Parks Canada Banner
 Franšais Contact Us Help Search Canada Site
 About the Parks Canada Agency National Parks of Canada National Historic Sites of Canada National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada Cultural Heritage
Natural Heritage
Parks Canada Home
Search
Enter a keyword:

An Approach to Aboriginal Cultural Landscapes


NATIONAL HISTORIC SITE DESIGNATIONS OF ABORIGINAL CULTURAL LANDSCAPES

Designated Aboriginal Cultural Landscapes

How is the changed approach of the HSMBC reflected in recent designations of Aboriginal history?

Map of Canada with designated Aboriginal Cultural Landscapes marked as points.
Map: Places Designated as Aboriginal Cultural Landscapes in Canada as of December 1999.
© Parks Canada / Dan Page
Click here to view a larger version

Since 1990 the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada has considered a number of Aboriginal cultural landscapes in addition to Kejimkujik National Park. As early as 1991, Hatzic Rock, now known as Xá:ytem, in British Columbia presented not only archaeological evidences of potential national significance but also the importance of this transformer site in terms of Aboriginal cultural values. Drawing directly on Gordon Mohs' research on the Stó:lo people, it demonstrated the cosmological relationships that underpinned its role as a sacred site.(Lee and Henderson, 1991) Cost-sharing recommended in 1998, following consultation with the Stó:lo people, endorsed the Board's acceptance of the exceptional national significance of sites valued primarily for their spiritual importance to Aboriginal peoples.

Close-up of boulder outcrop.
Hatzic Rock, Xá:ytem, National Historic Site, British Columbia.
© Xá:ytem Longhouse Interpretative Centre

The inland Kazan River Fall Caribou Crossing and the coastal island of Arvia'juaq with the adjacent point Qikiqtaarjuk in the Eastern Arctic, designated in 1995, provide exceptional illustrations of the integrated economic, social and spiritual values of Aboriginal cultural landscapes. Chosen respectively by the communities of Baker Lake and Arviat to conserve and depict Inuit history and culture in this region, these areas "speak eloquently to the cultural, spiritual and economic life of the Inuit in the Keewatin region ... and as sites of particular significance to the respective communities". (HSMBC Minutes, July 1995)

The results of earlier archaeological investigations, mapping using a global positioning system, site visits with Elders, oral interviews with other knowledgeable Inuit in the communities, and recording of traditional stories associated with the areas identified both the traditional Aboriginal values and the scientific values associated with these places.(Keith, 1995; Henderson, 1995)

Rocky plain with people in the distance.
Fall Caribou Crossing, Kazan River, Nunavut.
© Parks Canada / Lyle Henderson / 1996.

The approved plaque texts articulate the associative and physical values of these cultural landscapes:

"For centuries, the fall caribou crossing on the Kazan River was essential to the inland Inuit, providing them the necessities of daily life and the means to survive the long winter. Once in the water, the caribou were vulnerable to hunters in qajaqs who caught and lanced as many as possible. The Inuit cherished and cared for the land at crossing areas in accordance with traditional beliefs and practices to ensure the caribou returned each year during their southward migration. To inland Inuit, the caribou was the essence of life. All parts were valuable for food, fuel, tools, clothing and shelter."

And:

"For centuries, the Inuit returned here each summer to camp and harvest the abundant marine resources. These gatherings also provided an opportunity to teach the young, celebrate life, and affirm and renew Inuit society. The oral histories, traditional knowledge, and archaeological sites at Arvia'juaq and Qikiqtaarjuk provide a cultural and historical foundation for future generations. These sites continue to be centres to celebrate, practise, and rejuvenate Inuit culture in the Arviat area."

Presented to the Board for designation by the Société Matcite8eia and the Aboriginal community of Pikogan, Quebec in 1996, Pointe Abitibi is a point in Lake Abitibi, the centre of the traditional territory of the Abitibi8innik and of the water routes they used to travel through vast areas. The point is important to the Abitibi8innik as it has been their summer gathering place over the centuries where they have shared resources from the winter hunt, fished, feasted and developed social relationships. It has been the place of cultural contact and exchange, both with other Aboriginal people and with Europeans and Canadians. It is also a sacred site to the Abitibi8innik. While use ended with permanent settlement in 1955, Elders' traditional knowledge has been collected and there is "symbolic attachment to the point which is very strong in the collective memory".

