Parks Canada Banner
 Franšais Contact Us Help Search Canada Site
 About the Parks Canada Agency National Parks of Canada National Historic Sites of Canada National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada Cultural Heritage
Natural Heritage
Parks Canada Home
Search
Enter a keyword:

An Approach to Aboriginal Cultural Landscapes


CULTURAL LANDSCAPES

Associative Cultural Landscapes

How is the concept of 'associative cultural landscapes' a break through in thinking about heritage resources?

Associative cultural landscapes mark a significant move away from conventional heritage concepts rooted in physical resources. Cultural heritage has been dominated by monuments, while natural heritage has celebrated pristine wilderness. Associative cultural landscapes accentuate the indivisibility of cultural and natural values.

What distinguishes an associative cultural landscape?

Boulder outcrop in field with trees behind.
Hatzic Rock, Xá:ytem National Historic Site, British Columbia.
© Parks Canada / Archaeological Services Branch / David Smyth / 1997.

While many landscapes have religious, artistic or cultural associations, associative cultural landscapes are distinguished by their associations with the natural environment rather than by their material cultural evidences, which may be minimal or entirely absent. The range of natural features associated with cosmological, symbolic, sacred, and culturally significant landscapes may be very broad: mountains, caves, outcrops, coastal waters, rivers, lakes, pools, hillsides, uplands, plains, woods, groves, trees.

A 1995 UNESCO workshop on associative cultural landscapes, held in the Asia-Pacific region, elaborated on their essential characteristics: "Associative cultural landscapes may be defined as large or small contiguous or non-contiguous areas and itineraries, routes, or other linear landscapes - these may be physical entities or mental images embedded in a people's spirituality, cultural tradition and practice. The attributes of associative cultural landscapes include the intangible, such as the acoustic, the kinetic and the olfactory, as well as the visual."

Cultural landscapes associated with indigenous peoples are most likely to fit in this category.

 

Last Updated: 2008-10-17 To the top
To the top
Important Notices

Bannière de Parcs Canada
 English Contactez-nous Aide Recherche Site du Canada
 À propos de l'Agence Parcs Canada Parcs nationaux du Canada Lieux historiques nationaux du Canada Aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada Patrimoine culturel
Patrimoine naturel
Page d'accueil de Parcs Canada
Recherche
Entrer un mot-clé :

Une introduction à l'étude des paysages culturels autochtones


PAYSAGES CULTURELS

Paysages culturels associatifs

En quoi ce concept de « paysages culturels associatifs » constitue-t-il une percée dans le domaine de la réflexion sur les ressources du patrimoine?

Les paysages culturels associatifs nous amènent loin des concepts patrimoniaux conventionnels centrés sur les ressources matérielles. Le patrimoine culturel a été dominé par les monuments, alors que le patrimoine naturel célébrait les étendues sauvages intactes. Les paysages culturels accentuent le caractère indissociable des valeurs culturelles et naturelles.

Qu'est-ce qui distingue un paysage culturel associatif?

Affleurement rocheux dans un champ avec arbres à l'arrière-plan
Rocher Hatzic, lieu historique national Xá :ytem, Colombie-Britannique.
© Parcs Canada / Direction des services archéologiques / David Smyth / 1997.

Alors que de nombreux paysages ont des connotations religieuses, artistiques ou culturelles, les paysages culturels associatifs se distinguent par leurs associations avec le milieu naturel plutôt que par leurs vestiges matériels, souvent minimes, voire absents. L'éventail des traits naturels liés aux paysages cosmologiques, symboliques, sacrés et significatifs sur le plan culturel peut être fort large : montagnes, cavernes, affleurements rocheux, eaux côtières, cours d'eau, lacs, étangs, flancs de collines, bas-plateaux, plaines, boisés, bosquets et arbres.

En 1995, un atelier de l' UNESCO (en anglais seulement) sur les paysages culturels associatifs, organisé dans la région de l'Asie-Pacifique, a permis de mieux définir leurs caractéristiques essentielles : « Les paysages culturels associatifs peuvent être définis comme des régions, vastes ou restreintes, contiguës ou non, et des itinéraires, routes ou autres paysages linéaires - qu'il s'agisse d'entités physiques ou d'images mentales inscrites dans la spiritualité, la tradition culturelle ou les coutumes d'un peuple. Les paysages culturels ont des attributs qui peuvent être intangibles, par exemple, acoustiques, cinétiques et olfactifs, ou visuels. »

Les paysages culturels associés à des peuples autochtones sont les plus susceptibles d'entrer dans cette catégorie.

 

Dernière mise à jour : 2008-10-17 Haut de la page
Haut de la page
Avis importants