Parks Canada Banner
 Franšais Contact Us Help Search Canada Site
 About the Parks Canada Agency National Parks of Canada National Historic Sites of Canada National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada Cultural Heritage
Natural Heritage
Parks Canada Home
Search
Enter a keyword:

An Approach to Aboriginal Cultural Landscapes


ABORIGINAL WORLD VIEWS

Social and Economic Life on the Land

In traditional Aboriginal cultures are social and economic necessities distinct from more spiritual values attached to land?

Line of totem poles with water and mountains in distance.
Frontal poles at Kitwanga, British Columbia
© National Archives of Canada / PA 11215, 1915.

Inter-connectedness rather than categorization characterizes Aboriginal relationships to the land. Traditional lifeways integrate economic, spiritual, and social aspects of life in use areas through the centuries. For the Stó:lo , "the people of the river", life centres on the Fraser River. The river is a living force. Its resources sustain them and their spiritual sites lie along its course.(Mohs, 1994: 185-188)

Among Aboriginal people, successful hunting also compels observance of the living forces of the land. Knowledge and respect for the land and its spirits are integral to living with it. As Harvey Feit has explained so vividly for the Cree of northern Quebec, the hunt is not an isolated event, but a stage in an on-going process that involves reciprocal relationships of power, needs, obligations, and moral responsibilities among creator, spirits, hunter, animal, and community. To achieve success, hunters must plan carefully and behave towards both spirits and animals in a respectful manner. Recognizing human characteristics in animals, they hunt in accordance with mutually understood signs. They acknowledge the gift of a successful hunt by sharing its bounty not only with their kin and community but also with the spirits who can favour their future efforts.(Feit, 1995)

Abiding life on the land has characterized Aboriginal experience since time immemorial. The seasonal round of yearly activities shaped traditional lifeways. As animal, vegetative and marine resources changed with the seasons, they shaped the movements and activities of peoples, who depended on them for food, as well as materials for clothing, shelter, tools, and other necessities.

Tents in boreal forest.
Camp on the north shore of Keith Bay, Great Bear Lake, Northwest Territories
© National Archives of Canada / PA 101056, 1928.

Extended families or households wintered separately in diffused areas within the territories of their larger affiliations. Kinship often grouped those who wintered together. It also identified the territories where they hunted and trapped. Annual social gatherings, which usually occurred in summer, brought these many groups together for weddings, feasts, games, dances, songs, and other traditional customs. Such activities provided opportunities to instruct children in traditional knowledge and to develop their skills for living on the land.

 

Last Updated: 2008-10-17 To the top
To the top
Important Notices

Bannière de Parcs Canada
 English Contactez-nous Aide Recherche Site du Canada
 À propos de l'Agence Parcs Canada Parcs nationaux du Canada Lieux historiques nationaux du Canada Aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada Patrimoine culturel
Patrimoine naturel
Page d'accueil de Parcs Canada
Recherche
Entrer un mot-clé :

Une introduction à l'étude des paysages culturels autochtones


VISION AUTOCHTONE DU MONDE

Vivre de la terre : les aspects sociaux et économiques

Les cultures autochtones traditionnelles font-elles une distinction entre les nécessités socio-économiques et les valeurs spirituelles associées à la terre?

Rangée de mâts totémiques avec l'eau et les montagnes à l'arrière-plan
Mâts totémiques à Kitwanga, Colombie-Britannique
© Archives nationales du Canada /PA 11215, 1915.

Le rapport des Autochtones avec la terre se définit par l'interdépendance plutôt que par la catégorisation. Les modes de vie traditionnels intègrent tous les aspects de la vie - économique, spirituelle et sociale - dans des régions fréquentées pendant des siècles. Ainsi, chez les Stó:lo , « le peuple du fleuve », la vie est centrée sur le Fraser; le fleuve est force vive, ses ressources assurent la subsistance des habitants et ses rives abritent leurs lieux de spiritualité (Mohs, 1994: 185-188).

Chez les Autochtones, le succès de chasse repose sur l'harmonie avec les forces vitales de la terre; la connaissance et le respect de la terre et des esprits qu'elle recèle sont essentiels pour y vivre. Comme Harvey Feit l'a si bien expliqué au sujet des Cris du Nord du Québec, la chasse n'est pas un événement isolé, mais une étape d'un processus sans fin impliquant des rapports réciproques de puissance, de besoins, d'obligations et de responsabilités morales entre le Créateur, les esprits, le chasseur, l'animal et la communauté. Pour réussir, le chasseur doit bien planifier ses actions et se montrer respectueux à l'égard des esprits et des animaux. Reconnaissant chez l'animal des caractéristiques humaines, le chasseur agit en se conformant à des signes qu'il comprend et que l'animal comprend. Pour saluer la générosité dont il a été l'objet, il partage son butin non seulement avec les membres de sa famille et de sa communauté, mais aussi avec les esprits en mesure de soutenir ses efforts (Feit, 1995).

Vivre de la terre est l'une des caractéristiques de l'expérience autochtone depuis des temps immémoriaux. Le cycle saisonnier des activités annuelles a façonné les modes de vie traditionnels. Variant avec les saisons, les ressources animales et marines ont déterminé les déplacements et les activités des peuples autochtones qui dépendaient d'elles pour s'alimenter, se vêtir, s'abriter, se fabriquer des outils et d'autres objets de première nécessité.

Tentes dans la forêt boréale
Camp sur la rive nord de la baie Keith, Grand lac de l'Ours, Territoires du Nord-Ouest
© Archives nationales du Canada / PA 101056, 1928.

Les familles élargies ou des ménages hivernaient séparément dans différents secteurs du territoire occupé par leur groupe. Des liens de parenté unissaient souvent les familles ou ménages qui hivernaient ensemble; ces liens identifiaient également les territoires de chasse et de piégeage. Chaque année, le plus souvent à l'été, de grandes réunions sociales rassemblaient ces groupes; mariages, fêtes, jeux, danses, chants et autres pratiques traditionnelles étaient alors au programme. On pouvait ainsi transmettre aux enfants des connaissances traditionnelles et les aider à acquérir les habiletés dont ils auraient besoin pour vivre de la terre.

 

Dernière mise à jour : 2008-10-17 Haut de la page
Haut de la page
Avis importants