association extended over time. The guideline also recognizes such natural components as ecosystem, climate, geology, topography, water, soils, viewsheds, and dominant and culturally significant fauna and flora in the context of the associated Aboriginal people's relationship to the place. The Aboriginal expression of these aspects may occur in animal or other natural metaphors.

The guideline accommodates the geographic and cultural diversity, as well as the individual experiences, of Canada's Aboriginal peoples. (Federal Archaeology Office 1998c, item 2)

4. The cultural and natural attributes that embody the significance of the place are identified through traditional knowledge of the associated Aboriginal group(s).

Boulder outcrop in meadow with trees in distance.
Hatzic Rock, Xá:ytem, National Historic Site, British Columbia.
© Parks Canada / Archaeological Services Branch / David Smyth / 1997

This guideline anticipates that the traditional knowledge, including traditional environmental knowledge, will likely encompass narratives, place names, language, traditional uses, rituals, and behaviour related to the identified place. It recognizes that some knowledge cannot be shared, but available knowledge must be sufficient to demonstrate the significance of the place in the culture of the associated group.

5. The cultural and natural attributes that embody the significance of the place may be additionally comprehended by results of academic scholarship.

Shoreline of ocean-polished bed rock.
Area of archaeological investigations into Dorset Paleo-eskimo habitation, Port au Choix, Newfoundland and Labrador
© Parks Canada / A.Cornellier / H.01.12.11.07(19), 1988

This guideline recognizes the contribution that academic scholarship makes to the understanding of place. History, including oral history and ethnohistory, archaeology, anthropology, and environmental sciences are the most likely, but not the only, relevant disciplines.

 

Last Updated: 2008-10-17 To the top
To the top
Important Notices

Bannière de Parcs Canada
 English Contactez-nous Aide Recherche Site du Canada
 À propos de l'Agence Parcs Canada Parcs nationaux du Canada Lieux historiques nationaux du Canada Aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada Patrimoine culturel
Patrimoine naturel
Page d'accueil de Parcs Canada
Recherche
Entrer un mot-clé :

Une introduction à l'étude des paysages culturels autochtones


LIGNES DIRECTRICES POUR L'IDENTIFICATION DES PAYSAGES CULTURELS AUTOCHTONES

Lignes directrices sur les paysages culturels autochtones

Sur quels principes pourrait-on s'appuyer pour suggérer et pour évaluer les paysages culturels autochtones susceptibles d'être désignés à l'échelle nationale?

Les lignes directrices qui suivent ont pour but d'aider la Commission à examiner l'importance nationale des paysages culturels autochtones.

1. Le groupe autochtone depuis longtemps associé à l'endroit a participé à son identification et à la détermination de son importance, consent à ce qu'il commémore sa culture et appuie sa désignation.

Inukshuk, tipis et personnes
Paallirmiut à Arvia'juaq, Nunavut.
© Parcs Canada / Direction des services archéologiques / Lyle Henderson / 1994.

Cette ligne directrice découle de l'orientation donnée par la CLMHC depuis 1990, selon laquelle les peuples autochtones doivent être consultés et doivent participer à l'identification des cadres et des lieux associés à leur histoire. Elle est conforme au processus de consultation établi concernant les sites du patrimoine autochtone (Bureau federale d'archéologie 1998a, 17-18) et au Statement of Principles and Best Practices for Commemorating Aboriginal History, draft 3 (Bureau federale d'archéologie 1998c, item 2).

Elle est également conforme à la recommandation 1.7.2 du Rapport de la Commission royale sur les peuples autochtones. Enfin, elle peut être conforme au cadre comparatif ou contextuel que la Commission choisit d'utiliser pour son évaluation, comme le territoire traditionnel proposé d'un groupe autochtone ou d'une Première nation (Bureau federale d'archéologie 1998a, 14 and 21).

2. Les aspects spirituels, culturels, économiques, sociaux et environnementaux qui témoignent de l'association du groupe avec l'endroit identifié, y compris la continuité et les traditions, illustrent son importance historique.