Family in canoe in front of river shore
Family travelling by canoe, Abitibi River, Quebec.
© National Archives of Canada / PA 44220 / no date.

Archaeological resources indicated 6,000 years of use, including post-contact sites of church, cemetery, fur trading posts, and camp sites. The Société Matcite8eia also identified a rich historical record related to the fur trade as part of the historical significance of the point. The community supported both designation of the point to commemorate the history of the Abitib8innik and development of it as a historic site.(Société Matcite8eia, 1996)

Building on the earlier Northern Native History initiative, the Keewatin area project, and the Deline fishery study, Christopher C. Hanks in 1996 wrote of the fundamental link between culture and land as the core basis for understanding the cultural landscape of Grizzly Bear Mountain and Scented Grass Hills in the western Northwest Territories. With a firm base in both local traditional knowledge and the relevant scientific and academic literature, the agenda paper he prepared on behalf of the Sahtu Dene identified three bases for national historical significance:

  • the Sahtu Dene had lived on this land since time immemorial,
     
  • they had evolved there as a distinct people,
     
  • the interplay of place names and traditional narratives in Grizzly Bear Mountain and Scented Grass Hills has characterized their relationship to the land.(Hanks, 1996: 885, 888)

Selected narratives relate to specific landscape features and larger landscape meanings, which are now mapped on the Great Bear Lake region. Five broad time periods group the narratives thematically, but for the Sahtu Dene, "thematic connections of spiritual power and relationships with animals are more significant than time".(Hanks, 1996: 906) The narratives play important roles in sustaining Sahtu Dene culture by transmitting language, prescribing behaviour, and identifying sacred sites from generation to generation through the association of place and story

Rocky hill rising from lake.
Bear Mountain, Great Bear Lake, Northwest Territories
© National Archives of Canada / PA 42056, no date.

In 1997 the Gwichya Gwich'in of Tsiigehtchic in the western Northwest Territories presented for commemoration, protection, and presentation the segment of Nagwichoonjik [Mackenzie River] from Thunder River to Point Separation, which they identified as the area of their traditional homeland most appropriate for designation. Following Hanks' approach closely, a series of oral narratives of Raven, Atachukaii, Nagaii, Ahts'an Veh, and others are closely tied to the identified land and its defining features.(Gwich'in Social and Cultural Institute, 1997)

Looking upriver from the ancient quarry site above the mouth of Thunder River.
Nagwichoonjik near Thunder River, Northwest Territories.
© Parks Canada / D. Neufeld / 1999.

The superimposed five period time grouping of the stories served to develop a "holistic understanding of history, encompassing the whole of the land and assigning the river its meaningful place within it ...[;] the stories of their history and the experiences of their lives on the land ... [are the] fundamental cultural themes [that demonstrate] the important place the river occupies in Gwichya Gwich'in culture".(Gwich'in Social and Cultural Institute, 1997: 824)

In presenting Yuquot in Nootka Sound, British Columbia for designation in 1997, the Mowachaht-Muchalaht First Nations requested "balancing history" by having their history recognized as it is represented by the integration of place and narrative. In this place "where the wind blows from all directions" and "where all the people of Nootka Sound come together", they elaborate the significance of Yuquot, their "most important community", in terms of a "place of power and change".

cove in foreground, lighthouse and other structures on island in middle ground, mountains in background
Friendly Cove, the site of the former village at Yuquot, on Nootka Sound, British Columbia.
© Parks Canada / Lyle Dick / 1997.

They describe this centre of the Mowachaht world where they have lived since the beginning of time, where they have hosted European travellers since 18th century imperial exploration, where they developed whaling power of which the Whalers' Washing House is the physical encapsulation, and where they have deep spiritual bonds to the "immense natural power and beauty" of the environment. Western historical values such as archaeological, iconographic, and artifactual evidence as well as primary historical sources complement traditional knowledge in showing the central place Yuquot holds in their culture.(Mowachaht-Muchalaht, 1997)

The recently completed study of the history of Nunavut from an Inuit perspective, based on consultations with Elders and others in the community, and prepared under the guidance of an Inuit steering committee with the input of knowledgeable scholars and Parks Canada staff, has identified clear priorities for identifying places of principal importance to the Inuit.

Large rounded stone
Weight-lifting stone, Arvia'juag and Qikiqtaarjuk, Nunavut
© Parks Canada / Archaeological Services Branch / Lyle Henderson / 1993.

