Parks Canada Banner
 Franšais Contact Us Help Search Canada Site
 About the Parks Canada Agency National Parks of Canada National Historic Sites of Canada National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada Cultural Heritage
Natural Heritage
Parks Canada Home
Search
Enter a keyword:

An Approach to Aboriginal Cultural Landscapes


CULTURAL LANDSCAPES

Identifying Cultural Landscapes

How are cultural landscapes identified?

A number of countries, including Canada, have recognized the heritage significance of their peoples' relationship to the land. In 1992, after nearly a decade of debate, the World Heritage Committee, the administrative body for the World Heritage Convention, adopted a definition for 'cultural landscapes of outstanding universal value' as the "combined works of nature and of man ... illustrative of the evolution of human society and settlement over time, under the influence of the physical constraints and/or opportunities presented by their natural environment and of successive social, economic and cultural forces, both external and internal".(UNESCO, 1996a)

Its three main categories provide an elementary identification of types that can encompass the wide range of cultural landscapes around the world. These types can be readily found in Canada and worldwide:

  1. Landscapes designed and intentionally created. A Canadian example is Mount Royal Park, designed by Frederick Law Olmsted, in Montréal.
     
  2. Organically evolved landscapes, sometimes known as vernacular landscapes. These can be either relict, in which an evolutionary process came to an end at some time in the past, or continuing. An example of a continuing evolved landscape is the fishing settlement of Grates Cove, Newfoundland, with its harbour, village, and walled landscape.
     
  3. Associative cultural landscapes. This category includes places characterized by "powerful religious, artistic or cultural associations of the natural element rather than material cultural evidence, which may be insignificant or even absent." An example from the World Heritage List is Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Australia.

Many landscapes embody characteristics of all three types. In the designed landscape, however, it is anticipated that aesthetic considerations will prevail over other values. By virtue of their organic nature and human use over time, all landscapes may be said to have evolved. The essence of the organically evolved cultural landscape, whether relict or continuing, is that its most significant values lie in the material evidences of its evolution from a cultural initiative to its present form, in association with the natural environment.

Bare broken cliff edges.
Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump World Heritage Site, Alberta.
© Parks Canada / Jazhart Studios / H.09.85.11.10(03), 1993.

The emergence of cultural landscapes as an integral part of cultural heritage has coincided with world wide recognition in natural heritage communities that areas long identified as pristine wilderness and celebrated for their ecological values untouched by human activity were often the homelands of indigenous peoples. Management of their landscapes by indigenous peoples has altered the original ecological system, but it has equally contributed to the biological diversity that has long been regarded as a prime value of wilderness (McNeely, 1995). The World Heritage Convention guidelines make this relationship explicit in recognizing a spiritual relation to nature, modern techniques of sustainable development, and traditional practices for maintaining biological diversity.

 

Last Updated: 2008-10-17 To the top
To the top
Important Notices

Bannière de Parcs Canada
 English Contactez-nous Aide Recherche Site du Canada
 À propos de l'Agence Parcs Canada Parcs nationaux du Canada Lieux historiques nationaux du Canada Aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada Patrimoine culturel
Patrimoine naturel
Page d'accueil de Parcs Canada
Recherche
Entrer un mot-clé :

Une introduction à l'étude des paysages culturels autochtones


PAYSAGES CULTURELS

Identification des paysages culturels

Comment procède-t-on pour identifier les paysages culturels?

Certains pays, dont le Canada, ont reconnu l'importance patrimoniale du lien qu'entretiennent leurs peuples avec la terre. En 1992, au bout d'une décennie ou presque de débats, le Comité du patrimoine mondial, organe administratif de la Convention pour la protection du patrimoine mondial, adoptait une définition de paysage culturel de valeur universelle exceptionnelle et convenait que « les paysages culturels représentent ' les ouvrages combinés de la nature et de l'homme ' ... [et] illustrent l'évolution de la société et des établissements humains au cours des âges, sous l'influence de contraintes et/ou des atouts présentés par leur environnement naturel et les forces sociales, économiques et culturelles successives, internes et externes (UNESCO, 1996a)

Ses trois grandes catégories permettent une typologie élémentaire pouvant inclure un vaste éventail de paysages culturels dans le monde. On trouve aisément des exemples des types ainsi définis au Canada et à l'étranger :

  1. Le paysage clairement défini, conçu et créé intentionnellement par l'homme. Ex. : au Canada, le parc du Mont-Royal, conçu par Frederick Law Olmsted, à Montréal.
     
  2. Le paysage essentiellement évolutif, aussi appelé paysage vernaculaire. Il peut s'agir d'un paysage relique, dont l'évolution a cessé, ou d'un paysage vivant. Ex. : l'établissement de pêche de Grates Cove, à Terre-Neuve, avec son port, son village et son paysage enclos.
     
  3. Le paysage culturel associatif. Cette catégorie inclut des endroits caractérisés par les « fortes connotations religieuses, artistiques ou culturelles de leur environnement naturel, plutôt que par leurs vestiges de la culture matérielle qui sont souvent minimes, voire absents ». Ex. : le parc national Uluru-Kata Tjuta, en Australie, qui figure sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial.

Beaucoup de paysages renferment en fait des caractéristiques des trois types. Dans les paysages clairement définis on s'attend toutefois à ce que les considérations d'ordre esthétique l'emportent sur les autres valeurs. En vertu de leur nature organique et de leur utilisation par l'homme au fil des siècles, tous les paysages peuvent être qualifiés d'évolutifs. Ce qui caractérise un paysage essentiellement évolutif, relique ou vivant, c'est le fait que ses valeurs primordiales résident dans les traces matérielles de son évolution d'une manifestation culturelle à sa forme actuelle, compte tenu de l'environnement naturel.

Bords de falaise dénudés
Site du patrimoine mondial Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump, Alberta
© Parcs Canada / Jazhart Studios / H.09.85.11.10(03), 1993.

La définition des paysages culturels en tant qu'éléments du patrimoine culturel a coïncidé avec la reconnaissance, à l'échelle internationale dans la communauté du patrimoine naturel, du fait que des endroits longtemps considérés comme des régions sauvages intactes et célébrées pour leur intégrité écologique étaient en fait la patrie de peuples autochtones. La gestion de ces paysages a souvent altéré les écosystèmes originaux, mais elle a également contribué à la diversité biologique, longtemps considérée comme une des valeurs clés des régions sauvages (McNeely, 1995). La Convention pour la protection du patrimoine mondial définit ce lien de façon explicite en reconnaissant une relation spirituelle avec la nature, les techniques modernes d'utilisation viable et les formes traditionnelles de soutien de la diversité biologique.

 

Dernière mise à jour : 2008-10-17 Haut de la page
Haut de la page
Avis importants