Parks Canada Banner
 Franšais Contact Us Help Search Canada Site
 About the Parks Canada Agency National Parks of Canada National Historic Sites of Canada National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada Cultural Heritage
Natural Heritage
Parks Canada Home
Search
Enter a keyword:

An Approach to Aboriginal Cultural Landscapes


ABORIGINAL WORLD VIEWS

Aboriginal Relationship to the Environment

How do the foundations of traditional knowledge differ from those of Western science?

Nineteenth century Western science, which still shapes Western values, makes a distinct separation between the observer and the observed. It is rooted in objective principles and rules which involve systematized observation, experimentation and testing of hypotheses and conclusions.

Reflections in river of trees on shore, with person in canoe, and mountain behind.
Red Deer River, Northwest Territories
© National Archives of Canada / T.C. Weston / PA 150933, 1889.

In contrast, Aboriginal people define their relationship as belonging to the land, and they see themselves as one element of a fully integrated environment. As Charles Johnson explains, "we, as Native people, are part of the Arctic ecosystem. We are not observers, not managers; our role is to participate as a part of the ecosystem". (Johnson, 1997: 3) As such, humans co-exist with fauna and flora, with equal rights to life. In this belief lies commitment to respect all living things. In the words of Dene Elder George Blondin, "We are people of the land; we see ourselves as no different than the trees, the caribou, and the raven, except we are more complicated".(Blondin, 1997: 18)

The skills inherent in living on and with the land, such as observation, interpretation, and adaptation, are related to traditional knowledge. The complexity of Aboriginal understanding of the land and its resources is evident in language, and one of the reasons language is currently a key concern. Study of the James Bay Cree hunting culture, for example, revealed five basic meanings associated with the root term for hunting, nitao.These meanings combine cosmological, ecological and psychological aspects of Cree life and beliefs that include complex relationships between the hunter and the hunted.(Feit, 1995)

Numerous studies involving traditional knowledge and science as partners have demonstrated the intensive knowledge of natural processes, ecological indicators, faunal behaviour, and techniques for survival and safety in an often hostile environment. Recent studies, for example of sharp-tailed grouse in the Fort Albany First Nation, and of caribou among the Inuit, have likewise shown fragility of this traditional knowledge in the face of permanent settlements and cultural change.(Tsuji, 1996; Thorpe, 1997; Ferguson and Messier, 1997; Huntington, 1998)

However, the extensive studies of their culture by scientists, who typically see themselves as objective observers standing outside Aboriginal value systems, have also intensified Aboriginal concerns about misinterpretation, appropriation, and misuse of their "intellectual property".(Stevenson, 1996: 279)

 

Last Updated: 2008-10-17 To the top
To the top
Important Notices

Bannière de Parcs Canada
 English Contactez-nous Aide Recherche Site du Canada
 À propos de l'Agence Parcs Canada Parcs nationaux du Canada Lieux historiques nationaux du Canada Aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada Patrimoine culturel
Patrimoine naturel
Page d'accueil de Parcs Canada
Recherche
Entrer un mot-clé :

Une introduction à l'étude des paysages culturels autochtones


VISION AUTOCHTONE DU MONDE

Lien des Autochtones avec le milieu

En quoi les fondements de la connaissance traditionnelle diffèrent-ils de ceux de la pensée scientifique occidentale?

La pensée scientifique occidentale du XIXe siècle, qui continue de façonner les valeurs occidentales, établit une distinction très nette entre l'observateur et ce qu'il observe. Elle découle de règles et de principes objectifs qui impliquent l'observation systématique, l'expérimentation et la vérification des hypothèses et des conclusions.

Arbres se reflétant dans la rivière, avec une personne en canot et des montagnes à l'arrière-plan
Rivière Red Deer, Territoires du Nord-Ouest
© Archives nationales du Canada / T.C. Weston / PA 150933, 1889.

De leur côté, les peuples autochtones parlent d'un sentiment d'appartenance à la terre; ils se voient comme un des éléments d'un environnement parfaitement intégré. Comme l'explique Charles Johnson, « nous, les peuples autochtones, faisons partie de l'écosystème arctique. Nous ne sommes ni des observateurs, ni des gestionnaires; notre rôle est actif et consiste à faire partie de l'écosystème » (Johnson, 1997: 3) À ce titre, les êtres humains coexistent avec les plantes et les animaux, et tous ont un droit égal à la vie. Cette croyance implique le respect de tout ce qui vit. Comme le disait l'Aîné déné George Blondin, « Nous sommes des gens de la terre; nous ne sommes pas différents des arbres, des caribous et des corbeaux, sauf que nous sommes plus compliqués » (Blondin, 1997: 18)

Les habiletés nécessaires pour vivre de la terre, comme l'observation, l'interprétation et l'adaptation, sont liées aux connaissances traditionnelles. Les Autochtones ont une compréhension complexe de la terre et de ses ressources, et cette complexité se retrouve dans leur langue, ce qui explique en partie les préoccupations que soulève actuellement la question linguistique. Par exemple, l'étude de la culture de chasse des Cris de la baie James a révélé que le radical nitao (chasse) possède en fait cinq sens de base. Ces sens combinent divers aspects cosmologiques, écologiques et psychologiques de la vie et des croyances des Cris, incluant les liens complexes qui existent entre le chasseur et sa proie. (Feit, 1995).

De nombreuses études fondées à la fois sur les connaissances traditionnelles sur l'environnement et sur la science ont démontré une connaissance approfondie des processus naturels, des indicateurs écologiques, du comportement animal et des techniques de survie dans un environnement hostile. Des études récentes, notamment celle sur le tétras à queue fine dans la Première nation de Fort Albany et celle sur le caribou chez les Inuit, ont également démontré la fragilité de ce savoir face à l'avènement des établissements permanents et aux changements culturels (Tsuji, 1996; Thorpe, 1997; Ferguson et Messier, 1997; Huntington, 1998)

Cependant, ces nombreuses études dirigées par des scientifiques qui se voient le plus souvent comme des observateurs objectifs, n'adhérant pas au système de valeurs autochtones, ont également amplifié les craintes des Autochtones concernant l'interprétation et l'utilisation erronées ou même une appropriation de leur « propriété intellectuelle » (Stevenson, 1996: 279).

 

Dernière mise à jour : 2008-10-17 Haut de la page
Haut de la page
Avis importants