Three principles express these thematic priorities:

  • enduring use,
  • Inuit culture,
  • Inuit identity and regional variation.

All centre on the "close traditional relationship between culture and land use, and many traditional dwelling sites, travel routes, resource harvesting sites and sacred places have a rich complex of associative values, combining economic, social, and spiritual purposes in a sequence of annual movements from place to place, with people gathering in greater or smaller numbers according to their needs and opportunities".(Goldring, 1998)

 

 

Last Updated: 2008-10-17 To the top
To the top
Important Notices

Bannière de Parcs Canada
 English Contactez-nous Aide Recherche Site du Canada
 À propos de l'Agence Parcs Canada Parcs nationaux du Canada Lieux historiques nationaux du Canada Aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada Patrimoine culturel
Patrimoine naturel
Page d'accueil de Parcs Canada
Recherche
Entrer un mot-clé :

Une introduction à l'étude des paysages culturels autochtones


LIEUX HISTORIQUES NATIONAUX DÉSIGNÉS PAYSAGES CULTURELS AUTOCHTONES

Paysages culturels autochtones désignés

Comment la nouvelle approche de la CLMHC se reflète-t-elle dans les récentes désignations liées à l'histoire des Autochtones?

Carte: Endroits désignés paysages culturels autochtones au Canada en date de décembre 1999
Carte: Endroits désignés paysages culturels autochtones au Canada en date de décembre 1999.
© Parcs Canada / Dan Page
Cliquez ici pour obtenir une version agrandie

Depuis 1990, la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada a étudié plusieurs paysages culturels autochtones outre le parc national Kejimkujik. Dès 1991, elle a constaté que le rocher Hatzic, connu sous le nom de Xá:ytem (en anglais seulement), en Colombie-Britannique, présentait non seulement des vestiges archéologiques témoignant de son importance nationale potentielle, mais avait aussi un intérêt comme lieu de métamorphose compte tenu des valeurs culturelles autochtones. S'inspirant directement des travaux de Gordon Mohs sur le peuple stó:lo , elle a démontré les liens cosmologiques qui expliquent sa fonction d'endroit sacré(Lee et Henderson, 1991). Le partage des frais recommandé en 1998 après consultation auprès des Stó:lo a établi que la Commission admet l'importance nationale exceptionnelle d'endroits appréciés principalement en raison de leur importance spirituelle pour les peuples autochtones.

Gros plan du rocher en affleurement
Rocher Hatzic, Xá :ytem, lieu historique national, Colombie-Britannique.
© Centre d'interprétation Xá :ytem Longhouse.

Déclarés d'importance historique nationale en 1995, le site de chasse du passage des caribous en automne, à l'intérieur des terres, sur les berges de la rivière Kazan, de même que celui de l'île côtière d'Arvia'juaq (en anglais seulement) et de la pointe adjacente de Qikiqtaarjuk dans l'Est de l'Arctique, fournissent des exemples exceptionnels de l'intégration des valeurs économiques, sociales et spirituelles dans les paysages culturels autochtones. Choisis respectivement par les communautés de Baker Lake et d'Arviat dans le but de conserver et d'illustrer l'histoire et la culture inuit de la région, ces endroits « sont à la fois des témoignages éloquents de la vie culturelle, spirituelle et économique des Inuit du Keewatin ... et des lieux d'une grande importance pour leur communauté respective » (procès-verbal de la CLMHC, Juillet 1995).

Des fouilles archéologiques antérieures, des travaux de cartographie réalisés à l'aide d'un système de positionnement global, des rencontres sur place avec des Aînés, des entrevues avec d'autres membres bien informés de la communauté et l'enregistrement des récits traditionnels associés à ces endroits ont permis de cerner les valeurs traditionnelles autochtones de même que les valeurs scientifiques qui s'y rattachent. (Keith, 1995; Henderson, 1995)

Plaine rocheuse avec, au loin, des personnes
Passage des caribous en automne, rivière Kazan, Nunavut.
© Parcs Canada / Lyle Henderson / 1996.

