Parks Canada Banner
 Franšais Contact Us Help Search Canada Site
 About the Parks Canada Agency National Parks of Canada National Historic Sites of Canada National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada Cultural Heritage
Natural Heritage
Parks Canada Home
Search
Enter a keyword:

An Approach to Aboriginal Cultural Landscapes


ABORIGINAL WORLD VIEWS

Cosmological Relationship to Place

What is unique about the Aboriginal view of land and the human relationship to it?

The widespread view of all land as sacred derives from beliefs about cosmic relationships centred on earth and sky, land and water, and perceptions of power and place. The intensity of the relationship to the land is based in cosmological and mythological patterns of experience with the land over centuries.

For the Anishinaubaeg people of the Great Lakes region, for example, the sun, earth, moon, and thunder had kinship relationships as father, mother, grandmother, and grandfather. The Creator, Kitche Manitou, brought forth spirit beings who embodied the four directions. Mythic stories of Waubun, the east and morning, and Ningobianong, the west and evening, as well as Zeegum, summer, and Bebon, winter, who all engaged in eternal power contests, are moral tales for directing human behaviour among the Anishinaubaeg.(Johnston, 1976)

Is it possible to understand Aboriginal landscapes without knowing their particular cosmologies?

To understand the landscape requires an understanding of the related cosmologies. For the Beaver people of the subarctic, for example, the creation story focussed on Muskrat, the diver who brought a speck of dirt from the sea bottom to the surface, at a point that represented the coming together of trails from the four directions. Equally, it focussed on Swan, who flew into the sky and brought back the world and the songs of the seasons. Transformed in vision quest from the boy Swan to culture hero Saya, who travels across the sky as sun and moon, he was the first man to follow the trail of animals and thus established the relationship between hunters and their game.(Ridington, 1990b: 69-73, 91-93)

Meandering shoreline of lake from air.
Aerial view of Great Bear Lake, Northwest Territories
© National Archives of Canada / PA 43204, 1820s

Certain places embody these cosmological contexts. Ninaistákis [Chief Mountain] near the Montana/Alberta border, the home of Thunderbird, is sacred among the Niitsitapi (the three Blackfoot-speaking peoples) as the traditional and continuing focus of their spiritual activity.(Reeves, 1994: 265-282)

For the Cree, the rock which was flooded by the creation of Lake Diefenbaker in Saskatchewan was the gateway between the earth and the underworld. Its explosion in conjunction with the lake construction ended forever their hope that the buffalo, disappeared from the Prairies for nearly a century, would return from their underground sojourn.(Dr. George MacDonald, pers.comm)

 

Last Updated: 2008-10-17 To the top
To the top
Important Notices

Bannière de Parcs Canada
 English Contactez-nous Aide Recherche Site du Canada
 À propos de l'Agence Parcs Canada Parcs nationaux du Canada Lieux historiques nationaux du Canada Aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada Patrimoine culturel
Patrimoine naturel
Page d'accueil de Parcs Canada
Recherche
Entrer un mot-clé :

Une introduction à l'étude des paysages culturels autochtones


VISION AUTOCHTONE DU MONDE

Lien cosmologique avec le lieu

Qu'est-ce qui fait la particularité de la vision autochtone de la terre et du lien des êtres humains avec elle?

L'idée très répandue selon laquelle toute terre est sacrée découle de croyances en un lien cosmologique axé sur la terre et le ciel, le sol et l'eau, et les perceptions de puissance et de lieu. L'intensité du rapport avec la terre procède des paradigmes cosmologiques et mythologiques de l'expérience de la terre étalée sur des siècles.

Pour les Anishinaubaeg de la région des Grands Lacs par exemple, le soleil, la terre, la lune et le tonnerre ont des liens de parenté et sont respectivement père, mère, grand-mère et grand-père. Le Créateur, Kitche Manitou, a donné la vie à des êtres immatériels incarnant les quatre points cardinaux. Les récits mythiques mettant en scène Waubun, l'Est et le Matin, et Ningobianong, l'Ouest et le Soir, ainsi que Zeegum, l'Été, et Bebon, l'Hiver, tous engagés dans une éternelle lutte de pouvoir, sont des contes moraux destinés à orienter le comportement des Anishinaubaeg (Johnston, 1976)

Est-il possible de comprendre les paysages autochtones si on ne connaît pas leur cosmologie propre?

Pour comprendre un paysage, il faut comprendre les cosmologies qui s'y rapportent. Chez les Castors du subarctique par exemple, le récit de la création est axé sur le Rat-Musqué, le plongeur qui a ramené un grain de poussière du fond de l'océan à la surface de la terre, à un endroit symbolisant le carrefour des sentiers originant des quatre points cardinaux; il est aussi axé sur le Cygne, qui s'est envolé dans le ciel d'où il a ramené le monde et le chant des saisons. Lors de sa quête de vision, le garçon Cygne fut transformé en héros, Saya, qui depuis traverse le ciel sous la forme du soleil et de la lune. Il fut le premier homme à suivre la piste des animaux, établissant ainsi un lien entre le chasseur et son gibier. (Ridington, 1990b: 69-73, 91-93)

Le rivage sinueux du lac vu des airs
Vue aérienne du Grand lac de l'Ours, Territoires du Nord-Ouest
© Archives nationales du Canada / PA 43204, années 1920

Certains lieux sont l'incarnation même de ces contextes cosmologiques. Ninaistákis [le mont Chief] près de la frontière du Montana et de l'Alberta, le territoire de l'Oiseau-Tonnerre, est sacré pour les Niitsitapis [les trois peuples de langue pied-noir) qui continuent d'y voir le centre traditionnel de leurs activités spirituelles. (Reeves, 1994: 265-282)

Chez les Cris, le rocher immergé par la création du lac Diefenbaker en Saskatchewan était une porte entre la terre et le monde des ténèbres. Sa destruction lors de la construction du lac a mis fin pour toujours à leurs espoirs de voir le bison, disparu des Prairies depuis près d'un siècle, revenir de son séjour aux enfers (Dr George MacDonald, comm. pers.).

 

Dernière mise à jour : 2008-10-17 Haut de la page
Haut de la page
Avis importants