Parks Canada Banner
 Franšais Contact Us Help Search Canada Site
 About the Parks Canada Agency National Parks of Canada National Historic Sites of Canada National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada Cultural Heritage
Natural Heritage
Parks Canada Home
Search
Enter a keyword:

An Approach to Aboriginal Cultural Landscapes


NATIONAL HISTORIC SITE DESIGNATIONS OF ABORIGINAL CULTURAL LANDSCAPES

Consultation and Participation

What effect is the participation of associated peoples having on the process of designation related to Aboriginal history?

The active involvement of Aboriginal people, particularly Elders, has refocused the investigative effort from the analysis of physical resources to recognition of the holistic and essentially spiritual relationship of people and land. When the petroglyphs at Kejimkujik National Park, Nova Scotia, were initially identified for commemoration, they were seen as the primary cultural resources of the park. Consultation with the Mi'kmaq people reoriented the commemorative focus from the single resource type to the whole park area.

Drawings on stone depicting humans and snakes.
Mi'kmaq Petroglyphs, Kejimkujik National Park/National Historic Site, Nova Scotia.
© Parks Canada / P.Hope / 03.31.04.18(07), 1982.

Arguing the "strong sense of connection between people and place", the paper prepared jointly by representatives of the Mi'kmaq people and Parks Canada's Atlantic regional office proposed three bases for commemoration of the "cultural landscape" of the region:

  • the 4000 year history of traditional land use in which the archaeological resources were largely undisturbed;
     
  • the natural environment of the park which enhanced an understanding of Mi'kmaq spirituality with the land;
     
  • and the petroglyph sites, which are a significant part of Mi'kmaq cultural and spiritual expression.(Mi'kmaq, 1994)
Waterfalls with rocky shoreline.
Waterfalls on the Mersey River, Kejimkujik National Park/National Historic Site, Nova Scotia.
© Parks Canada / Barrett & Mackay / 03.31.03.04(61), 1995.

The HSMBC recommended that : "the cultural landscape of Kejimkujik National Park which attests to 4000 years of Mi'kmaq occupancy of this area, and which includes petroglyph sites, habitation sites, fishing sites, hunting territories, travel routes and burials, is of national historic significance...."(HSMBC Minutes, November 1994)

The Mi'kmaq on Malpeque Bay, PEI(NHS 1996, 1997), designated as an "event" rather than as a place, focusses on the historical significance of 10,000 years of enduring use and settlement of the bay - "continuity and attachment to the land are seen as the defining factors in determining historical significance" - and on the bay as "a site of Native spirituality". For centuries, a traditional area for hunting, fishing, and gathering for the Mi'kmaq of Prince Edward Island, today the bay has a "profound symbolic value for many Mi'kmaq ...."(Johnston, A.J.B., 1996; HSMBC Minutes 1997, 1996)

Man reading interpretive panels between plaque and house.
Commemoration for the Mi'kmaq at Malpeque Bay on Lennox Island, Prince Edward Island.
© Parks Canada / Barb MacDonald / 1999.

The Deline Traditional Fishery and Old Fort Franklin, NWT (NHS 1996) were designated because of the Dene and Métis people's assistance to Sir John Franklin's second expedition and the impact of Franklin's and later expeditions on the Aboriginal people of the region, particularly in contributing "to the emergence of the Sahtu Dene as a distinctive cultural group".(Hanks, 1996; HSMBC Minutes, November 1996) As well, the Sahtu Dene identified the cultural significance of the fishery at Deline to their occupation of the region. The Sahtu Dene's request for protection and presentation of the site emphasizes the importance of place as an expression of Aboriginal history.

Handmade sign in boreal forest.
Location of Old Fort Franklin, Northwest Territories.
© National Archives of Canada / PA 19354, 1923.

Equally, when Parks Canada initiated a commemorative integrity exercise at Nan sdins/Ninstints National Historic Site, British Columbia, consultation with the hereditary chiefs argued for recognition of heritage values that identified not only the achievements of Haida art and architecture represented by the village - the focus of the National Historic Site and World Heritage Site designations - but also "the history of a people in a place": the continuing Haida culture and history, the connectedness of the Haida to the land and the sea, the sacredness of the site, and its role as the visual key to the oral traditions of the Haida over thousands of years.(Dick and Wilson, 1998)

Totem poles on forest edge.
Nan sdins/ Ninstints National Historic Site, British Columbia.
© Parks Canada / T. Sawyer / H.10.95.06.17(229), 1991.

All these examples demonstrate Parks Canada's move to implement four principles resulting from the National Workshops on the History of Aboriginal Peoples in Canada in 1992-94:(Parks Canada, 1994b)

  • fundamental importance of Aboriginal traditional knowledge to the understanding of the culture and history of all indigenous peoples;
     
  • invitation to Elders assist in documentation of sites and objects and to communities to assist in developing mechanisms to enable access by Aboriginal people to the collection;
     
  • meaningful participatory consultations with Aboriginal groups;
     
  • and Aboriginal peoples' taking a leading role in presenting their history and culture.