Le texte définitif des plaques explique bien les valeurs associatives et matérielles de ces paysages culturels :

« Pendant des siècles, les caribous qui traversaient la rivière Kazan, à l'automne, assurèrent la subsistance quotidienne des Inuit de l'intérieur et leur survie durant le long hiver. Une fois dans l'eau, les caribous étaient à la merci des chasseurs en kayak, qui les capturaient et en harponnaient le plus grand nombre possible. Les Inuit vénéraient et protégeaient les lieux de traversée pour assurer le retour annuel des caribous lors de leur migration vers le sud. Ceux-ci étaient pour eux l'essence de la vie et leur procuraient nourriture, combustible, outils, vêtements et abri. »

Et:

« Pendant des siècles, les Inuit venaient camper ici l'été et récolter les abondantes ressources marines. Ils profitaient aussi de ces réunions pour instruire les jeunes, pour célébrer la vie et pour affirmer et renouveler la société inuit. Ces deux lieux sont toujours des centres où on célèbre, vit et rajeunit la culture inuit de la région d'Arviat. Les récits traditionnels, les connaissances ancestrales et les sites archéologiques d'Arvia'juaq et de Qikiqtaarjuk forment une base culturelle et historique pour les générations à venir. »

Proposée par la Société Matcite8eia et la communauté autochtone de Pikogan, au Québec, en 1996, la pointe Abitibi, située dans le lac Abitibi, est au centre du territoire traditionnel des Abitibi8innik et des voies fluviales que ceux-ci empruntaient pour parcourir de longues distances. Ce lieu revêt une grande importance pour les Abitibi8innik, qui s'y sont réunis l'été pendant des siècles pour partager les prises de l'hiver, pêcher, festoyer et renouer des liens sociaux. Site privilégié de contacts et d'échanges culturels avec les autres peuples autochtones, les Européens et les Canadiens, la pointe Abitibi est également un endroit sacré pour les Abitibi8innik. Elle a cessé d'être utilisée en 1955, lorsque les Abitibi8innik se sont installés dans des établissements permanents, mais les connaissances traditionnelles des Aînés ont été recueillies et on note « un attachement symbolique à la pointe qui est très fort dans la mémoire collective ».

Famille en canot devant un rivage
Famille se déplaçant en canot, rivière Abitibi, Québec.
© Archives nationales du Canada / PA 44220, sans date.

Les vestiges archéologiques, incluant des sites post-contact - église, cimetière, postes de traite des fourrures et campements - témoignent de 6 000 ans d'utilisation. La Société Matcite8eia a également trouvé un document historique lié au commerce des fourrures qui ajoute à l'importance historique de la pointe. La communauté appuie la désignation de la pointe pour commémorer l'histoire des Abitib8innik et souhaite en faire un lieu historique (Société Matcite8eia, 1996).

En 1996, dans la foulée de l'initiative antérieure de commémoration de l'histoire des Autochtones du Nord, du projet du Keewatin et de l'étude sur la pêcherie de Déline (voir plus bas), Christopher C. Hanks a explicité « le lien élémentaire entre ... la culture et la terre », qui est au coeur de la compréhension du paysage culturel du mont Grizzly Bear et des collines Scented Grass (en anglais seulement), dans l'ouest des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Bien ancré à la fois dans les connaissances traditionnelles locales et dans la littérature scientifique et spécialisée pertinente, le mémoire qu'il a rédigé pour le compte des Dénés du Sahtu identifiait trois critères de désignation d'importance historique nationale :

  • ce peuple vit sur ce territoire depuis des temps immémoriaux;
     
  • il s'y est développé comme peuple distinct;
     
  • les toponymes et les récits traditionnels associés au mont Grizzly Bear et aux collines Scented Grass témoignent de façon caractéristique de son lien avec le territoire (Hanks, 1996: 885, 888).

Des récits choisis liés à des éléments particuliers du paysage et au sens large du paysage qui sont maintenant représentés sur des cartes de la région du Grand lac de l'Ours. Cinq grandes périodes fournissent un cadre temporel permettant un groupement thématique des récits, mais pour les Dénés du Sahtu, « les liens thématiques de pouvoir spirituel et de rapport avec les animaux sont plus importants que la notion de temps » (Hanks, 1996: 906). Les récits contribuent énormément au maintien de la culture des Dénés du Sahtu, en ce sens qu'ils transmettent la langue dénée, les comportements souhaitables et les emplacements des lieux sacrés d'une génération à l'autre, grâce à l'association des endroits et des récits.

Colline rocheuse émergeant du lac
Mont Bear, Grand lac de l'Ours, Territoires du Nord-Ouest.
© Archives nationales du Canada / PA 42056, sans date.

