Parks Canada Banner
 Franšais Contact Us Help Search Canada Site
 About the Parks Canada Agency National Parks of Canada National Historic Sites of Canada National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada Cultural Heritage
Natural Heritage
Parks Canada Home
Search
Enter a keyword:

An Approach to Aboriginal Cultural Landscapes


ABORIGINAL WORLD VIEWS

Narratives and Place Names

How is knowledge about the land passed from person to person, and from generation to generation?

Traditional narratives record the locations of sacred sites and other places of importance. Knowledge of these places is passed from generation to generation through narratives, instructional travel, and place names. "Legends are from the land, and even though there were no maps, the stories made maps for the people". (cited in Hanks, 1996: 889)

Traditional knowledge relates contemporary Aboriginal cultures directly to these places. "The Sahtu Dene narratives create a mosaic of stories that envelop the cultural landscapes of Grizzly Bear Mountain and Scented Grass Hills. The web of 'myth and memory' spread beyond the mountains to cover the whole western end of Great Bear Lake, illustrating the complexity of the Sahtu Dene's landscape tradition". (HSMBC Minutes, November 1996)

Narratives also tell of journeys through landscapes while naming indicators to help travellers find their way. Stars, each with its own story, can guide at night. Guiding geographic features may be natural, such as headlands, fords, or trees, or they may be built by humans, such as inuksuit.

Boy listening to old man.
Elder Noah Piugattuk with his great grandson Adam Qanatsiaq, Igloolik, Nunavut
© Parks Canada / T.Pearce / H.13.01.06.14 (02), 1993

In addition to narratives, place names focus and sustain the traditional knowledge which is related to the land. Place names are key elements in stories passed from one generation to the next to enable them to continue the cultural activities of the group which has occupied an area over a long period of time. "Through narrative associated with a place, they reflect aspects of culture which imbue the location with meaning". (Andrews, 1990)

Recent field work on traditional place names and narratives in the North Slave Dogrib claim area, which has documented nearly 350 Dogrib place names, has shown that "[a]s part of a knowledge system, traditional place names serve as memory 'hooks' on which to hang the cultural fabric of a narrative tradition. In this way, physical geography ordered by place names is transformed into a social landscape where culture and topography are symbolically fused". (Andrews and Zoe, 1997; Andrews, 1990: 4) For both the Dene and the Inuit, some tales comprise mainly lists of places.

Wide river with cliffs in distance.
The Ramparts, Mackenzie River above Good Hope, Northwest Territories
© National Archives of Canada / PA 18975, 1922.

In recent times the return to Aboriginal place names, such as Nagwichoonjik for the Mackenzie River, serves to evoke the complex system of values attached to such places by Aboriginal cultures. The link between place, name, and cultural value is a world wide phenomenon among indigenous peoples.

 

Last Updated: 2008-10-17 To the top
To the top
Important Notices

Bannière de Parcs Canada
 English Contactez-nous Aide Recherche Site du Canada
 À propos de l'Agence Parcs Canada Parcs nationaux du Canada Lieux historiques nationaux du Canada Aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada Patrimoine culturel
Patrimoine naturel
Page d'accueil de Parcs Canada
Recherche
Entrer un mot-clé :

Une introduction à l'étude des paysages culturels autochtones


VISION AUTOCHTONE DU MONDE

Récits et noms de lieux

Comment cette connaissance de la terre se transmet-elle d'une personne à l'autre, d'une génération à l'autre?

Les récits traditionnels permettent de garder en mémoire l'emplacement des endroits sacrés et des autres lieux importants. La connaissance de ces emplacements est transmise d'une génération à l'autre par les récits, les voyages d'apprentissage et les toponymes. « Les légendes viennent de la terre, et même si alors il n'existait pas de cartes, les récits servaient de cartes » (cité dans Hanks, 1996: 889).

Les connaissances traditionnelles établissent un lien direct entre les cultures autochtones contemporaines et ces lieux. « Les récits des Dénés du Sahtu forment une mosaïque d'histoires qui couvrent tout le paysage culturel du mont Grizzly Bear et des collines Scented Grass (en anglais seulement). Ce réseau de ' mythes et de souvenirs ' s'étend au-delà des montagnes jusqu'à l'extrémité ouest du Grand lac de l'Ours et démontre la complexité de la perception traditionnelle du paysage chez les Dénés du Sahtu » (procès-verbal de la CLMHC, Novembre 1996).

Les récits traitent de voyages qui se font à travers des paysages et fournissent de nombreux repères pour aider le voyageur à trouver sa route : des étoiles, chacune avec sa propre histoire, qui servent de guides nocturnes; des accidents géographiques - promontoires, gués ou arbres - ou des éléments fabriqués par l'homme, comme les inuksuit.

L'enfant écoute le vieil homme.
L'Aîné Noah Piugattuk et son petit-fils, Adam Qanatsiaq, Igloolik, Nunavut
© Parcs Canada / T.Pearce / Code H.13.01.06.14 (02), 1993.

Tout comme les récits, les toponymes accentuent et aident à perpétuer les connaissances traditionnelles liées au territoire. Les noms de lieux sont les éléments clés des récits transmis d'une génération à l'autre pour permettre aux membres d'un groupe habitant depuis longtemps une région de poursuivre leurs activités culturelles. « Grâce aux histoires associées à un endroit, ils reflètent des aspects de la culture qui lui confèrent un sens » (Andrews, 1990)

De récents travaux sur le terrain axés sur les noms de lieux et les récits traditionnels de la région visée par les revendications territoriales des Dogribs et des Esclaves du Nord ont permis de documenter près de 350 noms de lieux dogribs et ont montré que « en tant qu'éléments d'un système de connaissances, les noms de lieux traditionnels sont des ' fils ' évocateurs grâce auxquels il est possible de retrouver le tissu culturel d'une tradition orale. Ainsi, la géographie physique ordonnancée par les noms de lieux devient un paysage social où culture et topographie se fusionnent de manière symbolique » (Andrews et Zoe, 1997; Andrews, 1990: 4). Chez les Dénés comme chez les Inuit, certains récits s'apparentent en fait à une liste de lieux.

Large cours d'eau avec falaises au loin.
The Ramparts, fleuve Mackenzie en amont de Good Hope, Territoires du Nord-Ouest.
© Archives nationales du Canada / PA 18975, 1922

Le récent retour aux noms de lieux autochtones, par exemple, Nagwichoonjik pour le fleuve Mackenzie, évoque le système de valeurs complexe qui se rattache à ces endroits aux yeux des cultures autochtones. Partout dans le monde, les peuples autochtones font un lien entre les endroits, les noms et la valeur culturelle.

 

Dernière mise à jour : 2008-10-17 Haut de la page
Haut de la page
Avis importants