Involvement of Dogrib Elders in extensive studies along the Idaà Trail in the Northwest Territories similarly expanded the initial research design from a survey of traditional sites and documentation of Dogrib place names and narratives to documentation of sacred sites, travelling using traditional methods, and developing a training program in archaeological methods and recording of oral traditions for Dogrib youth.(Andrews and Zoe, 1997: 8- 10) In the resulting six category classification of sacred sites, Elders recognized five categories but not a sixth which represented identifications of significance from outside their culture.(Andrews, Zoe and Herder, 1998: 307-08)

Harry Simpson, Dogrib Elder, examining the remains of a birchbark canoe along Idaà Trail
Harry Simpson, Dogrib Elder, examining the remains of a birchbark canoe along Idaà Trail, Northwest Territories.
© Parks Canada / T.D. Andrews. / 1994.

Recent research projects submitted to the HSMBC have consistently and actively included involvement and consultation of local communities, including Elders. In July 1998 the HSMBC once again "reaffirmed the principle ... that consideration of Aboriginal Peoples' history must be predicated on active participation and consultation".(HSMBC Minutes)

 

Last Updated: 2008-10-17 To the top
To the top
Important Notices

Bannière de Parcs Canada
 English Contactez-nous Aide Recherche Site du Canada
 À propos de l'Agence Parcs Canada Parcs nationaux du Canada Lieux historiques nationaux du Canada Aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada Patrimoine culturel
Patrimoine naturel
Page d'accueil de Parcs Canada
Recherche
Entrer un mot-clé :

Une introduction à l'étude des paysages culturels autochtones


LIEUX HISTORIQUES NATIONAUX DÉSIGNÉS PAYSAGES CULTURELS AUTOCHTONES

Consultation et participation

Quel est l'effet de la participation des peuples touchés sur le processus menant à des désignations liées à l'histoire des Autochtones?

Dorénavant, grâce à la participation active des Autochtones, et plus particulièrement des Aînés, les efforts de recherche portent sur la reconnaissance du lien holistique et essentiellement spirituel qui existe entre le peuple et la terre plutôt que sur l'analyse des ressources matérielles. À l'époque de leur identification initiale à des fins de commémoration, les pétroglyphes du parc national Kejimkujik, en Nouvelle-Écosse, étaient considérés comme les principales ressources culturelles du parc. Des consultations menées auprès des Mi'kmaqs ont permis de rajuster le tir et de considérer l'importance de l'ensemble du parc plutôt qu'un seul type de ressources.

Dessins sur la pierre représentant des êtres humains et des serpents
Pétroglyphes mi'kmaqs, parc national/lieu historique national Kejimkujik, Nouvelle-Écosse.
© Parcs Canada / P.Hope / 03.31.04.18(07), 1982.

Soulignant « le lien étroit qui unit le peuple et l'endroit », le document préparé conjointement par des représentants des Mi'kmaqs et des employés du bureau de l'Atlantique de Parcs Canada proposait de fonder la commémoration du « paysage culturel » de la région sur trois motifs :

  • les 4 000 ans d'utilisation traditionnelle de la terre, dont les vestiges archéologiques sont en grande partie intacts;
     
  • l'environnement naturel du parc qui permet de mieux comprendre le lien spirituel que les Mi'kmaqs entretiennent avec la terre;
     
  • les sites de pétroglyphes, qui constituent un volet important de l'expression de la culture et de la spiritualité des Mi'kmaqs (Mi'kmaq, 1994).
Chute d'eau et rivage rocheux
Chute d'eau, rivière Mersey, parc national/lieu historique national Kejimkujik, Nouvelle-Écosse.
© Parcs Canada / Barrett Mackay / 03.31.03.04 (61), 1995.

La CLMHC a recommandé que : « le paysage culturel du parc national Kejimkujik, qui témoigne de 4 000 ans d'occupation de la région par les Mi'kmaqs et qui comprend des sites de pétroglyphes, d'habitation, de sépulture et de pêche, des territoires de chasse et des voies de déplacement, soit désigné d'importance historique nationale ... » (procès-verbal de la CLMHC, Novembre 1994).

La présence des Mi'kmaqs dans la baie Malpèque (en anglais seulement), à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard (LHN 1996, 1997), désignée à titre d'« événement » plutôt que de lieu, met l'accent sur l'importance historique de 10 000 ans d'utilisation et d'occupation continuelles dans la baie - « la continuité et l'attachement à la terre sont les éléments déterminants de l'importance historique » - et sur la baie elle-même en tant que « haut-lieu de spiritualité autochtone ». Territoire traditionnel de chasse, de pêche et de cueillette pour les Mi'kmaqs de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard pendant des siècles, la baie revêt aujourd'hui une valeur symbolique profonde pour de nombreux Mi'kmaqs ...." (Johnston, A.J.B., 1996; procès-verbal de la CLMHC 1997, 1996).

