Parks Canada Banner
 Franšais Contact Us Help Search Canada Site
 About the Parks Canada Agency National Parks of Canada National Historic Sites of Canada National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada Cultural Heritage
Natural Heritage
Parks Canada Home
Search
Enter a keyword:

An Approach to Aboriginal Cultural Landscapes


CULTURAL LANDSCAPES

Canadian Approach

Has Canada entered into this growing dialogue on cultural landscapes as heritage resources?

In the past decade national heritage agencies have recognized cultural landscapes within their various cultural resource management programs. Parks Canada defines cultural landscapes as "Any geographical area that has been modified, influenced, or given special cultural meaning by people" (Parks Canada, 1994a: 119) and has included them in the National Historic Sites System Plan.

Deer crossing prairie with hills behind
Pronghorn in short grass prairie, Grasslands National Park, Saskatchewan.
© Parks Canada / A. Cornellier / 08.81.10.01(43), 1988.

Designated national historic sites include all three types of cultural landscapes: parks and gardens as designed landscapes, urban and rural historic districts as evolved landscapes, and several associative cultural landscapes related to the history of Aboriginal peoples.

Most provinces, including Ontario and Nova Scotia, have developed an approach to cultural landscapes. However, both the provinces and the territories have generally used an archaeological rather than a cultural landscapes approach to the commemoration of Aboriginal heritage. They recognize, nonetheless, that some designated sites, such as Writing-on-Stone Provincial Park in Alberta and White Mountain on Lake Mistassini in Quebec, have cultural landscape values. British Columbia's traditional use studies program (British Columbia, 1996) and Yukon's address to Aboriginal values of place in its planning processes are examples of other approaches to recognizing cultural landscapes.

Aboriginal decision-makers, as well, have their own approach, including the study of place names for the management of symbolic values.

River bend with cliffs and prairie vegetation in autumn.
North Saskatchewan River at Batoche, Saskatchewan.
© Parks Canada / Photo Services / H.08.81.04.03(03), 1980.

 

 

Last Updated: 2008-10-17 To the top
To the top
Important Notices

Bannière de Parcs Canada
 English Contactez-nous Aide Recherche Site du Canada
 À propos de l'Agence Parcs Canada Parcs nationaux du Canada Lieux historiques nationaux du Canada Aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada Patrimoine culturel
Patrimoine naturel
Page d'accueil de Parcs Canada
Recherche
Entrer un mot-clé :

Une introduction à l'étude des paysages culturels autochtones


PAYSAGES CULTURELS

L'approche canadienne

Le Canada participe-t-il à ce dialogue croissant sur les paysages culturels en tant que ressources du patrimoine?

Au cours des dix dernières années, les organismes patrimoniaux canadiens ont reconnu les paysages culturels dans leurs divers programmes de gestion des ressources culturelles. Parcs Canada les définit comme suit : « Toute étendue géographique ayant été modifiée ou influencée par l'activité humaine, ou à laquelle est conférée une signification culturelle spéciale » (Parcs Canada, 1994a: 119) et les a inclus dans son Plan du réseau des lieux historiques nationaux.

Cerf traversant la prairie avec collines à l'arrière-plan
Antilope d'Amérique dans une prairie à graminées courtes, parc national des Prairies, Saskatchewan)
© Parcs Canada / A. Cornellier / 08.81.10.01(43), 1988.

On retrouve les trois catégories de paysages culturels dans les lieux historiques nationaux désignés : des parcs et des jardins, qui forment des paysages clairement définis; des districts historiques urbains ou ruraux, qui forment des paysages évolutifs; et plusieurs paysages culturels associatifs liés à l'histoire des peuples autochtones.

La plupart des provinces, notamment l'Ontario et la Nouvelle-Écosse (en anglais seulement), ont élaboré une approche relative aux paysages culturels, mais les provinces et les territoires ont généralement abordé les paysages d'un point de vue archéologique plutôt que culturel dans leur mode de commémoration du patrimoine autochtone. Ils reconnaissent toutefois que certains lieux désignés, comme le parc provincial Writing-on-Stone, en Alberta et la colline Blanche, au lac Mistassini, au Québec, possèdent des valeurs associées aux paysages culturels. Le programme d'études sur l'utilisation traditionnelle de la Colombie-Britannique (Colombie-Britannique, 1996) et l'ajout par le Yukon des valeurs autochtones des lieux à ses processus de planification sont d'autres façons d'aborder la reconnaissance des paysages culturels.

Les décideurs autochtones ont eux aussi leur propre approche, qui s'appuie notamment sur la toponymie pour gérer les valeurs symboliques.

Boucle de la rivière avec falaises et végétation de prairie en automne
Rivière Saskatchewan Nord, Batoche, Saskatchewan.
© Parcs Canada / Services des photos / H.08.81.04.03(03), 1980.

 

 

Dernière mise à jour : 2008-10-17 Haut de la page
Haut de la page
Avis importants