Parks Canada Banner
 Franšais Contact Us Help Search Canada Site
 About the Parks Canada Agency National Parks of Canada National Historic Sites of Canada National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada Cultural Heritage
Natural Heritage
Parks Canada Home
Search
Enter a keyword:

An Approach to Aboriginal Cultural Landscapes

Download Printable Version (PDF .168 KB)

INTRODUCTION

Over a number of years the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada ( HSMBC) has identified the need to increase the national recognition of the history of Aboriginal peoples. Traditionally, the HSMBC has used historical and anthropological frameworks and specified criteria as the bases for assessing the national historic significance of places, people or events. The Board has, however, recognized that its conventional criteria, structure and framework for evaluation do not adequately respond to the values inherent in the history of Aboriginal people. Ultimately the question is:

Can the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada develop a commemorative approach to Aboriginal history in Canada in ways that are meaningful to Aboriginal people while at the same time upholding the rigour of its own evaluative process?

Since 1990 the Board has explored various approaches to this challenge. This present web presentation offers the approach of 'cultural landscape' as one possible response. It does not presume to speak for Aboriginal peoples. The original background paper, upon which this presentation is based, was commissioned for and addressed to the HSMBC. The aim was to provide the Board with a framework that could encompass the traditional values of Aboriginal peoples, including spiritual views of the natural world and associative values in the land, while still being understandable to Board members whose world views are typically based in Western historical scholarship.

To accomplish this the author, historian Susan Buggey, approached the field from a policy and social science perspective. She presented an understanding of Aboriginal world views and notions of place gleaned from her own extensive readings, and from consultation with knowledgeable colleagues. She then situated these views in relation to the field of cultural landscapes and to national historic site designations related to the history of Aboriginal people. She offered a working definition of "Aboriginal cultural landscape" and proposed guidelines for the identification of such landscapes.

Birds on pond in meadow of marsh grass
Marsh in spring, Point Pelee National Park, Ontario
© Parks Canada / W. Lynch / 06.62.03.23(27), 1991

It is now time to enlarge participation in this dialogue. The current presentation includes the essential content of the original background paper tailored to a web format and invites your comments.


Note: To read the PDF version you need Adobe Acrobat Reader on your system.

If the Adobe download site is not accessible to you, you can download Acrobat Reader from an accessible page.

If you choose not to use Acrobat Reader you can have the PDF file converted to HTML or ASCII text by using one of the conversion services offered by Adobe.



 

Last Updated: 2009-02-24 To the top
To the top
Important Notices

Bannière de Parcs Canada
 English Contactez-nous Aide Recherche Site du Canada
 À propos de l'Agence Parcs Canada Parcs nationaux du Canada Lieux historiques nationaux du Canada Aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada Patrimoine culturel
Patrimoine naturel
Page d'accueil de Parcs Canada
Recherche
Entrer un mot-clé :

Une introduction à l'étude des paysages culturels autochtones

Télécharger la version imprimable (PDF .168 ko)

INTRODUCTION

La Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada (CLMHC) constate depuis des années la nécessité de mieux reconnaître l'histoire des peuples autochtones. Par le passé, afin d'évaluer l'importance historique nationale d'endroits, de personnes ou d'événements, la CLMHC s'est fondée sur des cadres historiques et anthropologiques ainsi que sur des critères particuliers. La Commission a cependant reconnu que ses critères, structures et cadres conventionnels d'évaluation conviennent mal aux valeurs inhérentes à l'histoire des peuples autochtones. Au bout du compte, la question qui se pose est la suivante :

La Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada est-elle en mesure d'élaborer une approche relative à l'histoire des Autochtones au Canada qui soit à la fois significative pour les peuples autochtones et compatible avec la rigueur de son propre processus d'évaluation?

Depuis 1990, la Commission a exploré diverses approches. Ce site web présente une approche fondée sur le « paysage culturel » qui pourrait s'avérer une piste intéressante. Nous n'avons pas la présomption de parler au nom des peuples autochtones. Le document original sur lequel s'appuie cette présentation a été commandé par la CLMHC et lui était destiné. Son but était de fournir à la Commission un cadre incluant les valeurs traditionnelles des peuples autochtones, notamment leur vision spirituelle du monde naturel et les valeurs associatives de la terre, qui serait également à la portée des membres de la Commission dont la vision du monde s'appuie le plus souvent sur un mode de pensée historique de type occidental.

Pour ce faire, l'auteur, l'historienne Susan Buggey, a abordé la question d'un point de vue politique, de même que dans la perspectives des sciences sociales. Elle présente une vision autochtone du monde et des notions d'endroit qu'elle a glanées au fil de ses nombreuses lectures et des consultations qu'elle a menées auprès de savants collègues. Elle situe ensuite cette vision par rapport aux paysages culturels et aux désignations de lieux historiques nationaux liées à l'histoire des peuples autochtones. Elle offre également une définition de travail de la notion de « paysage culturel autochtone », en plus de proposer des lignes directrices pour l'identification de ce type de paysages.

Des oiseaux sur un étang dans une baissière de foin des marais
Marais au printemps, parc national de la Pointe-Pelée
© Parcs Canada / W. Lynch / 06.62.03.23(27), 1991

Il est maintenant temps d'étendre ce dialogue. Cette présentation reprend l'essentiel du document original, qui a été adapté pour le Web, et sollicite vos commentaires.


N. B. : Vous avez besoin du logiciel Adobe Acrobat Reader pour lire la version PDF.

Si vous n'avez pas accès au site de téléchargement d'Adobe, vous pouvez télécharger le logiciel Acrobat Reader d'une page accessible.

Si l'accessibilité à un document PDF pose un problème, vous pouvez convertir le fichier en format texte HTML ou ASCII en utilisant l'un des services d'accès offerts par Adobe (en anglais seulement).



 

Dernière mise à jour : 2009-02-24 Haut de la page
Haut de la page
Avis importants