Parks Canada Banner
 Franšais Contact Us Help Search Canada Site
 About the Parks Canada Agency National Parks of Canada National Historic Sites of Canada National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada Cultural Heritage
Natural Heritage
Parks Canada Home
Search
Enter a keyword:

An Approach to Aboriginal Cultural Landscapes


CULTURAL LANDSCAPES

Why can the concept of 'landscape' be a particularly useful one for the national recognition of Aboriginal history?

Landscape can provide a conceptual bridge between Aboriginal world views and heritage conservation theory. The concept of cultural landscapes is a relatively new one in the heritage conservation movement. Although geographers have studied cultural landscapes for about a century, it is only in the past ten years that they have actively emerged in the field of heritage conservation. The approach offers a significant way of looking at place that focusses not on monuments but on the relationship between human activity and the natural environment.

Coastal shoreline with mist over mountains.
Darwin Sound, Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve, British Columbia.
© Parks Canada / D. Andrews / 10.105.03.20(118), 1996.

Landscapes have always been seen in many different ways by different viewers. In a seminal article, geographer D.W. Meinig identified ten perspectives on the same landscape, ranging from landscape as wealth to landscape as system. Each accentuated a different aspect of value in the landscape. As he pointed out, "any landscape is composed not only of what lies before our eyes but what lies within our heads".(Meinig, 1976)

In Australia, landscape architect Ken Taylor has observed that the preconceptions of landscape on the part of colonials and Aborigines there were different, but both reflected a concept of place, inherent experiential qualities, constructs informed by memory and myths, and links of the past with the present and future. (Taylor, 1997)

Anthropologists and Aboriginal people working on traditional use studies and undertaking to re-establish cultural landscapes on the west coast of Canada have applied this dilemma to ways of seeing west coast landscapes: in contrast to the visitor and the scientist, who perceive wilderness in Gwaii Haanas, the Haida people see their homeland, Haida Gwaii, rich with the historical and spiritual evidences of their centuries-long occupation.

 

Last Updated: 2008-10-17 To the top
To the top
Important Notices

Bannière de Parcs Canada
 English Contactez-nous Aide Recherche Site du Canada
 À propos de l'Agence Parcs Canada Parcs nationaux du Canada Lieux historiques nationaux du Canada Aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada Patrimoine culturel
Patrimoine naturel
Page d'accueil de Parcs Canada
Recherche
Entrer un mot-clé :

Une introduction à l'étude des paysages culturels autochtones


PAYSAGES CULTURELS

En quoi le concept de « paysage » peut-il être particulièrement utile pour assurer la reconnaissance nationale de l'histoire des Autochtones?

Le paysage peut servir de pont conceptuel entre la vision autochtone du monde et la théorie de la conservation du patrimoine. Le concept de paysage culturel est relativement nouveau au sein du mouvement pour la conservation du patrimoine. Alors que les géographes étudient les paysages culturels depuis environ un siècle, les spécialistes de la conservation du patrimoine ne s'y intéressent que depuis une dizaine d'années. Cette approche constitue une bonne façon de considérer un endroit, non pas en fonction de monuments, mais bien en fonction de l'interaction entre l'homme et son environnement naturel.

Rivage côtier avec montagnes dans la brume
Chenal Darwin, réserve de parc national Gwaii Haanas, Colombie-Britannique.
© Parcs Canada / D. Andrews / 10.105.03.20(118), 1996.

Les paysages revêtent depuis toujours des aspects multiples aux yeux des observateurs. Dans un article fondamental, le géographe D.W. Meinig présentait un même paysage sous dix perspectives, du paysage comme richesse au paysage comme système. Chacune de ces perspectives mettait en lumière une facette particulière de la valeur du paysage. Selon lui, « un paysage se compose non seulement de ce qui est sous nos yeux, mais aussi de ce qui est dans nos têtes » (Meinig, 1976).

En Australie, l'architecte paysager Ken Taylor a noté que non-Autochtones et Autochtones avaient des opinions différentes sur le paysage, mais que, dans les deux cas, ces opinions reflétaient un concept de lieu, des caractéristiques empiriques inhérentes, des perceptions reposant sur les souvenirs et les mythes, ainsi que des liens entre passé, présent et avenir (Taylor, 1997).

Les anthropologues et les peuples autochtones qui s'intéressent à l'utilisation traditionnelle et qui cherchent à rétablir les paysages culturels de la côte ouest du Canada ont appliqué ce dilemme à la vision de ces paysages : contrairement aux visiteurs et aux scientifiques qui perçoivent Gwaii Haanas comme un lieu sauvage, les Haïdas y voient leur patrie, Haïda Gwaii, un territoire riche en vestiges historiques et spirituels de leur présence plusieurs fois séculaire.

 

Dernière mise à jour : 2008-10-17 Haut de la page
Haut de la page
Avis importants