En 1997, les Gwichya Gwich'in de Tsiigehtchic, dans l'ouest des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, ont proposé que le segment de Nagwichoonjik [fleuve Mackenzie] compris entre la rivière Thunder et la pointe Separation, qu'ils considèrent comme l'endroit le plus significatif de leur territoire traditionnel, soit désigné à des fins de commémoration, de protection et de mise en valeur. Dans cette proposition, comme dans les travaux de Hanks, divers récits oraux mettant en scène Corbeau, Atachukaii, Nagaii, Ahts'an Veh et d'autres sont étroitement liés à la terre identifiée et aux caractéristiques qui la définissent (Gwich'in Social and Cultural Institute, 1997).

Conifères, végétation basse devant la rivière, pente rocheuse végétalisée menant à la rive, à gauche.
Ngwichoonjik près de la rivière Thunder, Territoires du Nord-Ouest.
© Parcs Canada / D. Neufeld / 1999.

La superposition d'un cadre temporel regroupant les récits selon cinq périodes a permis d'arriver à « une compréhension globale de l'histoire, intégrant l'ensemble du territoire tout en accordant au fleuve sa place significative à l'intérieur de celui-ci ...[;] les récits, qui traitent de leur histoire et de leur expérience de vie de la terre ... [sont des] thèmes culturels fondamentaux [qui démontrent] la place importante que le fleuve occupe dans la culture des Gwichya Gwich'in » (Gwich'in Social and Cultural Institute, 1997: 824).

Dans leur présentation de 1997 en vue d'obtenir la désignation de Yuquot, dans le détroit de Nootka, en Colombie-Britannique, les Premières nations Mowachaht-Muchalaht ont demandé qu'on « rétablisse l'équilibre historique » en reconnaissant leur histoire telle qu'elle est exprimée par l'intégration des endroits et des récits. Pour expliquer l'importance de cet endroit « où le vent souffle de partout » et « où tous les peuples du détroit de Nootka se rassemblent », ils disent de Yuquot, « leur principale communauté », qu'il s'agit d'un « lieu de puissance et de changement ».

Plage avec bâtiment et anse à l'avant-plan, phare et autres structures sur l'île au deuxième plan, montagnes à l'arrière-plan
Friendly Cove, site de l'ancien village à Yuquot, dans la baie Nootka, Colombie-Britannique.
© Parcs Canada / Lyle Dick

Centre du monde pour les Mowachaht, Yuquot est l'endroit où ils vivent depuis le début des temps, où ils ont accueilli des visiteurs depuis l'époque des grandes explorations impériales du XVIIIe siècle, où ils ont développé leur habileté de baleiniers, dont le site du Sanctuaire du baleinier est l'expression physique, et où ils conservent des liens spirituels intenses avec « la puissance et la beauté immenses de la nature » dans leur environnement. Les valeurs historiques occidentales, fondées entre autres, sur les vestiges archéologiques, l'iconographie et les artefacts, de même que les sources documentaires primaires complètent les connaissances traditionnelles sur le rôle vital de Yuquot dans leur culture (Mowachaht-Muchalaht, 1997)

Une récente étude présentant l'histoire du Nunavut du point de vue des Inuit, fondée sur des consultations avec les communautés et sur le jugement des Aînés, et réalisée sous la gouverne d'un comité directeur inuit appuyé par des employés et des spécialistes, a permis d'établir clairement les priorités en matière d'identification des endroits importants pour les Inuit.

Grosse pierre ronde
Pierre d'haltérophilie, Arvia'juag et Qikiqtaarjuk, Nunavut.
© Parcs Canada / Lyle Henderson / 1993

Trois grands principes expriment ces priorités :

  • l'utilisation continue;
  • la culture inuit;
  • l'identité inuit et ses variations régionales.

Tout est axé sur « le lien traditionnel étroit entre culture et utilisation des terres, et les nombreux sites traditionnels d'habitation et d'exploitation des ressources, les voies de déplacement et les lieux sacrés renferment un riche écheveau de valeurs associatives témoignant des impératifs économiques, sociaux et spirituels du cycle annuel des déplacements, ponctués de rassemblements plus ou moins importants selon les besoins des gens et les occasions » (Goldring, 1998)

 

Dernière mise à jour : 2008-10-17 Haut de la page
Haut de la page
Avis importants