Parks Canada Banner
 Franšais Contact Us Help Search Canada Site
 About the Parks Canada Agency National Parks of Canada National Historic Sites of Canada National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada Cultural Heritage
Natural Heritage
Parks Canada Home
Search
Enter a keyword:

An Approach to Aboriginal Cultural Landscapes


ABORIGINAL WORLD VIEWS

Spirit Beings and Places of Power

How do traditional narratives about spirit beings and culture heroes shape Aboriginal views of landscape?

Traditional narratives connect specific places with the journeys of spirit beings who traversed between the 'Old World', where humans and animals moved interchangeably between human and animal forms, and the 'New World', where they no longer move from one form to another. The tales relate how events in their travels, such as struggles with others and good deeds, shaped geographical forms and features. Narratives associated directly to a specific people or shared among several peoples record the exploits of these spirit beings. Such stories often focus on the journeys of culture heroes, like Glooscap, the transformer of the Eastern Woodlands, who is credited with creation of the Annapolis Valley in Nova Scotia(Carpenter, 1985), or Yamoria, the law giver of the Dene in the Northwest Territories(Blondin, 1997).

The stages of the journeys and exploits of Yamoria and his namesakes through the Mackenzie Basin can be related to specific features in that landscape.(Andrews, 1990) The narratives vary from group to group, but their climax occurs at the same geographical point, Bear Rock on the Mackenzie River. Many Dene regard Bear Rock as a sacred site, and its symbolic importance is reflected in its selection as the logo of the Dene Nation, which represents the relation between the Dene and their homeland, Deneneh.(Hanks, 1993)

Single stone in arch shape surrounded by vegetation.
Aerial view of stone arch, Bear Rock, Northwest Territories
© Parks Canada / Archaeological Services Branch / Ellen Lee / 1994

The Gwich'in cycle of stories of the trickster Raven records how the hollows in the landscape known today at Tsiigehtchic are his camp and bed.(Gwich'in Social and Cultural Institute, 1997: 800-07) In northern Quebec sites associated with the travels of the giant beaver still in transformation mode populate the demographically vacant map.(Craik and Namagoose, 1992) The main street pattern of Wendake, Quebec follows the mythological route of ancient serpents.

For the Stó:lo people of lower mainland British Columbia narratives tell how places contain the powers of transformers or spirit beings, such as the transformer Xa:ls, the son of the sun, at Th'exelis overlooking the Fraser River and at Xá:ytem National Historic Site.(Mohs, 1994: 189-195. Lee and Henderson, 1992; Smyth, 1997; HSMBC Minutes, November 1997)

Torrent of water through narrow canyon
Kitselas Canyon, British Columbia
© National Archives of Canada / C 46603, 1909.

What are places of power?

Sacred sites are experienced as places of power which intimately link the physical and spiritual worlds. Interfaces between land and water are often places where power lies, for example the whirlpools in Kitselas Canyon, British Columbia. Mnjikaning Fish Weirs at Atherley Narrows in Ontario, where two lakes converge, exemplifies such power. Fish arrive annually, and band councils bring together different peoples who are fed by the abundant resources.(Sheryl Smith, pers.comm.)

Places of power in the landscape consolidate spiritual energy. They can be places of strengthening as in vision quest sites, or places experienced as malevolent and threatening. Both are approached through rules of conduct, customs, rituals, ceremonies, and offerings. In the Dogrib vernacular, it is said that these places, and the entities inhabiting them, are being 'paid'.(Andrews and Zoe, 1997)

Some places of power are reserved for shamans. Over time, the power of transformation between human and animal came to belong only to selected people. These individuals were shamans who possessed medicine power. They were, however, proscribed from sharing their knowledge at the risk of losing their capacities. In Dene culture, the medicine power of shamans is a spirit, with a mind of its own, which attaches to them and gives them supernatural abilities.(Blondin, 1997: 51-53)

Diver viewing underwater fish weir stakes.
Fish weir stakes underwater at the Mnjikaning Fish Weirs, Atherley Narrows, Ontario
© Parks Canada / Archaeological Services Branch / 41m226t

Sites where people obtain materials used in ceremonial activities, such as mineral resources and native plants which are key elements of spiritual practices, are also places of power.

The spirits residing in places of power guide the daily activities of people in their lives on the land. They also provide guidance for the placement of camps, the timing of crossing water, crossing points on rivers, and successful approaches to the hunt.

 

Last Updated: 2008-10-17 To the top
To the top
Important Notices

Bannière de Parcs Canada
 English Contactez-nous Aide Recherche Site du Canada
 À propos de l'Agence Parcs Canada Parcs nationaux du Canada Lieux historiques nationaux du Canada Aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada Patrimoine culturel
Patrimoine naturel
Page d'accueil de Parcs Canada
Recherche
Entrer un mot-clé :

Une introduction à l'étude des paysages culturels autochtones


VISION AUTOCHTONE DU MONDE

Esprits et lieux de puissance

Comment les récits traditionnels sur les esprits et les héros culturels façonnent-ils la vision autochtone du paysage?

