Parks Canada Banner
 Franšais Contact Us Help Search Canada Site
 About the Parks Canada Agency National Parks of Canada National Historic Sites of Canada National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada Cultural Heritage
Natural Heritage
Parks Canada Home
Search
Enter a keyword:

An Approach to Aboriginal Cultural Landscapes


ABORIGINAL WORLD VIEWS

Aboriginal versus Western World Views

Why is it important to recognize the differences between Aboriginal and Western world views?

Commemoration is based on what is valued. To recognize the values within Aboriginal cultural landscapes and to commemorate these places, identification and evaluation have to focus on Aboriginal world views, rather than on the world views of the non-indigenous cultures derived from the Western scientific tradition. The orientations of these two broad cultures differ radically. The Aboriginal world view is rooted in identification with the land. Western experience is rooted in objectification and rationalism.(Johnson and Ruttan, 1992; Stevenson, 1996: 288-89; Federal Archaeology Office, 1998a)

Aboriginal peoples in Canada, like indigenous peoples worldwide, approach history not primarily through the Western constructs of causal relationship, record, and time sequence, but through cosmology, narrative, and place. Recent examples of the integration of oral tradition and multi-disciplinary science reflect the sophisticated research approaches now applied to complex historical issues.

 Rock cliff
The Ramparts, Mackenzie River, Northwest Territories
© National Archives of Canada / c7188, 1930

Widespread mapping projects in the Northwest Territories, Labrador, northern Quebec, northern Ontario, and Yukon have documented traditional harvesting areas through oral evidence and place identification. Individual hunters, trappers, fishers, and berry pickers actively participated in identifying lands that they have used and species that they have hunted in their lifetimes. The impressive degree of consistency among independently prepared maps and the striking extent to which maps from different communities fitted together have persuaded scholars of their reliability.(Slim and Thompson, 1995: 52-53)

Dene oral traditions tell of the dispersal of their ancestors from their homeland long ago following a volcanic eruption. Subsequently they became separate linguistic groups. In one recent study, evidences developed from archaeology (such as dendro-chronology and radiocarbon dating techniques), environmental sciences (especially geology), and recent linguistic theory have been connected with traditional narratives of the Hare, Mountain, Chipewyan, Yellowknife and Slavey peoples to create a cohesive story out of the multiple clues. The analysis convincingly locates the volcanism both geographically, in the White River volcano, Alaska, and chronologically, in A.D.720.(Moodie, Catchpole and Abel,1992) It thus supports the validity of both oral tradition and science.

Stony beach, with fish rack, fronting river, with hills surrounding, sunset in autumn.
Salmon drying on racks on beach of Yukon River, Trondëk Hwëch'in Heritage Site, Yukon.Parkcs
© Parks Canada / D. Neufeld

The validity of Aboriginal oral history has been an issue for both indigenous peoples and academics, one which the Dene Cultural Institute has long been addressing. Traditional knowledge points to the qualities for which Aboriginal peoples value the land. Scholarly analysis based on the methodologies of archaeology, history, ethnography, and related disciplines can contribute to the identification of values, but does not play the lead role that it has played in cultural resource management practice.

 

Last Updated: 2008-10-17 To the top
To the top
Important Notices

Bannière de Parcs Canada
 English Contactez-nous Aide Recherche Site du Canada
 À propos de l'Agence Parcs Canada Parcs nationaux du Canada Lieux historiques nationaux du Canada Aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada Patrimoine culturel
Patrimoine naturel
Page d'accueil de Parcs Canada
Recherche
Entrer un mot-clé :

Une introduction à l'étude des paysages culturels autochtones


VISION AUTOCHTONE DU MONDE

Visions autochtone et occidentale du monde

Pourquoi est-il important de reconnaître les différences qui existent entre les visions autochtone et occidentale du monde?

La commémoration est fonction de la valeur. Pour reconnaître les valeurs associées aux paysages culturels autochtones et pour commémorer ces endroits, les processus d'identification et d'évaluation doivent être axés sur une vision autochtone du monde plutôt que sur la vision des cultures non autochtones issues de la civilisation et de la tradition scientifique occidentales. Les mentalités à la base de ces deux façons de penser diffèrent radicalement : la première est ancrée dans l'interdépendance émotive et empirique avec la terre tandis que la seconde se fonde sur l'objectivation et le rationalisme (Johnson et Ruttan, 1992; Stevenson, 1996: 288-89; Bureau fédéral d'archéologie; 1998a).

Pour les peuples autochtones du Canada et d'ailleurs, l'histoire repose sur une cosmologie, des récits et des endroits, et non sur les concepts occidentaux de relations causales, de registres et de chronologie. Les exemples récents d'intégration de la tradition orale et de la science témoignent des méthodes évoluées utilisées maintenant pour aborder les questions historiques complexes.

Falaise rocheuse
The Ramparts, fleuve Mackenzie, Territoires du Nord-Ouest
© Archives nationales du Canada / W. Barrett / C7188, 1930

Les vastes projets de cartographie menés dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, au Labrador, dans le nord du Québec, dans le nord de l'Ontario et au Yukon ont permis de documenter des aires traditionnelles de cueillette grâce aux témoignages verbaux et à la toponymie locale. Chasseurs, trappeurs, pêcheurs et cueilleurs ont aidé à identifier les terres qu'ils avaient utilisées et les espèces qu'ils avaient chassées dans leur vie. La ressemblance frappante des cartes dressées séparément et l'étonnante complémentarité des cartes dessinées par les différentes communautés ont convaincu les spécialistes de leur fiabilité (Slim et Thompson, 1995: 52-53).

Dans leur tradition orale, les Dénés racontent comment leurs ancêtres ont été jadis chassés de leur terre à la suite d'une éruption volcanique, ce qui a donné naissance à des groupes linguistiques distincts. Dans une récente étude, on a ainsi combiné les résultats de recherches archéologiques (dendro-chronologie, datation au carbone, etc.), environnementales (notamment la géologie) et linguistiques ainsi que les récits traditionnels des Peaux-de-Lièvres, des Montagnards, des Chippewyans, des Couteaux-Jaunes et des Esclaves pour élaborer une histoire cohérente de la région qui tienne compte de l'ensemble des indices disponibles. L'analyse a permis de situer l'activité volcanique en question à la fois géographiquement (volcan de la rivière White, Alaska) et chronologiquement (720 apr. J.-C.) (Moodie, Catchpole et Abel, 1992). Elle vient donc confirmer la valeur de la tradition orale et celle de la science.

Falaise rocheuse
Fleuve, Yukon. Coucher de soleil sur des claies à poissons, site patrimonial des Trondek Hwech'in, Yukon
© Parcs Canada / D. Neufeld

La valeur des sources, en ce qui concerne l'histoire des peuples autochtones, a soulevé des discussions tant parmi les peuples autochtones que parmi les universitaires, et préoccupe depuis longtemps l'Institut culturel déné (en anglais seulement). Les connaissances traditionnelles mettent en lumière les qualités qui déterminent l'importance de la terre pour les Autochtones. Les analyses scientifiques fondées sur des travaux d'archéologie, d'histoire, d'ethnographie et autres, peuvent contribuer à l'identification des valeurs, mais elles ne peuvent plus jouer le rôle prépondérant qu'elles avaient naguère dans la gestion des ressources culturelles.

Dernière mise à jour : 2008-10-17 Haut de la page
Haut de la page
Avis importants