Parks Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Discovery in the St. Lawrence

Parks Canada Unearths New Twitter Feed

In order to maximize the functionality of this page, please enable JavaScript and download the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.

NEW! Parks Canada is launching a new national Twitter feed that will focus on the work done by the Agency’s underwater and terrestrial archaeological teams. The new Twitter feed (@PCArchaeology) will bring forward interesting and little-known facts about the work done by Parks Canada archaeologists.

The launch of the new Twitter feed coincides with the 70th anniversary of Second World War American PBY-5A Catalina foundering in the St. Lawrence. Parks Canada underwater archaeologists discovered the wreckage of the aircraft while conducting a research survey in May 2009, near the Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve of Canada.

As part of the launch, Parks Canada is unveiling this short documentary about the discovery of the aircraft by Parks Canada archaeologists. This video features Parks Canada underwater archaeologists and members of the U.S. Joint POW/MIA Accounting Command (JPAC) as well as first-hand testimonies from local residents who witnessed the actual plane crash.

Follow the new Parks Canada Archaeology feed at @PCArchaeology and in French at @PCArcheologie.


The Government of Canada Welcomes the Arrival of a U.S. Team Sent to Recover the Remains of U.S. Soldiers from the Wreckage of a WW II Plane


Marc-André Bernier, Chief of the Underwater Archaeological Service at Parks Canada, studies the wreck of a "Catalina" American World War II Plane which went down in November 1942 off the coast of Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan, on the north shore of the St. Lawrence River in Quebec.

Longue-Pointe de Mingan, Québec, July 11, 2012 - The Honourable Michel Rivard, Senator, on behalf of the Honourable Peter Kent, Canada’s Minister of the Environment and Minister responsible for Parks Canada, today welcomed the arrival of the U.S. Joint POW/MIA Accounting Command (JPAC) in Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan, Québec.



In order to maximize the functionality of this page, please enable JavaScript and download the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.

A remotely operated vehicle (ROV) is used to view a downed World War II aircraft deep in the waters of the St. Lawrence. The video shows the nose of the aircraft, the front wheel well, diagonal struts supporting the wings, wheel of side landing gear and the cockpit seen from the co-pilot’s side. The video also features Parks Canada underwater archaeologists approaching the nose of the aircraft and examining the side of the aircraft.

Ottawa, August 21, 2009 - The Honourable Jim Prentice, Canada's Environment Minister and Minister responsible for Parks Canada confirmed that the plane discovered by Parks Canada underwater archaeologists off the coast of the village of Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan in Quebec is the wreckage of a U.S. Army Air Force plane lost in 1942. No human remains were seen during the operation this week, which was conducted principally on the exterior of the sunken aircraft.

August 6, 2009: Underwater Archaeologists to Confirm Possible Discovery of American World War II Plane

Consolidated OA-10 Catalina at the National Museum of the United States Air Force.
The plane discovered in the St. Lawrence near Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve is believed to be very similar to the Consolidated OA-10 Catalina featured in this picture.
© National Museum of the United States Air Force. (U.S. Air Force photo)

For other photos of the aircraft, see the National Museum of the US AF website

Overview

Parks Canada’s underwater archaeologists, who regularly carry out surveys related to national historic sites and national parks, discovered the wreck of a plane while conducting work in an area adjacent to the Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve of Canada. They believe it is a US Army Air Force PBY 5A airplane, sunk off the coast near the village of Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan in 1942.

There were nine persons on board when the aircraft foundered. Four of the crew escaped the flooding plane and were rescued by local fishermen rowing out from shore in open boats in rough seas. The five others perished, trapped in the aircraft by the swift flooding of the fuselage. Side-scan sonar data indicates that the plane appears to be in very good condition, and there is a possibility of finding human remains.

Map of Mingan Area
Map of the area where the plane was discovered.
© Parks Canada

For more information

Press Release
Historical Overview
Details about Aircraft PBY-5A Catalina/OA-10

Explore further...

Learn about Underwater Archaeology
Go further with Related Links...

Parcs Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Découverte dans le Saint-Laurent

Parcs Canada découvre un nouveau fil Twitter

Veuillez activer Javascript dans les préférences de votre fureteur pour visioner le contenu et télécharger Adobe Flash Player.

NOUVEAU! Parcs Canada procède actuellement au lancement d’un nouveau fil Twitter national qui sera axé sur les travaux effectués par les équipes d’archéologie subaquatiques et terrestres de l’Agence. Le nouveau fil Twitter (@PCArcheologie) révèlera des renseignements intéressants et peu connus sur les travaux effectués par les archéologues de Parcs Canada.