Les récits traditionnels relient certains lieux au voyage des esprits, passés de « l'Ancien Monde », où les êtres humains et les animaux pouvaient adopter indifféremment une forme humaine ou animale, au « Nouveau Monde », où de telles métamorphoses ne sont plus possibles. Ils expliquent comment les événements marquants des périples de ces esprits, par exemple leurs conflits avec d'autres êtres et leurs bonnes actions, ont façonné formes et accidents géographiques. Des récits directement associés à un peuple ou communs à plusieurs peuples relatent les exploits des esprits. Ces récits portent souvent sur les voyages de héros culturels, tels Glooscap, le géant des Indiens des forêts de l'Est, à qui l'on attribue la création de la vallée d'Annapolis en Nouvelle-Écosse (Carpenter, 1985), ou Yamoria, le transmetteur de lois des Dénés des Territoires du Nord-Ouest (Blondin, 1997).

Les exploits et les étapes des voyages de Yamoria et de ses homonymes dans plusieurs groupes autochtones du bassin du Mackenzie peuvent être associés à des éléments précis du paysage (Andrews, 1990) Les récits varient d'un groupe à l'autre, mais leur dénouement se situe toujours au même lieu géographique, soit au rocher de l'Ours (Bear Rock) le long du fleuve Mackenzie. Beaucoup de Dénés considèrent le rocher de l'Ours comme un lieu sacré, et son choix comme logo de la nation dénée témoigne de son importance symbolique, puisqu'il représente la relation entre les Dénés et leur terre ancestrale, Deneneh (Hanks, 1993)

Rocher solitaire en forme d'arche entouré par un couvert végétal
Vue aérienne de la voûte en pierre de Bear Rock, Territoires du Nord-Ouest
© Parcs Canada / Direction des services archéologiques / Ellen Lee / 1994.

Chez les Gwich'in, le cycle des récits mettant en scène Corbeau, le joueur de tours, explique que les dépressions au milieu du paysage connu aujourd'hui sous le nom de Tsiigehtchic sont en fait le camp et le lit de celui-ci (Gwich'in Social and Cultural Institute, 1997: 800-07) Dans le nord du Québec, les sites associés aux voyages du Castor géant, alors encore capable de métamorphose, peuplent une carte vide sur le plan démographique (Craik et Namagoose, 1992) À Wendake, au Québec, la rue principale suit le parcours mythologique des serpents anciens.

Les récits des Stó:lo des basses terres continentales de la Colombie-Britannique expliquent que certains endroits renferment les pouvoirs des êtres métamorphes ou des esprits, comme le géant Xa:ls, fils du Soleil, à Th'exelis, sur le fleuve Fraser et au lieu historique national Xá:ytem (en anglais seulement). (Mohs, 1994: 189-195; Lee et Henderson, 1992; Smyth, 1997; procès-verbal de la CLMHC, Novembre 1997).

Qu'entend-on par lieux de puissance?

Torrent déferlant dans l'étroit canyon.
Canyon Kitselas, Colombie-Britannique
© Archives nationales du Canada / C 46603, 1909.

Les endroits sacrés sont des lieux de puissance reliant les mondes matériel et spirituel. Les endroits où la terre et l'eau se rejoignent sont souvent des lieux de puissance. C'est le cas, par exemple, des remous du canyon Kitselas, en Colombie-Britannique. Le barrage de pêche Mnjikaning (en anglais seulement), au détroit Atherley, en Ontario, situé au point de convergence de deux lacs, est un autre exemple du même type; le poisson y vient chaque année et son arrivée est l'occasion de rassemblements importants de personnes qui, à l'instigation des conseils de bande, s'y réunissent et se nourrissent de cette ressource abondante (Sheryl Smith, comm. pers.).

Les lieux de puissance du paysage consolident l'énergie spirituelle. Ce sont tantôt des sources de force, par exemple dans les quêtes de vision, tantôt des endroits hostiles et menaçants. Quiconque veut s'en approcher doit se soumettre à des règles, des coutumes, des rituels ou des cérémonies et déposer des offrandes. Dans la langue des Dogribs, on dit que ces endroits et les êtres qui y vivent sont alors « payés ». (Andrews et Zoe, 1997)

Certains lieux de puissance sont réservés aux shamans. Au fil du temps, le pouvoir de se métamorphoser en être humain ou en animal a fini par être réservé à certaines personnes, soit aux shamans qui possédaient des dons de guérisseurs, mais à qui il était interdit de partager leur savoir sous peine de perdre leurs pouvoirs. Dans la culture dénée, le pouvoir guérisseur des shamans est un esprit possédant une volonté propre, qui s'attache à eux et qui leur confère des capacités surnaturelles (Blondin, 1997: 51-53).

Plongeur observant des clayons de pêcheries à fascines sous l'eau.
Clayons de pêcheries à fascines sous l'eau au barrage de pêche Mnjikaning, détroit Atherley, Ontario.
© Parcs Canada / Direction des services archéologiques / 41m226t

Les endroits d'approvisionnement en accessoires de cérémonie, comme les minéraux et les plantes indigènes qui sont des éléments clés des pratiques spirituelles, sont aussi des lieux de puissance.

Les esprits qui résident en ces lieux guident les gens qui y vivent dans leurs activités quotidiennes. Ils les aident aussi à choisir l'emplacement des camps, à déterminer quand et où traverser les cours d'eau et à opter pour les bonnes méthodes de chasse.

 

Dernière mise à jour : 2008-10-17 Haut de la page
Haut de la page
Avis importants