Monument devant trois panneaux d'interprétation, bâtiment et végétation en bordure de la baie.
La commémoration pour les Mi'kmaqs dans la baie Malpèque, sur l'Île Lennox, Île-du-Prince-Édouard.
© Parcs Canada / Barb MacDonald / 1999.

La pêcherie traditionnelle de Déline et le vieux Fort Franklin, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest (LHN 1996), ont été désignés comme lieu historique en raison de l'appui et de l'aide consentis par les Dénés et les Métis à la deuxième expédition de sir John Franklin et de l'impact de l'expédition de Franklin et de celles qui ont suivi sur les peuples autochtones de la région, particulièrement en ce qui a trait à « la définition de l'identité culturelle distinctive des Dénés du Sahtu » (Hanks, 1996; procès-verbal de la CLMHC, Novembre 1996). De même, les Dénés du Sahtu considèrent la pêcherie de Déline comme un témoignage culturel importan{tt de leur présence dans la région. La protection et la mise en valeur du site demandées par les Dénés du Sahtu soulignent l'importance que ceux-ci accordent au lieu comme expression de l'histoire autochtone.

Panneau fait à la main dans la forêt boréale
Emplacement du vieux fort Franklin, Territoires du Nord-Ouest.
© Archives nationales du Canada / PA 19354, 1923.

De même, quand Parcs Canada a amorcé un exercice d'intégrité commémorative au lieu historique Nan sdins/Ninstints (en anglais seulement), en Colombie-Britannique, des consultations auprès des chefs héréditaires ont révélé la nécessité de reconnaître certaines valeurs patrimoniales identifiant non seulement les réalisations artistiques et architecturales des Haïdas telles que représentées par le village - au coeur des désignations comme lieu historique national et site du patrimoine mondial - mais aussi « l'histoire d'un peuple à un endroit » : la continuité de la culture et de l'histoire des Haïdas, les liens étroits unissant les Haïdas à la terre et à la mer, le caractère sacré du lieu, et son rôle comme repère visuel des traditions orales millénaires des Haïdas (Dick et Wilson, 1998).

Mâts totémiques à l'orée de la forêt
Lieu historique national de Nan sdins/ Ninstints, Colombie-Britannique.
© Parcs Canada / T. Sawyer / H.10.95.06.17(229), 1991.

Tous ces exemples illustrent les efforts de Parcs Canada en vue d'appliquer quatre principes établis dans le cadre des ateliers nationaux sur l'histoire des peuples autochtones du Canada, organisés entre 1992 et 1994 (Parcs Canada, 1994b):

  • l'importance fondamentale des connaissances traditionnelles des Autochtones pour la compréhension de la culture et de l'histoire de tous les peuples autochtones;
     
  • l'invitation lancée aux Aînés de participer à la documentation des lieux et des objets, ainsi qu'aux communautés de contribuer à l'élaboration de mécanismes permettant aux peuples autochtones d'avoir accès à la collection;
     
  • des consultations fondées sur la participation active des groupes autochtones;
     
  • le rôle prépondérant des peuples autochtones dans la présentation de leur histoire et de leur culture.

De la même façon, la participation des Aînés dogribs aux études poussées menées le long de la piste Idaà, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, a permis aux chercheurs de dépasser les objectifs initiaux du projet, limité à l'examen des sites traditionnels et à la documentation des toponymes et des récits dogribs, et de documenter aussi les lieux sacrés, de se déplacer selon les méthodes traditionnelles et d'élaborer un programme de formation en archéologie et en relevé des traditions orales destiné aux jeunes Dogribs (Andrews et Zoe, 1997: 8-10). Ces travaux ont débouché sur la définition de six catégories d'endroits sacrés, dont cinq ont été reconnus par les Aînés - le sixième s'appuyant sur des critères étrangers à leur culture (Andrews, Zoe et Herder, 1998: 307-08.

Aîné debout près des vestiges d'un canot, végétation et eau à l'arrière-plan.
Harry Simpson, aîné dogrib, examinant les restes d'un canot d'écorce de bouleau en bordure de la piste Idaà, Territoires du Nord-Ouest.
© Parcs Canada / T.D. Andrews / 1994.

Les projets de recherche soumis récemment à la CLMHC impliquaient tous la participation et la consultation actives des communautés locales, et notamment des Aînés. En juillet 1998, la CLMHC a une fois de plus « réaffirmé le principe ... selon lequel l'étude de l'histoire des peuples autochtones doit reposer sur une participation et une consultation actives » (procès-verbal de la CLMHC ).

 

Dernière mise à jour : 2008-10-17 Haut de la page
Haut de la page
Avis importants