Tente de peau d'animal avec deux femmes à l'entrée
Tente niortoq, rivière Kazan, Territoires du Nord-Ouest.
© Archives nationales du Canada /A.E. Porsild / PA 101013, sans date.

Cette ligne directrice traite de l'identification de l'importance historique nationale à partir de l'attachement durable du groupe au territoire, de l'utilisation continue qu'il en a fait et des activités qu'il y a menées, de ses liens sociaux et familiaux, de sa connaissance intime de la région et de ses affinités spirituelles avec celle-ci.


3. Les caractéristiques culturelles et naturelles interdépendantes du lieu identifié en font un paysage culturel important.

Cheminée à gauche, chalet au centre et à droite, végétation basse et arbres autour.
Vestiges d'une cheminée et d'un chalet de pierre au village dogrib abandonné connu sous le nom de Nidzik'a K'ogolaa, en bordure de la piste Idaà, Territoires du Nord-Ouest.
© Parcs Canada / T.D. Andrews / 1991.

Cette ligne directrice reconnaît la nature intégrée du lien que les Autochtones entretiennent avec un lieu, notamment le caractère indissociable des valeurs culturelles et naturelles. Les lieux identifiés, qui seront sans doute fort divers, illustreront ce lien essentiel entre les forces culturelles et naturelles.

Dans les cas où les caractéristiques prennent principalement leur source dans la tradition orale et spirituelle et dans les activités liées au lieu, les vestiges tangibles pourraient être presque inexistants. Cependant, on pourra également trouver sur place des ressources naturelles, des sites archéologiques, des lieux de sépulture, des traces de culture matérielle, des documents ou des récits oraux.

La ligne directrice prévoit que l'identification tiendra compte de différents aspects de l'association du groupe au fil du temps. Elle prévoit également que l'identification des caractéristiques tiendra compte des composantes physiques comme l'écosystème, le climat, la géologie, la topographie, l'eau, le sol, le bassin visuel, des espèces fauniques et florales dominantes et importantes sur le plan culturel compte tenu des rapports entre le peuple autochtone concerné et l'endroit. Les Autochtones peuvent exprimer ces aspects sous une forme animale ou par d'autres métaphores associées à la nature.

Enfin, la ligne directrice prévoit qu'on tiendra compte de la diversité géographique et culturelle, de même que de l'expérience individuelle de chaque peuple autochtone du Canada (Bureau federale d'archéologie 1998c, item 2).

4. Les caractéristiques culturelles et naturelles témoignant de l'importance de l'endroit sont identifiées grâce à la tradition orale du groupe autochtone concerné.

Rocher en affleurement dans un pré avec des arbres au loin
Rocher Hatzic, Xá :ytem, lieu historique national, Colombie-Britannique.
© Parcs Canada / Direction des services archéologiques / David Smyth / 1997.

Cette ligne directrice suppose que les connaissances traditionnelles, y compris les connaissances traditionnelles sur l'environnement, comprendront sans doute les récits, noms de lieux, langages, utilisations traditionnelles, rituels et comportements associés à l'endroit identifié. Elle reconnaît que certaines connaissances sont impossibles à partager, mais elle considère que les connaissances disponibles doivent être suffisantes pour démontrer l'importance de l'endroit dans la culture du groupe concerné.

5. Les caractéristiques culturelles et naturelles témoignant de l'importance du lieu peuvent aussi être comprises grâce à des travaux spécialisés.

Rivage de roches polies par l'océan
Zone de fouilles archéologiques d'une habitation paléo-esquimaude du Dorset, Port au Choix, Terre-Neuve et Labrador.
© Parcs Canada / A. Cornellier / H.01.12.11.07(19), 1988

Cette ligne directrice reconnaît la contribution des travaux spécialisés à la compréhension d'un lieu. À cet égard, l'histoire, y compris l'histoire orale, de même que l'ethnohistoire, l'archéologie, l'anthropologie et les sciences de l'environnement comptent parmi les disciplines les plus pertinentes.

 

Dernière mise à jour : 2008-10-17 Haut de la page
Haut de la page
Avis importants