Parks Canada Banner
 Franšais Contact Us Help Search Canada Site
 About the Parks Canada Agency National Parks of Canada National Historic Sites of Canada National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada Cultural Heritage
Natural Heritage
Parks Canada Home
Search
Enter a keyword:

An Approach to Aboriginal Cultural Landscapes


ABORIGINAL WORLD VIEWS

Is the Aboriginal view of the world fundamentally different from that of Western tradition?

Indigenous peoples in many parts of the world regard landscape in ways common to their own experience, and different from the Western perspective of land and landscape. The relationship between people and place is conceived fundamentally in spiritual terms, rather than primarily in material terms.

Many Aboriginal peoples consider all the earth to be sacred and regard themselves as an integral part of this holistic and living landscape. They belong to the land and are at one in it with animals, plants, and ancestors whose spirits inhabit it.

River rapids with shore line vegetation.
Mersey River at Kejimkujik National Park/National Historic Site, Nova Scotia
© Parks Canada / W. Barrett / 03.31.01.12(101), 1995

For many, places in their landscape are also sacred, as places of power, of journeys related to spirit beings, of entities that must be appeased. Aboriginal cosmologies relate earth and sky, the elements, the directions, the seasons, and mythic transformers to lands that they have occupied since ancient times. Guided by these cosmological relationships, many have creation stories related to their homelands, and they date their presence in these places to times when spirit beings traversed the world, transformed themselves at will between human and animal form, created their ancestors, and contoured the landscape. Laws and gifts from these spirit beings and culture heroes shaped their cultures and their day to day activities.

Aboriginal peoples' intimate knowledge of the natural resources and ecosystems of their areas, developed through long and sustained contact, and their respect for the spirits which inhabit these places, moulded their life on the land.

Traditional knowledge, in the form of narratives, place names, and ecological lore, bequeathed through oral tradition from generation to generation, embodies and preserves their relationship to the land. Landscapes "house" these stories, and protection of these places is key to the long-term survival of these stories in Aboriginal culture.

 

Last Updated: 2008-10-17 To the top
To the top
Important Notices

Bannière de Parcs Canada
 English Contactez-nous Aide Recherche Site du Canada
 À propos de l'Agence Parcs Canada Parcs nationaux du Canada Lieux historiques nationaux du Canada Aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada Patrimoine culturel
Patrimoine naturel
Page d'accueil de Parcs Canada
Recherche
Entrer un mot-clé :

Une introduction à l'étude des paysages culturels autochtones


VISION AUTOCHTONE DU MONDE

La vision autochtone du monde diffère-t-elle fondamentalement de la tradition occidentale?

Les peuples autochtones des quatre coins du monde ont une vision du paysage qui correspond à leur expérience et qui diffère du point de vue occidental sur la terre et le paysage. Le lien entre les gens et les endroits est fondamentalement perçu comme étant de nature spirituelle plutôt que matérielle.

Rapides bordés de végétation riveraine
Rivière Mersey, parc national/lieu historique national Kejimkujik, Nouvelle-Écosse
© Parcs Canada / W. Barrett / 03.31.03.12 (101), 1995

Beaucoup de peuples autochtones considèrent que toute la terre est sacrée et qu'ils font partie intégrante de ce paysage indivisible et vivant. Ils appartiennent à la terre et ils ne font qu'un avec les animaux, les plantes et les ancêtres dont les esprits habitent la terre.

Beaucoup d'entre eux considèrent certains lieux spécifiques du paysage comme des endroits sacrés, des lieux de puissance, des lieux où voyagent les esprits, où résident des entités qu'il faut apaiser. Les cosmologies autochtones établissent un lien entre la terre et le ciel, les éléments, les points cardinaux, les saisons et les êtres métamorphes mythiques de la terre qu'ils occupent depuis des temps immémoriaux. Compte tenu de ces liens cosmologiques, beaucoup ont des récits de la création qui traitent précisément de leur terre natale et font remonter leur présence sur celle-ci à l'époque où les esprits qui parcouraient le monde et revêtaient à leur gré une forme humaine ou animale, ont créé leurs ancêtres et modelé le paysage. Les lois et les dons de ces esprits et de ces héros culturels ont façonné leur culture et leurs activités courantes.

Leur façon de vivre était modelée par la connaissance intime qu'ils avaient des ressources naturelles et des écosystèmes des régions où ils vivaient, acquise au prix d'un long contact soutenu, et par le respect qu'ils vouaient aux esprits habitant ces endroits.

Les connaissances traditionnelles - récits, noms de lieux et savoir écologique - transmises par la tradition orale de génération en génération, incarnent et préservent ce lien avec la terre. Les paysages « abritent » ces récits dont la survie à long terme dans la culture autochtone dépend de la protection accordée à ces endroits.

Dernière mise à jour : 2008-10-17 Haut de la page
Haut de la page
Avis importants