Le lancement du nouveau fil Twitter coïncide avec le 70e anniversaire de l’écrasement de l’aéronef PBY­5A Catalina des forces aériennes américaines dans les eaux du fleuve Saint‑Laurent. Des archéologues subaquatiques de Parcs Canada ont découvert l’épave de l’aéronef lors d’une recherche de reconnaissance effectuée en mai 2009 près de la réserve de parc national du Canada de l’Archipel­de­Mingan.

Dans le cadre du lancement, Parcs Canada présente ce bref documentaire sur la découverte du PBY-5A Catalina par des archéologues de l’Agence. Cette présentation vidéo met en vedette des archéologues subaquatiques de Parcs Canada et des membres du Joint POW/MIA Accounting Command des États­Unis, et renferme les témoignages de première main de résidants de la région qui ont assisté à la tragédie.

Suivez le nouveau fil Twitter de Parcs Canada sur l’archéologie à @PCArcheologie, et en anglais à @PCArchaeology.


Le gouvernement du Canada accueille une équipe américaine chargée de rapatrier les dépouilles de soldats d’une épave d’avion de la Seconde Guerre mondiale


Marc-André Bernier, Chef du Service d'archéologie subaquatique de Parcs Canada, étudie l'épave d'un avion américain « Catalina » de la Seconde Guerre mondiale qui a sombré en novembre 1942 au large de Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan, sur la Côte-Nord du St-Laurent, au Québec.

Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan (Québec), le 11 juillet 2012 - L’honorable Michel Rivard, sénateur, au nom de l’honorable Peter Kent, ministre canadien de l’Environnement et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada, a accueilli aujourd’hui l’arrivée du Joint POW/MIA Accounting Command (JPAC) des États-Unis à Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan, au Québec.



Veuillez activer Javascript dans les préférences de votre fureteur pour visioner le contenu et télécharger Adobe Flash Player.

Un véhicule sous-marin téléguidé (ROV) permet d’observer un hydravion amphibie américain datant de la deuxième guerre mondiale au fond du fleuve Saint-Laurent. La vidéo présente l’étrave de l’hydravion, le train d’atterrissage avant rétracté, les haubans obliques supportant les ailes, la roue du train d’atterrissage latéral et le cockpit, vue du côté du copilote. La vidéo présente aussi l’arrivée des archéologues subaquatiques de Parcs Canada auprès de l’étrave de l’hydravion suivit d’une observation du flanc du fuselage.

Ottawa, le 21 août 2009 - L’honorable Jim Prentice, ministre canadien de l’Environnement et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada, a confirmé que l’avion découvert par les archéologues subaquatiques de Parcs Canada au large du village de Longue Pointe-de-Mingan au Québec, est l’épave d’un avion de la U.S. Air Force perdu en 1942. Aucuns restes humains n’a été aperçus cette semaine durant les recherches, qui ont principalement été menées à l’extérieur de l’épave de l’avion.

Le 6 août 2009: Les archéologues subaquatiques confirmeront la découverte possible d’un avion américain de la Seconde Guerre mondiale

Consolidated OA-10 Catalina at the National Museum of the United States Air Force.
L’avion découvert dans le St-Laurent près de la réserve de parc national de l’Archipel-de-Mingan serait très semblable au Consolidated OA-10 Catalina montré dans cette photo.
© National Museum of the United States Air Force. (Photo : US Air Force)

Pour d'autre photos de l'avion, voir le site du National Museum of the US AF

Survol

Les archéologues subaquatiques de Parcs Canada, lesquels effectuent régulièrement des recherches de reconnaissance dans les sites historiques nationaux et les parcs nationaux, ont découvert un avion alors qu’ils effectuaient des travaux dans une zone contiguë à la réserve de parc national du Canada de l'Archipel-de-Mingan. Ils estiment que cet avion pourrait bien être l’épave d’un PBY 5A de l’US Army Air Force qui avait coulé au large près du village de Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan en 1942.

Neuf personnes se trouvaient dans l’avion au moment où celui-ci sombra. Quatre membres de l’équipage réussirent à sortir de l’avion avant qu’il ne coule et furent secourus par des pêcheurs locaux qui avaient bravé une mer agitée dans de petites embarcations à rames à partir de la côte. Les cinq autres membres de l’équipage périrent, emprisonnés dans l’avion dont le fuselage fut rapidement inondé. Les données du sonar latéral indiquent que l’avion semble être en bon état et qu’il serait possible d’y trouver des restes humains.

Carte de Mingan.
Carte de la région où la découverte a eu lieu.
© Parcs Canada

Pour plus de renseignements

Communiqué de presse
Aperçu historique
Détails sur l’aéronef PBY-5A Catalina/OA-10

Pour aller plus loin...

En apprendre plus sur l'archéologie subaquatique
Allez plus loin avec les autres liens...