Parks Canada Banner
 Franšais Contact Us Help Search Canada Site
 About the Parks Canada Agency National Parks of Canada National Historic Sites of Canada National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada Cultural Heritage
Natural Heritage
Parks Canada Home
Search
Enter a keyword:

An Approach to Aboriginal Cultural Landscapes


ABORIGINAL WORLD VIEWS

Traditional Knowledge

What is traditional knowledge?

In 1991 the Northwest Territories Traditional Knowledge Working Group defined it as "knowledge derived from, or rooted in the traditional way of life of aboriginal people. Traditional knowledge is accumulated knowledge and understanding of the human place in relation to the universe. This encompasses spiritual relationships, relationships with the natural environment and the use of natural resources, relationships between people, and is reflected in language, social organization, values, institutions, and laws."

Two years later the Government of the Northwest Territories, apparently the first jurisdiction to assign traditional knowledge a formal role in policy, stated it to be: "[k]nowledge and values which have been acquired through experience, observation from the land or from spiritual teachings, and handed down from one generation to the next". It derives from Aboriginal peoples' experience in "living for centuries in close harmony" with the land. It means knowing "the natural environment and its resources, the use of natural resources, and the relationship of people to the land and to each other".(cited in Abele, 1997: iii)

Woman kneeling at birch tree.
Woman tapping birch trees, Resolution, Northwest Territories
© National Archives of Canada / PA 42113, no date

Emphasizing the fundamental role of relationship to the environment in the lives of Aboriginal peoples, the Dene Cultural Institute has defined traditional environmental knowledge as "a body of knowledge and beliefs transmitted through oral tradition and first-hand observation. It includes a system of classification, a set of empirical observations about the local environment and a system of self-management that governs resource use. Ecological aspects are closely tied to social and spiritual aspects of the knowledge system...."(cited in Stevenson, 1996: 281).

Unlike the written word, traditional knowledge is not static, but responds to change through absorbing new information and adapting to its implications.

 

Last Updated: 2008-10-17 To the top
To the top
Important Notices

Bannière de Parcs Canada
 English Contactez-nous Aide Recherche Site du Canada
 À propos de l'Agence Parcs Canada Parcs nationaux du Canada Lieux historiques nationaux du Canada Aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada Patrimoine culturel
Patrimoine naturel
Page d'accueil de Parcs Canada
Recherche
Entrer un mot-clé :

Une introduction à l'étude des paysages culturels autochtones


VISION AUTOCHTONE DU MONDE

Connaissances traditionnelles

Qu'entend-on par connaissances traditionnelles?

En 1991, le Groupe de travail sur les connaissances traditionnelles des Territoires du Nord-Ouest donnait de l'expression la définition suivante : « connaissances tirées du mode de vie traditionnel des peuples autochtones ou enracinées dans celui-ci. Les connaissances traditionnelles expriment le savoir accumulé et la compréhension de la place qu'occupent les êtres humains dans l'univers. Elles englobent les liens spirituels, les rapports avec le milieu naturel et l'utilisation des ressources, les liens entre les personnes; elles se reflètent dans la langue, l'organisation sociale, les valeurs, les institutions et les lois. »

Deux ans plus tard, le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, apparemment le premier palier d'administration à accorder aux connaissances traditionnelles un rôle officiel en matière de politique, les définissait comme étant « les connaissances et les valeurs acquises par l'expérience, l'observation de la terre ou les enseignements spirituels, qui sont transmises d'une génération à l'autre ». Elles découlent de l'expérience des peuples autochtones qui ont « vécu pendant des siècles en harmonie » avec la terre. Elles signifient « la connaissance du milieu naturel et de ses ressources, de l'utilisation qu'on peut faire de celles-ci et des liens que les gens entretiennent avec la terre et entre eux » (cité dans Abele, 1997: iii)

Femme à genoux près d'un bouleau
Femme entaillant des bouleaux, Resolution, Territoires du Nord-Ouest
© Archives nationales du Canada / PA 42113, sans date.

Soulignant le rôle fondamental que le lien avec le milieu joue dans la vie des peuples autochtones, l'Institut culturel déné a défini les connaissances traditionnelles sur l'environnement comme étant « l'ensemble des connaissances et des croyances qui se transmettent par la tradition orale et par l'observation directe. Elles incluent un système de classification, une série d'observations empiriques sur l'environnement local et un système d'autogestion régissant l'utilisation des ressources. Les aspects écologiques sont étroitement liés aux aspects sociaux et spirituels du système de connaissances ... » (cité dans Stevenson, 1996: 281).

Contrairement aux écrits, les connaissances traditionnelles ne sont pas statiques; elles réagissent au changement en absorbant l'information nouvelle et en s'adaptant à ses conséquences.

 

Dernière mise à jour : 2008-10-17 Haut de la page
Haut de la page
Avis importants